We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping by”
Review of The John Gilbert

The John Gilbert
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Worsley
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Pub, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth stopping by”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had two portions of fish and chips in John Gilbert. The first time we tried to go there, the pub was so full of people and loud that we decided to return next day. I'm glad we did, because the atmosphere was 'very British' is you're looking for that kind of experience. The food was okay; nothing special but you need to try fish and chips at least once, right?

The pub seemed very popular and was crowded every evening, but luckily we found a booth and didn't have to queue when decided to stop by. Our waitress was lovely and we have nothing to complain. If you're staying at Novotel, you probably end up trying this place because there are few bars and restaurants around the hotel. The atmosphere is loud in the British way, the location in beautiful and prices are reasonable; I think this pub is worth stopping by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    102
    96
    53
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level 6 Contributor
697 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Compare and Contrast”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cheaper and better than the Novotel if you're staying next door. Better than the Barton since it changed management. Far nicer ambience than the Bridgewater which seems still to have lost its soul. So for Worsley village, this seems the best offering.

We had lunch for a party of seven and wouldn't fault it. Service was reasonably good (well I left a tip!) and the range of food and drinks was extensive. Yes it's typical conveyor belt food but it fills a space at reasonable (but not give-away) prices.

It's a bit disconcerting to see the huge variance in reviews here. Fair do - we had a good experience and will give it another go. Also good parking and great location if visiting Worsley. Located immediately adjacent to the junction 13 slip road off the M60/62.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, reasonable prices and good range of food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate here twice while staying at the adjacent Novotel.Found it a relaxing place to eat with pretty good food at very good prices and much cheaper and more comfortable than eating where were were staying.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveyJUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best roast dinner!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was the best roast dinner i have ever had at a pub before, i would highly recommend it to anyone :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leesmarketplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Friendly staff and plenty of choice on the menu. Usual pub favourites as well as some more unusual dishes. Tables were cleared and cleaned promptly which is always a good sign. Food was very good and reasonably priced as were the drinks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buttercup005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The John Gilbert also viewed

 
Worsley, Salford
 
Worsley, Salford
Worsley, Salford
 

Been to The John Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing