We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Inviting!”
Review of Quinta Esencia B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta Esencia B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Brasilito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming and Inviting!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 2 days in this charming place which we believe is likely the best in the area in terms of value and charm. Quinta is situated in a lush little garden and the rooms have a shared balcony.

Our room was very inviting and clean and had some pretty décor. The King-sized bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had lovely tiling and a great hot-water shower. We also had a mini fridge and nice little touches of coffee, cookies and candy placed in the room.

The owner has an Italian restaurant in front and the dishes that we tried for dinner that day were simply scrumptious!! He was very kind to give us a loaf of freshly baked Italian bread the next day which we thought was one of the best we have tasted!

The Brasilito beach is not very pretty; however, a short walk/ drive in preferably a 4W leads you from this beach to the other stupendous Playa Conchal, which Lonely Planet deems the prettiest beach in all of Costa Rica. The ‘sand’ is comprised of finely crushed seashells. The white sand and beautiful blue water combined with a lot of shady trees do indeed make this beach an enchanting one! We found a trail behind the beach and had a long walk to another pretty beach, passing though small white sand dunes. The sunset on Playa Conchal was fantastic!

One thing to note is that the lodge is situated on the main road and you will hear some traffic during the day. My boy-friend is sensitive to this; however, I am not, so if you are finicky like him, you might think twice about this location. Nonetheless, let me remind you that if you want to see Playa Conchal, Quinta Esencia is really the best choice, all things considering (other than the Westin if you are willing to be extravagant!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmingNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
109
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We, two Dutch friends of 26 years, stayed at this nice place for 4 nights which we decided to extend to 5 nights.

• Price: $45 per night including taxes. We think the owner could increase this low price easily - it's quite unique to stay in a place like this for so little money.

• Rooms: cleaned by a lovely lady called Olga, new, fresh, spacious, quiet, huge beds. Fan, AC, fridge. In total there are just four rooms.

• Owner: Walter (Italian) is great: helpful, authentic, trustworthy, and super friendly.

• Where to eat: Walter is also the owner and cook of the restaurant next to Quinta Esencia, which is BY FAR the best. Try the "speacialty steak" - warm slices of steak that are very soft and delicious. The restaurant is opened every day from 6-12 except Wednesday's.

• For breakfast, you need to go somewhere else. Our favorite spots were Oasis (ocean view!), Manglar (adorable host!) and Papaya (great value, too, but a bit far from Quinta Esencia by foot if you're hungry in the morning).

• Location: 5 min walk to tiny village Brasilito (bring a flashlight; it gets dark at 6PM and you have to walk next to the normal road for a few minutes), 15-20 min walk to the awesome Conchal beach. By car or public bus (goes every hour) which leaves 1 min away from Quita Esencia, you can visit Flamingo Beach, which is a 10 minute ride.

• Wifi: there's wifi both in Quinta Esencia and in the restaurant. Somehow our phones didn't have the right server connection with the Quinta Esencia one, but we used the restaurant's connection all the time, which was strong enough for i.e. Skype.

• What to do: Walter has an Italian friend with a catamaran, Manta Rey Sunset Tours. For $70 or $75 (don't exactly remember) you get: transportation to Flamingo, 3-4 hours on a lovely catamaran boat with max 8-10 people, guided snorkeling and swimming near a tiny remote beach, food (nachos, fruits, BBQ hamburgers) and drinks. While hearing a nice music mix and sailing back to Flamingo you watch the sun go down. Really beautiful. We left at 1ish and arrived back at the hotel around 7ish. We recommend this one as it's very personal and more small scale than the catamarans that fit many tourists. Don't miss out on this!!!!

In short: look no further, Quinta Esencia it is!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexandra1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in Quinta Esencia only 2 nights because we were on the last segment of our trip and got tempted to see other places. But we would have stayed longer. The hotel is small and quiet; the rooms are very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The room is equipped with a small table, refrigerator and a coffee maker, so we bought some fruits and bread nearby and had our breakfast there. Walter makes you feel really comfortable and it is evident that he enjoys what he does and makes every effort to provide a great service, at a very reasonable price. His restaurant next door, Septimo Cielo, is absolutely great. It has a charming setting, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and genuine Italian hospitality. We missed his cooking for the rest of our trip. The quality and variety of the menu makes it a super fine restaurant. He serves wood oven pizzas that with no exaggeration are the best I’ve ever eaten. Same opinion has my husband –and me- about the tiramisu. A remark for the lady serving the tables: very professional and efficient. The main attraction of the area is the beautiful beach Conchal, about 20 minutes walk from the hotel, crossing the Brasilito beach (you can also drive to the beach, preferable with a 4 wheel). But eating at Septimo Cielo would alone justify the trip down there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lvi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls,NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

After arriving in Flamingo our expensive accommodation was not prepared for our arrival. We asked around and got a recommendation to try Quinta Esencia. It is behind a restaurant and has about six rooms. The room looked very clean, was reasonably priced and had a mini fridge and a small table and chair set. Fatima was so pleasant and helpful that we decided to stay here. The bed was totally comfortable, took up most of the room. The bathroom was immaculate. Sweet touches made this place a pleasant stay. Tight parking but everyone was cooperative about sharing the space. The hidden gem is the restaurant. Fatima's husband is the chef and he puts out great Italian food. Oven baked pizzas and lots more. Our favorite restaurant in town had disappeared but once we had a meal there we didn't bother with anywhere else. We got over our disappointment with the Flamingo place real quickly since we had a secure, clean, reasonable place to stay with a great restaurant!!! Only downside: walls are easy to hear through! Spent our days exploring and at the beach. This reminded us of traveling in Costa Rica thirty years ago when clean and reasonable accommodations were the rule rather than the exceptions they are now! Great touring base for the peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micknmarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived here on a rainy evening after a long drive and were cheerfully recepted by Fatima. We initially planned to stay only one night but this lovely place made us change our mind and we extended our stay.
It is just a few minutes away from the centre of Brasilito and this is good.
The restaurant next to it (7 cielo) provides excellent original italian food.
There are just two minor cons (no safety box in the room and the hot water was not constantly hot). But the lovely owners and the whole place made more than up for this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reto_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My colleagues and I stayed at the Quinta Esencia B&B in Brasilito while on a work trip. I was hesitant at first because I didn't know the area and one of our local contacts made the reservation for us ahead of time. Quinta Esencia is a cute little bed and breakfast tucked away about 5 minutes down the road from Brasilito. I was bummed at first that we weren't staying right on the beach but the walk is only about 10 minutes into town and you're right to the beach. The rooms were nice/simple/clean and, really, for the price of $38/night you can't beat it. The beds are king size and everything is very CLEAN! One inside tip I learned while visiting Brasilito is that all beach fronts are public property - so if you want to walk to the beach front in front of the Westin, Playa Conchal 20 minutes away, you can enjoy the same beach as the guests at the Westin. My favorite thing about Quinta Esencia was by far, the FOOD. The owners are a sweet Italian family and I had the BEST pizza of my life one night for dinner at the restaurant. We only stayed 3 nights but it was a great little place, I will definitely go back someday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcuatoriGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had the good fortune to accidentally stumble upon Quinta Esencia late one night after the hotel where we were supposed to stay didn't pan out. I woke the owner up and he had one room left. The plan originally had been to stay in Brasilito one night and then move on, but we decided to stay for two additional nights.

The rooms, grounds and everything else were immaculately maintained and the price was quite reasonable. Quinta Esencia is located within a short drive of the beaches, restaurants and a small grocery and was quiet and peaceful. There were four of us and we absolutely loved it. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were good. My tip to travelers is to make it a point to stay at this little paradis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glsisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brasilito
0.4 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
516 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brasilito
Hotel Brasilito
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nany
Hotel Nany
#3 of 3 in Brasilito
54 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Esencia B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Esencia B&B

Property: Quinta Esencia B&B
Address: Playa Brasilito | 400 mts Flamingo road, Brasilito, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brasilito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel close to the nature, 200m of playa BRASILITO and 15 min in feet of playa CONCHAL. Rooms with any conveniences, king size bed, tv, mini bar, air-conditioning, bathroom with shower,wifi. We are French and impatient to make you discover this little piece of heaven ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta Esencia B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing