We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and well situated.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dolphins

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pevensey Bay, Pevensey, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

IzzyWiz61
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well situated.”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by the owner who showed us around and could not have been kinder. The bungalow was very comfortable and clean, although it was looking a little tired and could use freshening up! Only 2 little suggestions, a newer TV would be good and for disabled use a suite that would be easier to get in and out off jay he helpful. A lovely holiday not spoiled by poor weatherl

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your review and your kind comments. Since we stated renting out our holiday home 8 years ago we have always regarded Dolphins as a work in progress.Each year we try to upgrade some of the facilities we offer depending on the time and money available. Our main priority has always remained to offer a clean comfortable and enjoyable home that offers great value for money to all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just what the Doctor Ordered”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Needed to escape for the excitement of Belgium for Christmas (yawn)

The cottage is WYSIWYG, a nice bungalow a 100 yards for the beach and a similar distance from the local amenities

The Dolphins is really quite, clean and full of the things that you need when on holiday. There's nothing mega about the bungalow (it doesn't have fantastic views or a swimming pool) but what it has would make you want to return time and time again.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite
Liked least: Needs a new TV or Freesat box (sound bid muffely)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
Thank you for your review,We always enjoy the time we spend at Dolphins.Its a real holiday when you can walk to so many different pubs and restaurants or just enjoy the beach and the sunny back garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Marpa_12
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location with beach at the end of the road. Comfortable, cosy and peaceful. Lovely place to come back to after days out. Nice sunny conservatory and delightful garden. Well equipped kitchen with very efficient oven and brand new fridge and separate freezer so plenty of room. All requirements met. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge/diner and conservatory
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
Thank you for the review and you kind comments the fridge/freezer and gas hob are new this year We are always looking to improve the facilities on offer Dolphins and look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a week at the Dolphins. We agree with the previous review as to how good the accommodation was. We had glorious weather and it was lovely to sit out in the garden. It is in easy reach of Eastbourne, Brighton, Bexhill and Hastings by buses which run very frequently, so there is no need to drive when you get there. We recommend eating at The Castle Inn as the food is very good and the staff are very welcoming. The food at Beach Tavern is good but sometimes the music in there is quite loud. Both places are within easy walking distant from The Dolphins. We like Pevensey Bay as the people there are all very friendly and we hope to go back there again.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bungalow and Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Thanks for the great review they are very important to us as they give reassurace to our future guests that cant be shown in either photos or owners decriptions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThatGirlW...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I loved Dolphins - stayed here with my family from 30th august-7th september. It was a great base for the area around. Was a nice bonus to have the beach just at the end of the road which was perfect for walks and an evening paddle. The Bungalow is what can only be described as; Fantastic, spacious and clean! It always had a lovely smell when you walked through the door. The garden was lovely and well-kept and the living room is bigger than it looks on photos - it is is lovely and has lovely leather reclining sofas! The canvas prints on the wall also add great quirkiness to the accomodation aswell as the beach theme throughout the bungalow.

While staying in the area I recommend going to Eastbourne - it has some lovely shopping areas. The villages and towns of Rye, Alfriston and Battle are also worth a visit! If you want a bigger seaside town then Brighton is just under 30 miles away and there is so much to see and do there like the wheel and the pier which I highly recommend.

I do recommend Dolphins as it was lovely and I do miss it. I hope to return in the future as it was a lovely place to spend a week in Sussex.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review we are delighted you enjoyed our holiday home.Pevensy Bay has some great places to eat and drink and all within easy walking distance.There is a bus stop round the corner which goes to Eastbourne or Bexhill/Hastings so no need to drive anywhere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola F
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dolphins is a wonderful place to make wonderful memories.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband & our youngest child, (five year old daughter), my cousin & her fourteen year old son & myself all shared the most fantastic holiday at Dolphins. Footsteps from the beach & minutes from all amenities. It truly was a home-from-home & we were all very sad to leave after spending a fabulous week together. Will definitely book again.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accessiblity to beach.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2014
Thank you for the great review it is very important to my wife and i that you have enjoyed your stay at Dolphins. We work very hard to provide real quality accommodation to all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday Dolphins is a great base to explore Eastbourne and always delivers a great experience to all our guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.