We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss”
Review of Barton Arms

Barton Arms
Ranked #19 of 27 Restaurants in Worsley
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Tend to go here a couple of times a month and the food and service seems to vary so much. One week the service and food are excellent and next visit you can wait a while before being served and food tends to be mediocre. When it is nearly full the service can be a bit slow so going midweek helps. Lighting can be a bit dim in certain areas so choose your table carefully. Still worth a visit for the choice of beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bill y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    68
    55
    47
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Christmas Day”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The family celebrated Christmas Day at the Barton Arms, there were nine of us in the party and we all enjoyed the day the meal was beautiful and really hot, everything was really well organised the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Met with husband and daughter here today at lunch time .
First time with them , but have been on numerous times with work colleagues .
Always had good service , only had one very poor meal years ........ ago so will not let that spoil the review .
We had no starters but mains and drinks , very good service , polite and attentive staff , well priced .
Very nice inside and will go again and recommend to others .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YORKSHIRE123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family Xmas Dinner”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited this gastro pub for a big family get together. Having read some of the previous reviews we were interested to see how our visit would go. We had 18 in our party. Our waitress introduced herself and said she would be looking after us. We were given a large corner of a room. Plenty of space for us. We had all pre ordered from the Xmas menu. Unfortunately the beef Wellington was off as they had been let down by a supplier but we were all offered a reasonable substitute. The pub itself is lovely with big fireplaces and lots of separate eating areas so you don't feel overcrowded. My husband felt that the bar service was slow, the barman made no eye contact and it wouldn't have taken him a second to acknowledge that he'd seen that he was waiting and speak to him. They needed extra staff on especially as it was the Saturday before Xmas and very busy indeed. Our starters came very quickly. I had the terrine. The portions were very small but the terrine itself was lovely. My mum had the baked Brie which looked very tasty. Our mains all came along pretty quickly. With 18 people the waitress did very well. Our pulled beef pie was delicious though the pastry crust was a bit hard and the parsnips were shrivelled and over crispy. Overall the standard of the food was ok. The main problem was the desserts. Mine was chocolate and caramel cheesecake which was divine but I was lucky. I got my dessert about 20 minutes before some of our party. Eventually the Eton Mess arrived. The waitress was very apologetic and said we would not be charged for them and it was an unacceptable wait. Other than that little glitch the food was fine. £14.95 for three courses was pretty good value. The standard of the toilets was reasonable. One hand drier didn't work and the toilets needed checking more frequently. Overall though I think that you get value for money at this pub. Our food was acceptable. It was hot and our waitress gave good service.

Helpful?
1 Thank WirralLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Poor food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a lovely place this is , it has a very nice warm atmosphere , but after eating Sunday lunch here twice we won't risk it again. The Yorkshire puddings are frozen and the cauliflower was white mush . The beef had lots of horrible gristle. My husband had fish and chips which he said was delicious. This proves that this lovely place needs a proper chef because anyone could stick something in to a deep fat fryer.
The waiter is friendly but the service is so so slow.
We live very near to this pub and would love to use it more. We did consider Christmas lunch there but that could be a disaster.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton Arms also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Worsley, Salford
 

Been to Barton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing