We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Downton Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$219
$212
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$192
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Leominster)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel(Leominster)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
230
26
3
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
26
3
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse tasting menusitting roomrestaurant with roomssingle track roadnarrow lanestranquil locationlucky with the weatherfour postercodwines to accompanylovely countrysidewell stocked barmichelin starlounge areamarket menusuperb foodduck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 264 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Old Downton Lodge last weekend with a large group of friend as part of a birthday celebration. From the moment we arrived, we received a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We checked in early to our lovely room and joined our friends in the comfortable lounge for coffee and home made cakes. Our hosts recommended local places to walk and even laid on 2 minibuses to transport us to a local beauty spot and collected us when we were ready to return. We had a great dinner, served in an elegant and impressive dining room then retired to the lounge where we enjoyed drinks from the honesty bar. Breakfast the next morning was extensive and offered a choice of both hot and cold dishes. We felt completely at home at the lodge, thanks to the exceptional hospitality of our hosts. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Some have a bath and others have showers. Tastefully furnished rooms with very comfortable beds, some of which are four poster.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hi Georgie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're really pleased your party enjoyed the exclusive use of Old Downton Lodge for your party. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Old Downtown Lodge is an amazing find. We went for a short stay and had the most incredible time. All the rooms are so unique and have such character. The food and hospitality were fantastic. I would definitely go again and recommend if you want a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hi Amelia, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and all of the activities. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you are looking for a unique and amazing experience this is the one! Having recently stayed at Downton with a small group of colleagues we had a wonderful time. Downton Lodge is a totally unique and a magical place. The venue is full of character, the bedrooms are immaculate, the reception areas stunning and the food out of this world. And what made this place extra special was the hospitality offered by Fergus, Anita and their team. From the initial enquiry, helping plan our activities (visit to the Ludlow Food Centre, treasure hunt, local walk), recommending local restaurants/pubs, serving breakfast & dinner, preparing drinks....nothing was too much trouble. If you are looking to stay in the Ludlow area stay at Downton Lodge, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicklaus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you and your colleagues stay and discover the amazing things we have to offer locally. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the Ludlow medieval christmas market and had booked a return visit before we left.This is a real gem,everything of a very high standard -beautiful room,huge bed,wonderful breakfast and attentive,friendly service.Set in lovely countryside seemingly miles from anywhere but within easy reach of Ludlow and surrounding area.We did not have our car with us but were offered lifts into Ludlow by Fergus who negotiated the pheasant filled lanes with ease!The rain meant that sitting in the lounge on Saturday evening ,warmed by the wood-burning stove and a drink from the bar was an added treat.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: state preference for shower or bath whn booking
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We pride ourselves on the service we offer. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wishing to visit Ludlow and the surrounding area, I searched the internet for accommodation and found this absolute gem of a place. My husband and I stayed here for one night on 27 October. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Service was attentive without being overpowering. As it was a Saturday night we had the option of booking for dinner which turned out to be a very good choice. Compliments to Fergus on a perfectly cooked medium rare sirloin! I really can’t recommend Old Downton Lodge highly enough. What you see on their website is what you get – it won’t be long before we’re back for a longer stay. Beryl P

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews