We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Brasilito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Brasilito
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a quiet relaxing place in Costa Rica, and we found it in Brasilito. I chose Hotel Brasilito based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, which are pretty accurate, and after seeing our options there, I know we made the right choice.

The most important thing you need to know is that Hotel Brasilito is right on the beach, and nothing beats that. We feel asleep listening to the waves at night, and woke up to them too!

Beyond location, the hotel is nice enough, clean, and affordable. Yes, there are roosters and stray dogs in the area - Brasilito is a real place with real people, not tourist-land. There are also hammocks and sand and the beach!

My husband's one complaint was the water pressure was next to nil in our first room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_Doom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    90
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
47
132
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent ten days here on a beach vacation, and it was a great relaxing experience. Owner Shelly will book attractions and help with advice, there are possible discounts for longer stays and paying in cash. We stayed in rooms A and B, which face right on the beach above the restaurant. Clean and spacious with great balcony. Beach is usually good swimming, some times waves got a little big. Restaurant is a great place to have drinks and local food, fish tacos and gallo pinto are highlights. Downsides: shower kind of trickles, there's noise (which did not bother us, but if you are very sensitive might). Most rooms are in a block shoreward from the restaurant and are even less expensive.

Room Tip: We really liked A and B, if you want the great balcony facing the ocean and don't mind being ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Yes, there are roosters. Sometimes you even hear monkeys. The birds. The dogs. Jungle life is full of life! This hotel is the PERFECT place to land when you first arrive to Costa. Shelley is helpful (she spent an hour with me calling the state department dealing with a passport issue, try getting that at the Westin...) informative, smart and funny (always a plus in my book). The restaurant will serve you fish caught right in front of you that day. Or a typical Tico casada. Priced fairly (you can walk up the road to a typical soda if you like, but the prices are the same). It is a very small town so you will not find much of a variety in price, unless you feel like paying more for the same thing you can get at your hotel. And always a cold Pilsen or Imperial. You can walk out your door and land on the beach, or walk up a few more steps and land on Playa Conchal (puras conchas!) where they sell ceviche, carne, pepitas, y (por supuesto) cervezas. There is a bit of nightlife around (sometimes Cameron Diaz-type awful karaoke, but not often) but it dies down pretty early. And then you get to sleep listening to the waves (and yes ok sometimes the roosters...get over it). If I could live here, I would. Do yourself a favor. BOOK NOW. Book early. Come back often. Pura vida!!!

Room Tip: A & B are where it's at (oceanfront, upstairs) but really...you won't want to be in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We initially booked this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor and what we were looking for in a beach stay. We wanted to stay as close to the beach as possible and in a hotel with a more local feel (not a 4 star resort). I noticed the reviews on the noise (i.e. roosters) but didn't see much about the dogs and loud noise from the neighboring bars until the late hours of the night. It was very difficult to sleep (bring ear plugs, they do help).

The rooms were very basic but clean. We had hot water in the shower but shower pressure was not good, especially if person in room next door was showering at the same time. The porch with the chairs and hammock was very relaxing.

Now, for the restaurant / bar attached to the hotel...

We were not impressed with the service at all. They were very slow to acknowledge new diners, slow in taking orders, and even slower in getting food and drinks. We ate three meals there and every meal had some sort of mistake (for dinner we ordered lobster and server told us he would do a 'special' plate for us ... came out with shrimp) and the other mistakes were all with our food order too. The food, itself, is good and prices are fair but the service turned us off. Not only is the service slow, but the wait staff was rude. We decided to eat at other local establishments for the remainder of our three day trip. One thing, they do have awesome desserts (which is hard to find in Costa Rica).

Playa Brasilito is a quiet beach and was not crowded at all when we were there. It's relatively clean and the waves are great to swim and have fun in. Playa Conchal beach, just around the point, is beautiful and has some snorkeling areas. Playa Conchal looked to be a favorite among the locals and was much more crowded.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room on the second floor ... great views with hammock and seating on the porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsonlnl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you want to get a sense of the real life in Costa Rica and do not mind waking up with roosters, mingle with the local fishermen, then this low budget Brasilito hotel located right on the beach in a small fishing village is the right choice. We stayed there 8 days and enjoyed in every one of them talking with guests from around the world. Rooms are clean (no tv but we did not come to spend our time in the room), air-conditioned and with daily room service. The restaurant downstairs offers fresh and delicious seafood at a reasonable price. The staff and the locals in general are the most polite people we ever met. After touring many nearby resorts and hotels we were happy we selected Brasilito hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragoljub B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

i stayed here for a couple nights, and chose this hotel because it didn't sound as commercialised as the other locations around, and it wasn't. the hotel itself is simple and clean. the in-house restaurant is convenient and comfortable, but the food is OVERPRICED and not the greatest; i recommend going elsewhere to dine. the service is terrible and so is the attitude of the servers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nini_1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This review is only based on the Hotel Brasilito restaurant located downstairs from the hotel. The food is outstanding...Never have I ever... ate such delectable and fantastic food. It was great! The price was right, located on the beach and a very generous amount of food. A nice choice that is a great option on the beach. Romantic, yummy & friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brasilito
0.2 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nany Playa Brasilito
Hotel Nany Playa Brasilito
#3 of 3 in Brasilito
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brasilito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brasilito

Property: Hotel Brasilito
Address: Frente la Mar | 50 metros oest de la plaza, Brasilito 5001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brasilito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brasilito Beach and an easy walk to Playa Conchal, our affordable clean hotel rooms have hot water and air conditioning is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brasilito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing