We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A first class experience in first class...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worsley, Salford, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susojan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A first class experience in first class accommodation”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four adults sailed in 'Gloria' for four days along the Bridgewater Canal. We had perfect weather which was the icing on the cake! The boat is very comfortable and fully equipped; the furnishings are well cared for and really clean; there is a full size shower and the on-board toilet is easy to manage - no mess! We were surprised at the amount of room to move about inside the boat. Hester gave clear instructions on how to handle to boat and tips about the best places to stop and visit. We sailed through Worsley, Sale, Altringham, Dunham, Moore, Higher Walton and past Daresbury, through the 1239 yard long tunnel at Preston Brook then the mini 'stop lock' at Dutton before turning round; a couple of stunning aqueducts completed the excitement! The wildlife along the canal was amazing - we saw a heron fishing, all kinds of finches, massive frogs and even a leaping fish! There are numerous lovely country pubs along the way and various sights and villages to spend time in if you don't want to sail all day long. A truly excellent experience for us novice narrow boaters - I fear that we have the bug though and will probably be back to do a different stretch of the canal system - this time with some locks to add extra challenge!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly no-fuss handover at each end of the rental
Liked least: Giving the boat back!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review all 4! Would love to have you back and you will be most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitorSo...
south tyneside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT RELAXING STAY”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Having boated before this was one of the best experiences to date. We had a wonderful Easter break cruising up and down the canal, The weather on our first day was overcast but for the rest of the holiday it was brilliant. i would highly recommend Star Narrowboats as the service we received from Hester and Dave was first class. i will definetely be booking again in the future. Thank you again Star Narrowboats for making our holiday. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing and friendly people on route
Liked least: great british weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Thank you for reviewing us, I'm glad the boat behaved well for you. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“SO RELAXING. WONDERFUL LITTLE BREAK”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had the use of 'Queenie' from 10am day one to 2pm day two & I have to say it was the probably the most relaxing & enjoyable 28 hours I have had in many years. I was very lucky to have been gifted this little trip by a friend who came along to keep me company. It was her first time on a boating break & I can say that she is now as enthusiastic as I am to do it all again, but for longer.
The owner, Hester, is a truly lovely person who greeted us as though we had know her for years. She gave us a very comprehensive tour of 'Queenie', showing us where everything was & how everything works. Her supervision & boat handling tuition was clear, professional & very enjoyable. Hester gave us lots of little tips & helpful advice which made our time even better than I could have imagined.
'Queenie' is a new boat & is excellently set out & maintained.
The kitchen, sorry, galley, has everything you will need for preparing your meals - a good oven, grill & 4 ring hob - a good sized fridge - all the utensils, cutlery & crockery is to hand, including some little useful extras. The hot & water supply works immediately, so no having to boil a kettle to wash the dishes.
The lounge space is cosy with 2 very comfy reclining armchairs, a very efficient coke fired stove (a great place to keep the kettle hot) & a TV (with dvd player).
The loo, or 'heads' as the Americans say, has an efficient flushing cassette system, good sized wash bowl & a shower that is much larger than I thought it would be. Again, the hot water supply is immediate & efficient. Towels, loo rolls, a spare cassette & hand soap were all provided. Oh, & if you are worried about the cassette system, don't. It is very effective & easy to change etc should the need arise. No nasty smells.
The bedroom area, at the bow end, has a very comfy & surprisingly large double bed with all bedding provided. The bed is fixed so there is none of that having to open the bed from the wall messing about that I have had to deal with on other boats. There is a wardrobe for safe storage of clothing & any bags you may have brought with. It saves having a cluttered walkway.
The bow area is adequate for 2 people to sit comfortably whilst enjoying the views - & perhaps a glass or two of something pleasant.
Handling 'Queenie' was, thanks to the excellent tuition from Hester, very simple. Easy to use engine controls & the tiller steering is simple to learn & get used to.
The whole of the boat is presented in a very clean & well loved condition.
Hester, you are a very lovely person & your 'Queenie' is fantastic

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxation of cruising
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Thanks both for your lovely review and thanks too for looking after the boat so well. I take it as a big compliment that you have already booked your second hire and I shall see you again in 5 weeks time. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Weekend EVER!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Star Narrowboats is awesome! We hired Queenie for two nights in February and had the best time. We had never even stepped on a narrow boat before, but the boat was simple and easy to handle and the instructions we got before setting off were thorough and reassuring. The instruction are all in a manual on the boat but we didn't need to look at them - the boat lesson we got from Hester before we set off was enough.
The marina is ideally situated to get to either Manchester or more rural destinations; we got as far as the Rivr Bollin aqueduct (which has stunning views) then turned round and headed back. We moored up in Sale one night which is great if you need to pick up supplies but the guide books (provided) give details on Louis all along the canal.
And now the boat.... I didn't want to give it back! Queenie is stunning: full kitchen (four hobs, grill, oven), drinking water, hot and powerful shower (better than most hotels!), full size double bed with luxurious bedding... The list goes on! But the best bit is the attention to detail...the coal burner was started, the storage solutions were brill... There were even ice cubes in the freezer!
I could go on, but I think I've covered the best bits. Amazing price for all of the stuff I've mentioned... Just book

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Thanks Christine for your great review of Queenie, I'm glad you enjoyed the hire and it was good to meet you both. Maybe I'll see you again one day, Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbiiT
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Narrowboat experience was even batter than our expectations, and they were high to begin with!”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booking with StarNarrowboat holidays was easy. As soon as contact was made with Hester, through her website and via email, it was an extremely personal and individual service. Her approachfullness, help/advice/instruction and persona was thoroughly reassuring and more-than just useful.
We were lucky enough to book Queenie from 31st December - 2nd January. She is new to the waterways herself and since it was our first time on a canal it meant that the three of us had novice expertise only.
No problems though!
Queenie is a lovely little craft; clean, cute, (VERY) cosy and, thankfully, compliant!. We didn't have any difficulties putting into practice all the advise and instructions that Hester had, so adequately, given us in the lesson prior to "going alone".
If the measure of this adventure depended on the cruising distance we managed to achieve, then it wouldn't amount to much, because, in reality, you don't get to go too far per hour. But rather, we rated our New Year break by the amount of pleasure we got from
-doing something new,
-working as a team (Captain and First Mate!) especially each time we moored or cast off,
-the friendly greetings from other canal users.... on the water and on the tow path, as we passed,
-the cosines, comfort and spech' of the galley down below,
-managing the solid fuel burner,
-mastering the required maneuvres at the winding holes in order to change direction,
-being wrapped up against the rain, the cold and the wind as we made our way up the canal,
-mooring for the night..... and then settling down in the ambiance of Queenie.
All-in-all, it was BRILLIANT and if we could give more than a five star rating, we would..... well we do; its five from him and five from her = ten!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2015
Thanks Debbie for your kind and very comprehensive review of Queenie, I have a big smile on my face! Thanks too for taking care of the boat and I'm really glad you enjoyed your new year. Hope to meet you both again sometime, Hester.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleanor c
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I booked Queenie for my partner and i to stay on for his birthday. We had such a fantastic time! so much so we are now intending on buying our own boat! the boat was so comfortable and cosy. the lesson was extremely helpful and easy to understand we were on our way to cruising in no time! I would recomend this highly, and would definatley do it again!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2015
Lovely to meet you Ellie and thanks so much for your review of Queenie. Send me some photos when you get your boat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna1403...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful memorable experience!”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Four ladies and a canal boat. Needless to say we were a little intimidated but with reassurance and calm and precise instruction from Hester, we were just fine. I would strongly recommend Gloria as a wonderful, clean, warm and inviting experience to groups or couples. Despite the pouring rain, we had the most wonderful time. :) not one negative, just great fun, outdoors, fresh air and a lovely zone in which to chill out. Go for it!!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thanks for leaving your review Donna. You didn't seem intimidated by the prospect of taking charge of the boat and in fact you were ace!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing