We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fantastic ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papaya

Papaya
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Brasilito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, Fusion, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Informal dining in a beautiful relaxed environment. Serving fresh seafood, steaks and vegetarian options. Live dinner music through high season Tuesdays and Saturdays. Breakfast specials daily (best value in town!) and Happy Hour with signature cocktails and local beers 2x1
riverview
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and fantastic ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best mahi mahi I have had is Costa Rica in our month stay- also great lime cake and special organic chocolate cake- The setting is like a Pacific Tiki hut...so perfect including the hammocks in the loft!! We are definitely returning..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MindiaRiverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    54
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wonderful meals, Great food and the service is outstanding. The best chips and guacamole I ever had! Tuna steaks that looked and tasted like the best filet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejenkins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Putting to one side the instinctive bias-half of the couple who run Papaya is British, this is still a great place to eat. The menu is ambitious and inventive. Loads of fresh seafood , well executed. A lovely relaxed setting. One one visit my North American guests, not easily pleased saidit was the best yellow finned tuna he had ever had. Even had a nice claret on the wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank betleugese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flavorful, friendly, fabulous - a culinary oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

After many, many trips to this area we finally stumbled upon this adorable little place. Our family went for dinner and enjoyed the best salads we've had in Costa Rica. It's easy to find grilled fish and sea food platters around, but discovering a place where they use herbs and vegetables and delicate flavors to compliment the fish was a pleasant surprise. We ordered the green papaya salad and the Greek salad to start - both we're pfectly dressed and flavorful. My husband ordered the sesame crusted tuna and my mom and I got the coconut crusted mahi mahi. Both were delicious. I'm tempted to go back tonight!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mapachula78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Ingredients, and Creativity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel, but wanted to say that the food here is really amazing. We had lunch and dinner here, and were surprised and satisfied both times.

For lunch we had two salads, and chicken salad and a "custom-made" vegetarian. Both were clean, fresh, and satisfying.

For dinner that evening we had the seared tuna (fish of the day) and another dish. Both where very flavorful, with nice touches.

The service was good too. Inviting and helpful, but not obtrusive. Overall, this is a very romantic place to have dinner and hang out. The desert was awesome too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_Kozorovitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing