We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Food, Ingredients, and Creativity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papaya

Papaya
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Brasilito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Pacific Rim, Costa Rican, Gluten Free Options, Caribbean, Mediterranean, Fusion, Healthy, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Informal dining in a beautiful relaxed environment. Serving fresh seafood, steaks and vegetarian options.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Ingredients, and Creativity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel, but wanted to say that the food here is really amazing. We had lunch and dinner here, and were surprised and satisfied both times.

For lunch we had two salads, and chicken salad and a "custom-made" vegetarian. Both were clean, fresh, and satisfying.

For dinner that evening we had the seared tuna (fish of the day) and another dish. Both where very flavorful, with nice touches.

The service was good too. Inviting and helpful, but not obtrusive. Overall, this is a very romantic place to have dinner and hang out. The desert was awesome too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_Kozorovitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    44
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Olmsted, Ohio
2 reviews
“Fabulous and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Papaya Restuarant at the Conchal Hotel is fabulous! We stayed at the hotel and were lucky enough to enjoy both the breakfasts, snacks and dinners (after breakfast we were never hungry for lunch). The breakfasts which were complimentary with our room included beautiful fresh fruit to choose from, homemade breads and jams, fresh juice... really good! When we weren't in a hurry to get going somewhere, the breakfasts off the menu were really delicious and full of fresh, homemade ingredients. The quacamole and home made chips are really to die for an afternoon snack with one of Hilda's delicious smoothies are tropical cocktails! Dinner were beautiful!!! It was like we were at a gourmet restaurant catering to us! We even brought back fish from a morning with a couple local fisherman (great time!!), and Hilda cooked it up for us and the presentation was amazing!!! She is an absolutely amazing cook and I can't wait to get her cookbook as soon as it comes out!!!!! Loved it! Lisa & Dan G

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Conchal Hotel, and this was their onsite restaurant. Delicious, fresh food on a relaxing, outdoor patio. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Neat spot, very good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Papaya Restaurant is located in a small hotel. It is on the second and third floor of a wood bungalow. We were with a large family group for a birthday celebration. The kids loved the hammocks and the "tree house" feel, as well as the pizza. Food was very good. Excellent quality sea food. Cocktails were very very good as well (passion fruit mojitos, yum!). Our hostess was very sweet and went above and beyond to make sure that everyone was happy and had what they needed. Great spot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCCR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorba linda, ca
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I love food so when we stayed at Conchal, we knew that Papaya restaurant was a must. We ordered seafood dishes and we could probably eat more if we had any more room in our stomach. The food was so delicious and we went ooh and aah every bite we took. Hilda was an excellent cook and we definitely suggest not to leave Brasalito area without a meal at Papaya! Yummy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teachertippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing