We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant in tranquil location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe El Manglar - CLOSED

Cafe El Manglar
Cuisines: Cafe, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, South American
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in tranquil location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a fabulous meal in this wonderful, out of the way, restaurant. The setting is beautiful and the decor very natural. It was clean and the service was wonderful. Jorge, the owner, made our evening very special and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend this place for good food and service

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agentlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service in this hidden spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were staying in Matapalo and decided to head out for dinner. I checked tripadvisor and, based on reviews, we decided to try Cafe El Manglar. We were so glad we did! When we arrived, all the tables looked full. We found one table, but it had no chairs. There was a table full of what looked to be local teens and young men nearby who promptly got up and brought us their chairs and then went and got more chairs that were stacked in the corner. That was the treatment we received everywhere-people are incredibly friendly and generous. We started with drinks, which were loaded with fresh fruit and simply delicious. In our party we had a shrimp dish, a fish dish, and an order of nachos. All were good. I had the fish, which had been caught that morning and was absolutely fabulous! Service was great! Our server and the other staff were all very friendly and prompt. We will definitely return in our next trip to Costa Rica. Drive past the big flashy restaurants in town and find this gem. I highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenjakeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, great service and atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Mediocre food, very friendly service and great atmosphere (by the beach with palm trees but not overrun by tourists)

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dgor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORDOVA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ANA MARIA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This restaurant has the best, friendliest and welcoming envirnoment for all their guests. The cook (Victor) and helper (Carlitos) and owner (Jorge) have great food, coffee and natural fruit drinks at very reasonable prices. The restaurant is not far from Don Brasilito's restaurant and is just across from the beach, where you can enjoy the sea air and watch the sunset. While I was there the owners treated me like part of their family and I enjoyed my time at the Cafe Manglar. This was the only place where you could use their Internet services at no charge, if you did not bring any computers or ipads. You should all make the time to visit the Cafe Manglar if you do visit Brasilito, you will not regret it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ANA MARIA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The food and friendliness made our day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thanks to fellow reviewer Pattie, we made our way to this cafe in the little fishing town of Brasilito and we were glad we did. In an easy-going country of generally helpful people, Jorge managed to out-friendly everybody else, he was so funny, kind, and helpful! We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere and will definitely return if we ever get the chance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolftracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe El Manglar also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing