We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Old Downton Lodge”
Review of Old Downton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Downton Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
south yorks
1 review
“Good Old Downton Lodge”
Reviewed October 19, 2008

The manager came to meet us as soon as we parked up, then showed us to our room which we loved. We couldn't believe the height of the ceilings, this made it feel very roomy. We settled ourselves in and then asked Ken if he could arrange a taxi for us to go into Ludlow as we were booked in at the Koo Japanese restaurant (gorgeous by the way), this wasn't a problem - although it was quite pricey with us being so far out of the way - £15 there & £15 back.

The breakfast the following morning was lovely - a nice selection of fruit and cereals followed by a full breakfast which was served very quickly. We also ate in the restaurant that evening and the meal, in particular the sticky date & ginger pudding, was lovely...Mmm. We found the service was great and the manager friendly, loved the weekend away - we would definitely recommoned this place...the price we paid was very reasonable - £140 for two nights. Unbeleivably the weather was also great...

I did have one gripe though and that is that the heating didn't come on at all on the Saturday and there wasn't enough hot water to have a nice long bath as I'd intended, although if I'd mentioned this to the manager I'm sure he would have done everything he could to resolve the problem.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nicolacaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    19
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
138
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I booked this hotel for a special treat for my husband and I to get away. It looked very nice upon arrival, and Ken the manager was very friendly and came out to greet us. Unfortunately it went downhill from there - the room we were in had a large but broken tv. The bathrobes had not been cleaned as there was makeup/foundation all over both of the robes from a previous guest. Cobwebs everywhere and generally the room looked tired and unlooked after. An unused condom was in its packet left under the doily on the bedside table from a previous guest - obviously the room hadn't been cleaned very well otherwise this would have been picked up by the cleaning staff. No ventilation in the room on a hot day - just a big old rickety fan - as none of the windows in the bathroom or main room opened. breakfast the next day looked good, but upon eating the fruit and drinking the juice it was all fizzy - i think a lot of it was going off. A good variety on the cooked meal options but took ages to come and then forgot part of the dish offered on the menu so had to go back and served to me on a separate plate. Husbands full english was disappointing - "mushrooms" consisted of 1 tiny mushroom, bacon consisting of mostly fat and a shrivelled sausage.

How this place can bill itself as a luxury retreat and charge the prices it does is beyond me. I have travelled a lot , stayed in a lot of places and expect a certain standard for this kind of price and was really really disappointed. It was worse as I had booked it as a suprise, and unfortunately that was it but not the kind of suprise I was hoping for. I have a feeling this place had a good name when it first opened and has gone rapidly downhill and the decor/cleanliness and general upkeep of the place, including attention to detail just doesn't match the price or what you see on the website.

I think anyone reading this and the other reviews (some of which are good some not so good) should think twice, as the very fact that the reviews are mixed means that your chance of having an enjoyable stay are 50:50. I would not recommend this place at all and glad we didn't book in for the dinner in the evening as based on breakfast, I think it would have been an equally disappointing experience.

  • Liked — location is nice
  • Disliked — the rooms, the service, the uncleanliness and lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
On behalf of previous management, with whom we have no connection, our apologies to Hendy22 for a bad experience. New management since September 2011. We have refurnished, done a thorough deep clean and found a different laundry. We have learned from the mistakes of others and truly believe that Old Downton Lodge is once again a retreat to remember for all the best reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

The rooms here - converted from old stone farm buildings - are very stylishly designed, with maximum effect obtained from the bare stone walls & beams. There are drawbacks: such as difficulties with odd angles/inconvenient shapes in the bathrooms, meaning, for instance, that there was no fully enclosed shower in our room - with a subsequent mess of water everywhere. But it is worth it for the overall effect.

Breakfast is very good - & full. But dinner is even better: a small menu but excellent quality of ingredient, expertise & service.

The location seems to be miles from anywhere down country lanes - very peaceful. A very different, rural experience. But close enough to Ludlow to be convenient.

Prices above average perhaps for the rooms, but dinner is in line - on balance: good value.

  • Liked — idiosyncratic room/restaurant design
  • Disliked — shower arrangement
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Have stayed here twice in the last month.
Both times the food has been excellent - worth asking Ken the manager what he recommends to eat.
Very relaxing set-up. We were lucky with the weather so able to sit out in the courtyard for pre-dinner drinks.
Beautiful walks in the area - though if you have a dog you need to be aware that there are an awful lot of shoot birds around the hotel so your dog needs to be under control (or totally disinerested like ours!)
The 2 rooms we have stayed in were both of a high standard and very comfortable. Quite small tvs but did not bother us at all.

  • Liked — the warmth of the welcome and the good food
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at Old Downton Lodge on Friday of this weekend- I was a little put off after reading some of the reviews but looked at them after we booked. We were greeted in the car park by a very friendly and helpful manager who showed us to our lovely room with four poster bed and huge bathroom. He then showed us the lounge and restaurant where we were having our evening meal (we had pre booked) Our room was really comfortable and clean - (I am very particular about cleanliness) The rooms were in the style of barn conversions and set around a lovely courtyard, very private and relaxing. Our evening meal was delicious and the restaurant was wonderful- very relaxing but with a feeling that you were somewhere special. The staff were very effecient and friendly. Breakfast the next morning was also a very relaxing enjoyable experience with a very good choice of food. It was a shame that the weather was not better as it would be a good area to explore as the lodge is in the middle of nowhere in beautiful setting. We loved it and thought it was a very unique place to stay.

  • Liked — Very different, great food and atmosphere
  • Disliked — would like to have had a shower instead of a bath
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We booked a night at the old downton lodge for a relaxing break and due to the great reviews on the food. we had had a tiring day and looked forward to checking in and booking a table in the restaurant. when we checked in we were told the restaurant was fully booked. with the hotel being in the middle of nowhere this was a great dissapointment. we had to drive to have a meal which meant one of us couldnt drink with our meal. the room was very basic although it was nice and clean. we had requested a double room but we were given 2 single beds pushed together (one of which was broken!). for the price we paid i thought it was very over-priced. the brekfast was delicious but it was just a real shame we couldnt dine in the evening as we had planned.

  • Liked — the rustic look and the brekfast
  • Disliked — no wi-fi as promised, couldnt eat in evening at restaurant, broken bed.....
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank overtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
New management from September 2011. We have read our reviews, learned from them and have been rated 4star by Shropshire Tourism. None of the beds are broken and we do not push single beds together to make a double. We believe that Old Downton Lodge is once again a rural retreat to remember for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I was recommended this hotel by locals impressed by the Jolly Frog. The food here was fantastic, with great presentation. It was impossible to fault the ingredients or how they were cooked. The food was not that expensive, although the drinks, especially the tonic water, soon mount up. The wine waiter / butler was wonderful, but all the staff were friendly and polite, even when keep waiting at the end of thier shift, which greatly impressed me. I would definitely go again.

  • Liked — The location is terrific, with some great views and walks
  • Disliked — The cost of the tonic water!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddingthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downton on the Rock
5.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
4.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 8 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Clive
The Clive
#1 of 1 in Bromfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Downton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Downton Lodge

Property: Old Downton Lodge
Address: Downton on the Rock | Ludlow, Shropshire, Downton on the Rock SY8 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Downton on the Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Downton on the Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Downton Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fascinating. Intriguing. Mesmeric. Pure escapism just seven miles from Ludlow, in some respects, Old Downton Lodge defies description: It is not a hotel, nor is it really a bed and breakfast or a restaurant with rooms. Each of the nine bedrooms are unforgettable – stylishly converted from historic farm buildings surrounding a flower bedecked courtyard, each is quirky, luxurious, packed with history and designed to make you smile. The hospitality is relaxed and genuine. The food – served in a dramatic dining hall - is exceptional and the wine list inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Old Downton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Downton Hotel Downton On The Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing