We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great narrowboat adventure on board Gloria”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worsley, Salford, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bostarup
Naestved, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great narrowboat adventure on board Gloria”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Gloria for 22 days starting June 20th.
We had planned an adventurious round trip from Glorias base, via The Huddersfield narrow and Standedge Tunnel to Leeds. On the way back we travelled via the Leeds an Liverpool Canal. All in all 222 locks in three weeks!!!!!!

Narrowboat Gloria lived up to our expectations, and it was very clear that Owner Hester, had done a beautiful job refurbishing the boat. It was a hireboat with soul very unlike the majority of hireboats.

Lots of space for the two of us, but also ample room for four.

We travelled a lot and Gloria performed very well all the time. We did not have any problems with the boat, during our holiday.

We will be happy to recommend Gloria to coming guests.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Prompt reaction to questions before our holiday
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2013
Thanks for posting your review Bo. It was lovely to meet both you and Gina. I am glad the boat behaved well for you during your epic journey! Best wishes H.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyManch
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nights out with Gloria”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We (myself, wife and adult daughter) hired Gloria for two and a half days in June for my birthday.
We had had plenty of time to prepare as we had originally booked for January but the trip was cancelled at the last minute due to the canal freezing.
Anyway, the weather was much more amenable to boating in June although the heavens opened a couple of times on one of the days. Also in June we saw lots of ducklings, goslings and cygnets.

We booked an extra three hours on the last day so that we would be able to cruise back from Lymm on the last day, arriving back at two.
The boat is wonderful. Although it is not a new craft, there is lots of evidence that she is carefully maintained and looked after. Gloria really feels like an owner's boat rather than a hire boat with lots of little personal touches.
We had no intention of using the galley services, other than for brewing up and making sausage and bacon sandwiches for breakfast, but we were really impressed by the range and quality of the kitchen equipment provided. There are lots of pans, crockery and cutlery, even a garlic press.
Having never sailed a 57 ft narrowboat before, we appreciated the introductory lesson to the boat and, despite few interesting moments on our first day, it was easy to pick it up and I was really enjoying handling the boat by the second day.
The boat was more than adequate for the three of us with plenty of space and facilities. Hester provides a selection of games, books TV and DVD's although with so much to do and so little time, I only had chance to take a peek.
After picking up the boat, we stopped at Monton for lunch. We had intended to eat at the Waterside but it was closed. However a short walk into Monton and there are a few pubs, cafes and restaurants. We had a lovely lunch at Felicini's. Their lunchtime specials are fantastic at £4 and the service was really quick http://www.felicini-monton.co.uk/.

We headed out to Bollington and moored overnight at Ye Olde Number 3 and ate at the Swan with Two Nicks which was OK then walked back for a few excellent beers at the No 3. After our first day we settled very nicely into our very comfortable beds and had a great nights sleep.
The following day we had a short walk and headed into Lymm where we easily found a mooring. We later found out that we were just next to a path which led to an underbridge which took you immediately into the middle of town.
Lymm is a treasure with lots of nice places to eat and drink, lots of photo opportunities and we really enjoyed our stay there.
The following morning we set off at 8.00am and it was beautiful cruising through the peaceful scenery with the birds singing. we moored up for breakfast then carried on with the weather improving as the day went on.

It really was fantastic with there being something interesting to see at all times. Hester is a fantastic person to deal with, she is really committed to ensuring that you have the best possible experience.
I would love to do this again and I am sure that we will be back for more.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal nature of the hire.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
Well, eventually the canal defrosted and you got your trip...good to see that you now have the bug for narrowboating Tony. I love the photo's. Thanks and all the best. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M
Oldham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The stuff of dreams”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our friend Carolyn from Australia has dreamed for twenty one years of cruising the British canal system so when she asked us to take the responsibilty of booking the trip prior to her visit we had to be sure we got it right we could afford no mistakes that would disappoint her.
We chose Star after talking with Hester. Hester's priority seemed to be that we had a good time and she did her utmost to ensure we did. "Gloria" was very well equipped boat with everything we could desire to ensure a great holiday.
We were fully briefed on how everything worked and taken on a test drive to ensure we were familiar with everything. Although the three of us have sailing experience we found this to be very helpful and confidence boosting as it is some time since any of us three "coffin dodgers" had been on a boat.
The whole trip was a pleasure and the reassurance that Hester ws at the end of the phone should we need assistance was very comforting. As it happened we didn't need help and found everything in very good order with comfortable beds and a well equipped galley.
Thanks Hester you made a dream come true for our dear friend and made our first canal experience very enjoyable.
Luv & hugz,
Tony

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The boat was as advertised and reasonably priced.
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2013
How lovely that 'Gloria' has been part of Carolyn's 'around the world tour'! Thanks for your review Tony and I am glad that the boat met your expectations. Welcome back anytime and maybe you could try some locks?
Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janino5
1 review
“Glorious Gloria!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had the boat for 3 nights- boat exceeded my expectations- clean, well-kept & fully equipped.. Hester (owner) was welcoming & extremely helpful. Boat fully explained to us on arrival- lesson given on how to drive boat, which gave my hubby the confidence to be the allocated driver!! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the trip towards Lymm & helped out as much as thy could- we moored up at sale, beautiful atmosphere near the bridge. Spent some time at the Trafford centre. Cycled along the canal & to some local parks & sale water-park. Can't wait to visit again xx

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2013
It was great to meet you all and I really like your photo's. I will put the torch in the post on Tuesday (Bank Holiday and all that).
You are all welcome back anytime. Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan...
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“Four Nights in February”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Had a very enjoyable trip in "Gloria" with my daughter and her two friends. The boat is very well-equipped and maintained with a homely feel lacking in some other hire-boats. The coal-burning stove is a great asset and kept everyone warm despite it being February.
Hester is very helpful and her guidance is simple and clear.
I heartily recommend a trip on 'Gloria" to all including first-timers who should have no trouble handling her.
We'll be back!!!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim b
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We booked "Gloria" to have a quiet weekend getaway in Manchester and everything exceeded our expectations. The boat was very clean and well maintained, the bathroom and shower was excellent. It was a freezing cold weekend and the boat was beautifully warm with the small coal fire. We didn't leave the boat to explore Manchester at all. The bed was so comfortable that a lie in was the order of the day, every day.

Hester was extremely helpful and only a text or call away.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great getaway on a cosy boat”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away on Gloria. The boat is clean, well-equip for cooking and very comfortable to stay on. Even during the evenings when it became quite chilly outside, the coal stove inside gave out plenty of heat to keep the boat nice and cosy throughout the night.

The owner Hester, gave us some great pointers with how to get started and made sure we knew absolutely everything we needed to know about the boat and its operation. We were given a canal map-book and took a sedate cruise down towards Lymm.

It's a fantastic boat and a great escape - I would highly recommend a trip away with Star Narrowboats.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2013
I am really glad you both had a good few days and that the boat was warm enough for you. Best wishes Hester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing