We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Boat - Personal Service”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worsley, Salford, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alan c
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super Boat - Personal Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hester, who runs Star has two boats Gloria and Queenie, We hired Queenie a 50ft narrowboat. The booking process was easy, I talked to a real person (Hester) on the phone and made our arrangements. A unique feature of Star is that there are no fixed hire periods. You can hire for one day or one month or anywhere in between. Queenie is only a year old and is beautifully turned out. One of her best features is the wonderful wide doulble bed, we have hired a lot of boats over the years and beds are usually pretty cramped, no such problem here. To keep you warm in autumn/winter there is a coal burning stove, very cosy. Star are situated on the Bridgewater canal at Boothstown Marina about nine miles from Manchester City centre. This location offers the novice boater around forty miles of lock free cruising or for the more experienced the challenging Cheshire ring circuit ninty seven miles and ninty two locks. Hester is the most helpful boat operator we have ever had the pleasure of dealing with, even offering to come out and help us with the Rochdale 9 locks in Manchester City centre on our first day. Hire with confidence from Star Narrow Boats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The wonderful Penine Canals
Liked least: The Rochdale Nine, hard work, but worthwhile!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Alan (and Cathy), wow that is some review from you who have been boating for longer than I have been alive!!! Thanks for your great review and I'm really glad you enjoyed completing the Cheshire Ring. Thank you for looking after ‘Queenie’ so well and for the nightly updates whilst on your travels. All the best, Hester.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazmar201...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend break”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We hired Gloria (narrowboat) for the bank holiday weekend. Our first time in a narrowboat. Arrived at tea-time Friday and stayed overnight on the boat at the Marina. After some excellent tuition from Hester on Saturday morning we set off for Lymm (no locks on this route) and approx 5.5 hours so easily managed in a day. We had a lovely relaxing journey down to Lymm, taking in the scenery en-route and arrived around 4.30pm. We moored up about 1/2 mile before Lymm as there was a turning point just ahead that we could use to turn round the following morning to head back to the Marina. We walked along the canal path into Lymm which was quite busy with lots of moored boats so a good decision to moor up where we did. We had a meal at The Spread Eagle and then went to the Golden Fleece and sat outside with drinks by the canal watching the sun go down. Gloria is a lovely narrowboat, very clean, comfy bed, warm and cosy. Excellent for a nice relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle. You can even moor up outside the Trafford Centre if you fancy a spot of shopping without queueing in traffic. We didnt stop there but there were 2 boats moored up when we sailed past. We had a fantastic time and would definately do this again!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Thanks so much for reviewing your stay aboard Gloria. I'm really glad your first narrowboat trip was a success. xx Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antignac2
Dehesa de Campoamor, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You Just Have to Try this!”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed on the GLORIA narrowboat and cruised the canals around Manchester, Sale, Lymm and Wigan. This boat is amazing. Comfortable and a home from home with everything you need to make it a happy experience. Clean, well maintained and a delight to stay on.
The proprietor, Hester, is an ambassador for narrowboat companies and if only all ownerrs could be so helpful, friendly and understanding! I recommend this company and it two boats to anyone who wants a good experience on the canals. Simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling so at ease and comfortable whilst cruising.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2015
Ian, thanks for your lovely review. Great to see you for hire number 3 aboard 'Gloria'. Best wishes and see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs and mr”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Queenie 1/6/15 - 3/5/15. Our first experience on a narrowboat and it was brilliant. Would highly recommend people to give it a try. The inside of the boat was lovely and cosy and had everything we needed for our 2 night break. Seen some lovely views as we sailed along and would definitely do it again in the future. Thankyou to Hester for your great words of advice

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandP S
Shufflesfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No hesitations”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a fab set up. Reluctant to leave a review as it will more than likely stack the odds for our next sanity fix - so this is for you Hester. And thank you. Randomly, fun, romantic, sun, drizzle, freedom, stimulated grey matter (in a nice gentle way) photographically boat loads, enjoyed the stillness chugging along, Queenie a lovely accommodating boat, fresh air, good people along the way, permenant waggy tail on dog, loads of space (filled with stuff not touched) and hell will never freeze over when the fire is stoked up! P, L and Fendog

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freedom
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susojan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A first class experience in first class accommodation”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four adults sailed in 'Gloria' for four days along the Bridgewater Canal. We had perfect weather which was the icing on the cake! The boat is very comfortable and fully equipped; the furnishings are well cared for and really clean; there is a full size shower and the on-board toilet is easy to manage - no mess! We were surprised at the amount of room to move about inside the boat. Hester gave clear instructions on how to handle to boat and tips about the best places to stop and visit. We sailed through Worsley, Sale, Altringham, Dunham, Moore, Higher Walton and past Daresbury, through the 1239 yard long tunnel at Preston Brook then the mini 'stop lock' at Dutton before turning round; a couple of stunning aqueducts completed the excitement! The wildlife along the canal was amazing - we saw a heron fishing, all kinds of finches, massive frogs and even a leaping fish! There are numerous lovely country pubs along the way and various sights and villages to spend time in if you don't want to sail all day long. A truly excellent experience for us novice narrow boaters - I fear that we have the bug though and will probably be back to do a different stretch of the canal system - this time with some locks to add extra challenge!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly no-fuss handover at each end of the rental
Liked least: Giving the boat back!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review all 4! Would love to have you back and you will be most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitorSo...
south tyneside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT RELAXING STAY”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Having boated before this was one of the best experiences to date. We had a wonderful Easter break cruising up and down the canal, The weather on our first day was overcast but for the rest of the holiday it was brilliant. i would highly recommend Star Narrowboats as the service we received from Hester and Dave was first class. i will definetely be booking again in the future. Thank you again Star Narrowboats for making our holiday. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing and friendly people on route
Liked least: great british weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Thank you for reviewing us, I'm glad the boat behaved well for you. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing