We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brasilito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Brasilito
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My GF and I stayed here two nights in March 2013. We booked the A/C with Ocean View room, but were kind of disappointed when we were put in room 'C' which was on the ground level, with the staircase right in front of the window, partially blocking the 'Ocean View'. We also had to keep the drapes closed as people passed by all the time and could see in the room. The hotel is also not located right on the beach as we first thought, there is a street in front of it with cars regularly parking there blocking the view, and a locals bar next door, with music until 11pm or so. The room was basic, with a musty smell and older looking drapes/bed spreads but A/C worked fine and showers were hot. There was a nice area right outside our room, with chairs/hammocks that was available to anyone, which we really enjoyed. I would suggest asking for one of the two ocean view rooms on the second level, as these have the semi private area with chairs and hammocks and has a nice ocean view which we originally were expecting. A/C is necessary, but ocean view is not really worth any extra as there is the nice sitting area available out front. The restaurant was good and we enjoyed our meals there, reasonable prices. The service could be better, and the servers didn't seem overly enthused with providing great service. I had to go to the bar to get my own drinks most of the time, or when asked the servers forgot my drink altogether, and waiters only came by once in awhile in the lounge area. I didn't mind it that much, but I think the priority of those in the hospitality business should be to ensure guests are tended to, afterall I was paying for the drinks and probably would have bought more had they came by more often! Brasilto is a small town, not much to it. Nice, quiet beach, and a short walk to Playa Conchal. Conchal is a public beach fronting the Westin hotel. The beach is nice, with more going on than Playa Brasilito. Swimming, Jet Ski and Boat rentals, massages and vendors are along here. Hotel Brasilito is fairly quiet, aside from the rooster that woke us up each morning before daylight! Also, one night while we were lying in bed, we heard shouting outside and a fight had broken out among the drunk young local guys at the bar. It wasn't anything major and quickly disbursed. We also went to the Happy Snapper for dinner one night which was ok. If you want to check out Playa Brasilito and Playa Conchal, this is probably the best budget option available. We were happy overall with our stay and had no problems. Good value for the money, but I think our expectations were a little too high for this place.

Room Tip: If choosing one of the three 'Ocean View' rooms, choose one of the two on the 2nd level, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globetrekker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    88
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
46
132
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Despite running the air conditioning, wearing ear plugs and usually being a very heavy sleeper, I had a very difficult time sleeping though the night at Hotel Brasilito. Dogs bark incessantly throughout the night and roosters crow. The beds (at least the one in room number two) is as hard as a park bench. Room two is on the first level and if someone is staying in the room upstairs, it sounds like they are moving furniture around. If getting a good night's sleep is a "must" for you, this hotel is not the place for you. 

Ann, the proprietor, is not "warm". Efficient, pufunctory, and effective when asked a question, she will get you an answer or provide a service but it is strictly on a pull system. I can see why people think she is unfriendly or grumpy, especially in comparison to the friendly and helpful Costa Rican people. She is not originally from here, although has been in Costa Rica for 27 years, and is multi-lingual. We had a pleasant and friendly conversation at check out. She seemed more content than I had seen her the whole week.

Hotel Brasilito was not my first choice in Brasilito but the nearby Hotel Conchal did not answer my repeated email inquiries about availability. The location of Hotel Brasilito couldn't be better for beach access, which is right across the street. The open air restaurant and patio, with a couple of hammocks and chairs, are a nice place to sit and watch the coming and going of horseback riders, ATVs, and the  setting sun. The food is pretty good too. It's location on this main drag means that, mostly in the late afternoon and early evening, there is a cacophony of music, birds, wind, roosters, dogs, and traffic that can be irritating to someone sensitive to noise.

Although the water is blazing hot in the shower, the unadjustable shower head is at a funky angle. The bathroom sink isn't even plumbed for hot water. The room is extremely basic: bare walls, two beds (one single, one double), a small desk and chair and an old armoire. The a/c works well and is quiet.

I wouldn't stay at Hotel Brasilito again. The noise and the rock hard bed made for the worst night's sleep I have had my entire life. 

Room Tip: Request a room upstairs and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was amazed by all the high end hotels in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. But we chose to stay at Hotel Brasilito because of the price and we did not go wrong. It was clean, not the best food, but ok and there are cheap restaurants around the corner. Also it is 5 minutes walking distance from the best beach in all of Costa Rica, Playa Conchal. If you are not looking for the royal treatment and want to stay in a clean, safe and good natured hotel I would strongly recommend Hotel Brasilito.

Room Tip: I would book directly on their site if possible about $15 cheaper than a travel site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfamily663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent a few nights here with a friend and found it to be very clean and comfortable. The breakfast had ice cold affordable beer and great food. Right on the beach and lots of locals. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamiamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

if an honest simple clean and inexpensive beach front hotel with lovely owner, employees and watermelon juice drinks appeal to you, (also a breeze, temps in the 90's in february), i heartily
suggest Hotel Brasilito. we stayed a week and will go back.

Room Tip: rm c......ocean front, as are the 2 above (better)..beware the late night neighbor blasting music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeffandjanetware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 as a single traveler. After 20 hours traveling through various airports and a 60 mile transfer I was tired, but the staff made me very welcome and quickly put me in a nice upstairs room with a fan, shower and a large bed. It was late, but the kitchen people put some food together before they left for the night. My first impression was good.

This is a clean, professionally run and relatively cheap place to stay. You get clean towels and the room cleaned every day, the management work hard to please and will help with tours, advice, transport etc. If you can speak a little Spanish the local staff love it and will go the extra mile. The food is excellent, but its more expensive than eating at a soda. The kitchens are spotless and the chefs wear head covers.

The WiFi works OK, the nightclub over the road closes at a reasonable time, you can hear the waves as you drop off to sleep and you get used to the early morning call from the rooster!

This was such a nice place I decided to return after visiting Monteverde and Santa Elena for some sun and good food before I returned home. Thoroughly recommended, my thanks to Shelley and Anna for ensuring that I had such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I liked the room I had on the first floor facing the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sakarag0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice little town. This hotel is very basic, but everything you need, and VERY CLEAN. The owner, Shelly, was very friendly and profesional. She showed us to our room and answerd the few questions we had about the area. Nothing special about the rooms, other than they are clean and tidy. The restraunt in the lobby has a great view of the water, and the food is very good too. Drinks are a bit pricy, but there is happy hour. Mixed drinks were tasty though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brasilito
0.2 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nany Playa Brasilito
Hotel Nany Playa Brasilito
#3 of 3 in Brasilito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#2 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bahia Esmeralda
Bahia Esmeralda
#4 of 5 in Playa Potrero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brasilito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brasilito

Property: Hotel Brasilito
Address: Frente la Mar | 50 metros oest de la plaza, Brasilito 5001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brasilito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brasilito Beach and an easy walk to Playa Conchal, our affordable clean hotel rooms have hot water and air conditioning is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Brasilito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing