We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go if you are vegetarian”
Review of The Woodside

The Woodside
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Worsley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Woodside in Worsley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dont go if you are vegetarian”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

terrible choice for vegetarians, so few to choose from, I had the vegetarian roast, the veg lovely the potatoes lovely the thing that was ment to be vegetarian roast, was the most disgusting thing I have ever eaten, hard around edges, and mushy in middle yuk yuk yuk, wont be back, meat eaters in the party ate ok, but said it wasnt spectacular, Big improvements are needed here for me to return, and there are far better pub resturants in the area,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    153
    92
    49
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over Priced !!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went to this pub last night for the first time and very disappointed. The waitress was a delight though. The starters were minute yet expensive but tasty.

I ordered plaice and was horrified to receive it not filletted . I have dined all over the world and have never been given plaice on the bone!!!! It had a couple of very dried out prawns on top and in all was completely tasteless ---- I left practically all of it after trying to get rid of all the bones DISGUSTING . If it is to be served unfilletted then the customer should be told and have the chance to choose something else if they wish Will NOT go there again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casdas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our family visit to the Woodside for Sunday Lunch. Good quality reasonably priced food, good service and nice atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service, small portion”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been several times to this pub and it has always been great food and service.
The portion of tuna fish I got last time was really tiny. It was only half of what you would normally get. The quality of the food was good and the atmosphere was great. The staff was very friendly

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romain_schepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Local Pub”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have visited this Vintage Inns pub on many occasions and find it to be the best in our area of Worsley. Stuart and his team always greet us warmly and we often see the same locals coming back, as we do. The food here is very good and consistent. We were lucky enough to get a table for New Year's Eve (you have to book well in advance) and as the previous year it was great. Would definitely recommend this pub if you are in the area. However, at weekends you are better booking a table beforehand if you are dining as it does get busy, which is not surprising!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodside also viewed

 
Worsley, Salford
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Woodside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing