We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One meal fine one average at best”
Review of Cock Hotel

Cock Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Restaurants in Worsley
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“One meal fine one average at best”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Mrs DTK had the surf and turf which was fine. I had the steak pie which was on the two for £9 section but was over a fiver on its own. School dinner mash, overcooked peas and a few bits of chewy meat! Saying that both meals were piping hot, cheap and tasty.
Pleasant enough decor and staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVETheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    48
    36
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leigh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Went here as we seen the two main courses for £9, it's a pub with a section for eating reasonable choice on menu for the two for £9 you don't really see the staff to order your food you have to go to the bar, we went on a Sunday not realising we would catch the end of the footy and it was very loud a lot of banter from the pub side I had fish and chips it was okay it was like at home when u put a frozen fish fillet in the oven with chips it okay for the price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank braderz2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food is very good value for money, fresh, hot, well cooked and plentiful. The lady behind the bar was lovely. The place was busy but they must have a great system as the wait was minimal. All the food I saw being brought out of the kitchen looked as good as mine.All around I saw customers really enjoying their food. The menu has something for everyone........well worth a visit if you like good honest food at a reasonable price

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gillypins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped at The Cock in Worsley on our way back from a weekend in York, and wanted to try somewhere different so saw the pub and stopped.

First thing to note is that the car park was busy and there were quite a few people coming and going. The Cock is a large pub with a lot of TV screens as it is catering for sports fans. Although busy we had no problem getting a table, which a member of staff immediately came over to clear and clean for us.

Good selection on the menu and the prices were great. There was a selection of mains which were 2 for £9, but my partner had the sunday lunch which was £4.50 and I had pie and mash which was £5.30. Service was good and we didn't have to wait long for our meals. The prices for the desserts was also really good starting at £1.99, and generally between £2-3. We were full after the main course so didn't sample a dessert on this occasion.

Staff were very friendly, food and atmosphere was great and would definitely consider a return visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were staying in Marriott Hotel just up the road and decided we would have a meal there as it was offering great deals. We ended up getting 2 meals and 2 drinks for just over £12.00. A good size portion also. Well worth the price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bess15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock Hotel also viewed

 
Warrington, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Worsley, Salford
 

Been to Cock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing