We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Brasilitos

Don Brasilitos
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Brasilito
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Don Brasilitos, one the most relaxed and friendly bars you'll come across. Situated right in beautiful Playa Brasilito, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, enjoy your time drinking the cheapest beers and booze around. The food is good, fast, and easy on the wallet as well. We've got everything from traditional Costa Rican cuisine and delicious seafood, to pizza, pasta, and typical American and Mexican dishes. A true blend of everyone including ex-pats, locals, and tourists, all come to Don Brasilitos to enjoy the pure life. We’re open 10am-2am, 7 days a week, all year long, so stop by and pay us a visit!
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
505 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

smiley waitress, average to below average food, slow and typical Costa Rican service. It took over 30 minutes to pay our bill! The waitress gave our check to another waitress, who gave it to another young lady, who then gave it to the cashier, who then took forever to ring it up, and begin the return cycle! Nice people, but a sorry system. Prices on the high side for the food quality. Go down the street only 1 mile and save 1/3.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daytonabeachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    77
    50
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“After being at Playa Conchel for a day stopped here. GREAT food and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by one evening on a whim for dinner and a beer. The beer was perfectly chilled and cheap. The food was great and reasonable. I had Red Snapper and it was awesome. We drove back there several times during our two weeks in Tamarindo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sotherlandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything under one roof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch one day after a morning at Playa Conchal. Understandably, at 11:30 on a Monday the place was nearly empty.

The food and service were both great. I had the shrimp and rice and it was quite a bit of food when you throw in the salad and french fries. My wife had the chicken and rice off the "bocas" menu and it was also very good. Unless you're a big eater, I think most could order off the reasonably-priced bocas menu and be satisfied.

The other thing I liked about Don Bras was the plethora of TV's they had. I could see this being a great place to watch sports on a Sunday afternoon.

If you're looking for good food, cheap beer, good TV's, and a prime location on the beach it's tough to go wrong with Don Brasilitos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Bar of the Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Don Brasilitos has a great location right on Brasilitos Beach.
The Food and Drinks are ready to satisfy your paled while you are playing pool, slots machines or just hanging out at the patio with your friends.
The Girls at the Bar will help you with a huge smile in their faces. Great Stuff Members!!
The New Smoking Launch Chairs under the Umbrella are Priceless.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicanTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
“Always Open Always Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

After having spent a good bit of time visiting and living in the Brasilito area I got to know "Don Bras" quite well. It's a great place. It does what it does well and doesn't stray from a formula that has made them one of the most solid businesses in the area. The golden coast of Costa Rica is only golden for business during the tourist season. Finding a restaurant that you can count on 7 days a week, 365 days a year, is a feat almost anywhere and especially so in the Flamingo/Brasilito area.The place is NEVER closed. They've always got the cheapest prices in town but nevertheless run one of the cleanest and safest restaurants that caters to so many different demographics. I would feel safe taking my kids there at any time day or night and have done so. There aren't many places where you can try the local dishes but still count on good old American food to keep the kids happy all without breaking the bank.

Back in the real world now I joined trip advisor to remember the good times and came across all the complaints below. I think the majority have missed their mark and expected something you just won't find in Costa Rica at these prices. To be fair it is true that the service can be iffy at times though I see they've finally got a computer system which should help a lot. As far as friendly faces from the staff I think it's just that they're anxious because tips from foreigners can double or triple their daily wage and perversely that keeps the otherwise incredibly friendly Costa Rican personality from coming through. As to the comments on food quality this is not fine dining by any means and I think it's unfair to knock them on the reviews for not being so.

I highly recommend Don Brasilitos to anyone visiting the area especially if you've got kids. The beach is 10 steps away and once you get used to the idiosyncrasies of the place you'll find it a fast favorite with something for everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John42w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Brasilitos also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Don Brasilitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing