We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Gloria”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worsley, Salford, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gloria”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having cruised in the slightly smaller but very comfortable and beautiful 'Queenie' we decided to give 'Gloria' a try so that we could gain experience in handling a larger craft. What a wonderful boat 'Gloria' really is. As usual Hester went through the hand over process and gave us an excellent and very informative tour of the whole interior and exterior. She gave us full and comprehensive, but easy to understand, instructions on boat handling and safety. Please, no matter how many times you have cruised or how experienced you are, listen to Hester. Every boat has its own little differences and the hand over time is when you will be told everything you will need to know.
The open cruiser stern deck is comfortable for two people to be able to stand (although madam did relax in a chair!) to enjoy the scenery passing slowly by. The controls are simple, easy to reach and very responsive. The engine is a lot quieter than I expected.
The interior is every bit as good as in 'Queenie' but with the added bonus of more storage and floor space. Between the saloon and bathroom there are several large wardrobes and shelved cupboards.
The galley is at the rear and is handy for the non-driver to make brews and snacks which can then be taken directly on to the deck. It is well equipped and set out with an efficient four ring hob, grill and oven. The fridge is a good size and there is room for storage of dry goods in the cupboards. A good and well thought out selection of utensils, crockery, pots and pans means you can cook a full meal with ease.
The saloon has a very comfy 'L' shaped sofa which converts into a double bed, however, the sofa seat is more than wide enough to fit a single adult wishing to sleep there without needing to set up the whole bed. There is a desk area for those wanting to do any paperwork or for somewhere to place a lap-top. Also in the saloon there is a fold-down free-standing dining table. There is a multi-fuel stove here as well as a radiator.
The bathroom is nicely set up with a quite roomy shower, wash basin and toilet. I have to say that it was immaculately clean and every surface gleamed.
The permanent bedroom, at the front of the boat, has an over-bed shelf with individual spotlights. The bed itself is amazing and the mattress feels as though it's cuddling you to sleep. There is a small wardrobe in this bedroom. There is a radiator to provide heat in the chillier months. A door between this room and the rest of the boat is handy and will provide privacy for those sleeping in each area. A pair of double doors lead directly on to the covered bow area.
The bow area is covered with see through roll up material so you can sit with, in effect, the windows open or closed.
Hester, thank you again for presenting us with a boat that was immaculately clean, well furnished, equipped and set out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and overall cleanliness
Liked least: Having to hand the boat back
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Hi Dave and Francine, thanks so much for your very comprehensive review of Gloria. I'm glad you have had the chance to use both of the boats now and I'm glad too that Gloria didn’t disappoint. Welcome back anytime. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south tyneside
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing, ( except maybe the weather!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
And thank you Audrey and James for your great review...welcome back anytime. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
barbaraja...
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

2nd night of a two night birthday surprise trip - my partner had no idea we were staying on a narrowboat and his face when we arrived at the marina was a picture!

Hester was there to meet us and show us the ropes... even though we weren't actually moving we still needed a basic induction which she did very quickly and efficiently.

The narrowboat is immaculate, and has everything you could need including beautiful bedding, a comfy bed, digital radio, dvd's to watch and a corkscrew! So we settled in front of the cosy stove (which Hester had thoughfully lit in advance) and toasted our toes while we listened to the rain on the roof.

It was a great night, and you would never guess you're in the centre of Manchester a stone's throw from the Trafford Centre! The only noises we heard were the geese.

Thank you Hester, we will definitely recommend you to our friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing - it was all lovely!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2016
Thanks for your lovely review Barbara, I'm really glad that you had a good stay. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul b
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite holidays ever !”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Looking for something different to do for the new year my partner came across Star Narrowboats website and found that Queenie was available , i called Hester and immediately felt at ease with her and went ahead and booked . Hester was as kind and helpful in person as she was on the phone she explained all we needed to know about the boat made sure we could steer and park / moor it ?,and before long we were off on our own . We travelled / sailed to Lymm where we spent a few nights because it was so nice , the boat was better than we imagined and better than most hotels i have stayed in , the coal burner was great , and all the other canal people we met were double friendly and helpful . It is the only holiday i have ever had that has been both exciting and super relaxing at the same time , i cant recommend Star Narrowboats enough and will 100 % be booking again soon .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: noithing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Hey Paul, thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review. You will 100% be welcome back!! Hester.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zedbee72
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is the second time we have stayed on Gloria. Since our first stay we have actually acquired our own narrow boat but love this one, and Hester’s hospitality, so much we didn’t want to cancel. There has been 18 months between the two bookings and Gloria shows no signs of a decline in appearance. A tribute to Hester’s professionalism.

Gloria is spotless, well equipped and runs like a dream. Bedding is crisp, clean and fluffy. Cupboards don’t hold any nasty surprises. The double bed is so comfy we bought a matching mattress on our return home! The shower room is better than most hotel en suites. There’s lots of roomy cupboards so you don’t compromise on space and comfort. The lay out is the best you’ll get for holidays. The kitchen is near the tiller so the Captain doesn’t feel abandoned! The cruising deck is big enough for 2 / 3 chairs, which is a must for jollies. The wood burner actually works and there are little quirky details all over the boat that spell charm. I do love a fairy light!

The best thing about Gloria? She doesn’t look or feel like a hire boat. For the duration of our cruise we actually felt like she was ours. Isn’t that what we’re dreaming of?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charm
Liked least: having to leave Gloria behind!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Hey Zoe, thanks for leaving your very good review. I'm really glad the boat still lives up to it! Hopefully we'll see you soon with the 'furballs'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan c
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super Boat - Personal Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hester, who runs Star has two boats Gloria and Queenie, We hired Queenie a 50ft narrowboat. The booking process was easy, I talked to a real person (Hester) on the phone and made our arrangements. A unique feature of Star is that there are no fixed hire periods. You can hire for one day or one month or anywhere in between. Queenie is only a year old and is beautifully turned out. One of her best features is the wonderful wide doulble bed, we have hired a lot of boats over the years and beds are usually pretty cramped, no such problem here. To keep you warm in autumn/winter there is a coal burning stove, very cosy. Star are situated on the Bridgewater canal at Boothstown Marina about nine miles from Manchester City centre. This location offers the novice boater around forty miles of lock free cruising or for the more experienced the challenging Cheshire ring circuit ninty seven miles and ninty two locks. Hester is the most helpful boat operator we have ever had the pleasure of dealing with, even offering to come out and help us with the Rochdale 9 locks in Manchester City centre on our first day. Hire with confidence from Star Narrow Boats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The wonderful Penine Canals
Liked least: The Rochdale Nine, hard work, but worthwhile!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Alan (and Cathy), wow that is some review from you who have been boating for longer than I have been alive!!! Thanks for your great review and I'm really glad you enjoyed completing the Cheshire Ring. Thank you for looking after ‘Queenie’ so well and for the nightly updates whilst on your travels. All the best, Hester.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazmar201...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend break”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We hired Gloria (narrowboat) for the bank holiday weekend. Our first time in a narrowboat. Arrived at tea-time Friday and stayed overnight on the boat at the Marina. After some excellent tuition from Hester on Saturday morning we set off for Lymm (no locks on this route) and approx 5.5 hours so easily managed in a day. We had a lovely relaxing journey down to Lymm, taking in the scenery en-route and arrived around 4.30pm. We moored up about 1/2 mile before Lymm as there was a turning point just ahead that we could use to turn round the following morning to head back to the Marina. We walked along the canal path into Lymm which was quite busy with lots of moored boats so a good decision to moor up where we did. We had a meal at The Spread Eagle and then went to the Golden Fleece and sat outside with drinks by the canal watching the sun go down. Gloria is a lovely narrowboat, very clean, comfy bed, warm and cosy. Excellent for a nice relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle. You can even moor up outside the Trafford Centre if you fancy a spot of shopping without queueing in traffic. We didnt stop there but there were 2 boats moored up when we sailed past. We had a fantastic time and would definately do this again!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Thanks so much for reviewing your stay aboard Gloria. I'm really glad your first narrowboat trip was a success. xx Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing