We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about Laterooms.com” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Trout Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Trout Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Staverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shame about Laterooms.com”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I booked a stay at the fabulous establishment via Laterooms or so I thought. Laterooms did not pass on the booking so when we arrived for our 2 night weekend stay, we had no booking with the Sea Trout.

The Sea Trout were very apologetic and were able to accomodate us for the first night only. As this was booked as an anniversary surprise this was even more annoying.

Once we unpacked and relaxed we had a wonderful stay and the staff and owners were very friendly and provided an excellent evening.

The only downside was the fact that we were not able to enjoy the full break.

We also spent the following day at the South Devon Railway which was another great success.

What a fab time and we are going back as soon as possible, with our dog next timeand we will be booking direct.

Best that all people booking go direct too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    56
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
129
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

My sister and I stayed in the deluxe room. This room certainly lived up to it's name!. The Decor was beautifully done and the room was extremely comfortable. The bar/restaurant was big but felt intimate at the same time. The menu sounded wonderful and the food was was out of this world!. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. I loved my stay so much so I had a little cry when I left!!!. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

stayed recentley for 3 nights room spotless lovelly solid oak furniture BIG bed had to phone wife on other side clean and new bathroom shower that actually works properly we had room 1 the staff are so helpful and freindly nothing too much trouble didnt have evening meal as we were out and about but the breakfast was quality and a lot of choice
we walked down to the river at dusk to watch the bats under arches on bridge just before that of a day is the steam train which goes from totnes through staverton to buckfastleigh
well definetly be going back nice pub to chill out in

Room Tip: no tip really we were in cheapest room so others d
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here again this year for a 5 day break to Devon and found the Sea Trout Inn and staff to be friendly and attentive to all our requirements as they always have been when we have stayed on a few previous occasions. The room was lovely, tastefully decorated, linen crisp, and the bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed several delicious leisurely breakfasts in the conservatory and some great evening meals in the restaurant. There was a really good choice on the menu and the food/wine was consistently excellent with different daily specials/a seasonal menu. Having stayed in all sorts of places - this is one of those rare finds where you just have to keep going back. It is also wonderfully situated on the River Dart, lots of peace and quiet, and in an ideal spot for fishing, touring Dartmoor and the South Hams. Staying here is like returning to old friends. We'll be back when we can!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DartmoorFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Isles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Proprietors Jason and Samantha have very high standards - and it shows. This medieval inn has all the oak-beamed character you would expect but with none of the grime. Everything is neat, clean and ship-shape but, thanks to Jason and Sam's friendly approach, no accompanying stiffness or starchiness. Customer service is a given at the Trout. The cuisine? Excellent. Our room was of five star standard and the bed so comfortable I have asked Jason for the name of the makers so I can have the same one at home! My only mild criticism is that the wifi network did not reach our room (5) obliging us to sit in the bar while we collected our emails on our laptop. But, overall, this Inn is a gem, tucked away on Dartmoor's doorstep but handy for local outings. Even so, no need to get the car out for breathtaking scenery - just turn right out of the Trout, pass the village church, and stroll along the banks of the Dart. And, if you're lucky you'll see the Dart steam train puffing past. Yes, well be back - so long as there is still room after all the recommendations we've passed on to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtemisTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

A lovely location and friendly helpful staff, but compared other places to eat in the area the food was well overpriced for what it was.
Both our starters and mains were fairly bland, the sauces flat, losing complete definition to what was stated on the menu

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wunderingwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberBeagle, Owner at Sea Trout Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
We were very disappointed to read this review and that you did not enjoy your experience with us. As you can see from previous comments this is not the usual level of experience and if you had let us know how you felt at the time we could have looked into it for you whilst you were here. However we take your comments onboard and in order for us to address this matter we would appreciate if you could let us know exactly what dishes you had so we can look into this. Also if you can let us know the actual date you visited with us so we can fully investigate the problem with the kitchen.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

This is an excellent place to stay, very close to lots of local attractions but in a lovely, quiet and peaceful area. The rooms are really nicely decorated, the pub itself is spacious with a great beer garden, and the food is fantastic with a host of everyday items and some fantastic specials that change all the time. Owners/staff all very hospitable and will happily accommodate your wishes. There is also a fantastic walk through the woods next to the river and heritage railway line. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: room 7 has a lovely gothic feel to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikev70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staverton
4.2 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dartington Hall
Dartington Hall
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kilbury Manor
Kilbury Manor
#2 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.0 mi away
ANRAN @Tidwell Farm
ANRAN @Tidwell Farm
#1 of 13 in Ashburton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Trout Inn

Property: Sea Trout Inn
Address: Staverton, Staverton TQ9 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Staverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Trout Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Trout Inn is a traditional South Devon Inn dating back to the 15th century. Situated in the picturesque South Hams village of Staverton near Totnes the Sea Trout Inn hotel and restaurant is an idyllic country retreat. There are 10 well appointed en-suite rooms available for bed and breakfast, perfect for couples and business people alike. The Sea Trout Inn offers an ideal place to stay, relax and wine & dine with friends, family or business colleagues. The restaurant serves a mixture of a la carte and pub classics all sourced locally and as seasonal as nature intended. Our frequently changing menu uses the superb ingredients on our doorstep from South Devon farms and fisheries. Choose to dine alfresco on warm summer days and snuggle up beside the log fires in the winter months. Wonderfully positioned between Plymouth and Exeter we are an ideal base to explore the South Hams with plenty to keep you entertained. Take a trip on the South Devon steam railway from Staverton to the remarkable town of Totnes, set on the beautiful River Dart. Explore the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of Dartmoor National Park or visit Agatha Christies Greenway. We are a dog friendly Inn and encourage guests to bring their dog with them. South Devon is the perfect place for walking with breathtaking scenery right on our doorstep. The Sea Trout Inn, Staverton Totnes is perfect for a restful weekend break, pub lunch or a romantic dinner. A welcoming and friendly place for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Sea Trout Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Trout Hotel Staverton
Sea Trout Inn England/Staverton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing