We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Horizon Royal
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed as a couple in one of the superior rooms overlooking the hotel's private beach and Kalithea Springs, so the view from the balcony was beautiful.

Our arrival was very late, perhaps around 11pm so we were pleasantly surprised to find that there was food laid on in the restaurant well after it had closed. The usual eating arrangements for breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent. The variety and quality of the food was excellent (considering that this was a buffet arrangement). The drinks were of course local but all of good quality, the cocktails were very popular.

Entertainment each evening varied, with our favourite being the Beatles tribute band. Overall the whole place was extremely relaxing, which was the reason for our visit. I cannot remember coming across any unhelpful or unpleasant staff.

My only slight criticism is that the outdoor gym comprised of 3 decrepit pieces of equipment that nobody in their right mind would attempt to use. There was a lovely inside gym that was well equipped but there was a charge of about 6 euros I believe for a visit, so inevitably it was empty. This is something that I have always found to be part of all-inclusive and I find much needed to counter all those calories we consume in excess on holiday.

On the whole I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to my friends and family and will certainly return at some point provided the hotel maintains its standards.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have some kind of sea-view but the ones overlooking the beach are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pcsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,796)
There are newer reviews for Kalithea Horizon Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

WOW!! Stayed for a week all inclusive in October and could not fault anything. There are 2 hotels on the same site, but you can use the facilities of both. Staff are very helpful and always smiling. The food is delicious, with plenty of choice. Both restaurants of equal quality (better than some 5 star hotels that I have stayed at). There are 3 pool areas, each with a bar. One of the most stunning views from one of the pools. The water at the beach is crystal clear and was warm even at the beginning of November (good for snorkeling). Bus stops on the road outside the hotel. 10 minute ride to Faliraki and approx 20 minutes to Rhodes town, where the trips depart from. A great hotel for families or couples. One of the most relaxing places I have ever been to.....I would definitely recommend this for a chill out! If you are looking for a more active holiday, I would recommend hiring a car, as there is nothing within walking distance.
Would definitely return in the future

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank EmmaJM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I reiterate the previous few reviews which were probably guests at the same time as we were, had a very enjoyable 2 weeks for half term and the week before.
Hotel really is exceptional and possibly the best All Inclusive we have stayed in - food plentiful and a wide range, drinks whatever you want not just local beers and wines. We were in 834 which over looked the pool and was by the Mythos bar. Nothing was too much trouble from the staff, excellent welcome from the manager and a rose and a bottle of Ouzo on departure, its obvious they have customer service very high on their priorities. There is a charge of 2euros for half hours wifi, however frankly travelling with teenagers it was fab not to have them plumbed in at every opportunity.
Agree that in walking distance there isnt much, we hired a car for a few days and toured the island. Kalithea Springs is just lovely and we spent a few days there, fantastic snorkelling as it is from the beach near the hotel too.
Would definitely return without a doubt

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at this hotel after midnight to be greeted by a very welcoming man who told us we had all been up-graded to superior rooms for free, thats if you diddnt have one already.
We were then taken to our rooms via mini bus and told food had been put on for us all in one of the resteraunts which was very kind of them.
Nothing was too much trouble all the staff were very frindly, rooms were big and spacious had a wonder full view of the pool and see, we were in room 836.
Cleaners were efficient and even left a couple of presents on my 14 yr old sons bed one been a t-shirt and the next day a lollipop.
Cleopatra and Poppi in the mythos bar were very friendly and Dimitra whom was in the bar upstairs in reception so friendly and always had time to have chat.( Hope you get a holiday with some snow this yr Dimitra) I know you read these :)
The hotel is very big and you can use facilities of both hotel Kalithea horizon and Kalithea mare. The pools are very cold but once you get in its not so bad, the weather was beautiful and sunny every day. The hotel was closing down and this was its last week but you wouldnt have known other than the odd sun bed been taken away for staorage untill next yr.
You often saw the owner out and about and its obvious he takes great pride in his hotel, hes very friendly and approachable too, he should be very proud of his staff as they do such and excelleny job and work long hours. This hotel definatly deserves the up grade its getting next yr in the holiday brouchure.
The food was excellent plenty to choose from, they even have a barbaque every night which we diddnt know about untill the 4th night, this should be advertised more as you have to go threw the resteraunt and down some steps to get to it, they also had a chef cooking down there too we had curry one night which was very nice and chilli tacos too, this really needs to be highlighted more because if there was just one thing to complain about it would be that the food was never very hot and we diddnt realze they had a microwave on the kids section untill the last day. They should have some lids over their food to keep it warm. The resteraunt managers at both resteraunts were very nice in fact the food at the top resteraunt was warmer because it was inside.
Theres not many places to walk outside the hotel but you can get to Rhodes town by bus right outside the hotel which only takes about 15 mins to get to and its well worth a visit especially at night in the old town when all the shops and resteraunts are lit up. You can get to Faliraki too and Lindos too All worth a visit.
All in all this was a wonderful holiday and has many returning guests yr after yr and we most certainly will be one of them, so you could be right Dimitra you will see us again

Thanks Kalithea horizon royal for making us fell so welcome and for giving us such a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just spent a lovely week in the Kalithea Horizon Royal and came away feeling well and truly relaxed.
From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were treated extremely well, the hotel staff including the waiters, bar staff, cleaners and entertainment team were very friendly and could not do enough for us the whole week. After arriving on Saturday we realised on Wednesday that we hadnt spent a single penny.. Everything we could have wanted was included in the All Inclusive package, this included every cocktail we could think of, there was no extra add ons for certain things it all came in the AI deal. We ate in the Athena restaurant every night and there was plenty of choice for all tastes. There is another restaurant and an A La Carte to choose from but everything you want is in the Athena. There are several swimming pools to choose from but we found the Mythos pool to be quieter and there were plenty of sun beds. There is a steep incline down to the beach but mini buses are available to take you there throughout the day. There is a variety of evening entertainment in 3 areas so you can take your pick. We would definitely recommend this hotel and as the manager said on our first night, this wont be our last trip there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shaz1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked the hotel very last minute hoping for a cheap, relaxing week of late October sunshine and we were not disappointed. The hotel had all the amenities you could need, decent food and plenty of space.

The staff were efficient rather than attentive but that would be a minor gripe. The food selection was huge although we often found that if you arrived at the 'wrong' time, a large part of the buffet selection would be lukewarm.

Having covered off the small drawbacks we found, I should really emphasise how brilliantly the hotel lends itself to a great holiday. The plot of land it sits on is enormous so you never feel as though you're crowded and the huge number of sun loungers meant there was never a scrum to get prime position. The all inclusive offered cocktails, fruit juices, pastries and ice creams from a variety of pool bars and restaurants throughout the day and your 'branded' drinks at dinner.

A few things to bear in mind:

- Always ask specifically for pepsi/fanta/sprite etc when ordering soft drinks as the default option seemed to be something flat and syruppie which was no good
- Beach towels need to be hired up front for 10 euros each and can be refreshed every 2 days at reception by presenting your receipt. You get the 10 euros back at the end of your stay
- Wifi is about 2 euros for half an hour and works at various points throughout the hotel and by the pools
- Loungers at the beach need to be hired for 2.5 euros a day

One last thing to mention. The all inclusive deal got us one a la carte meal during our stay and it was fantastic. The staff did everything to make that meal as special as they could and it was a great way to round off the holiday.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just come back after a brilliant October half term holiday on AIC basis with First choice. We chose daytime flights and flew from Birmingham on the Saturday afternoon and stayed until the Wednesday of the hotels last week returning in the afternoon, . However, you would never have known that the hotel closed on the Saturday. Nowhere was there any sign of standards dropping or food choices being dropped. As everyone else has said, the food was fantastic and having a fussy 14 year old lad to cater for, we were concerned that there would be nothing for him to eat but we need not have worried. They even have a kids area with pizza and burgers if the main servings don’t tempt
.
Plenty of variety every night and loads of fresh fruit and salads. lots of friendly staff clearing away and bringing the free drinks to your table if you wish but never any issue in getting a table or feeling you were being rushed at either breakfast or dinner. Sea temperature was still 24 degrees in late October and we spent hours snorkelling in the bay around d the hotel which has lots of rocky and sandy areas with loads of fish and octopus to see. Sea depth is a respectable 3 to 6 metres quite close to the shore so you can be straight in diving I wouldn't recommend non swimming youngsters in the sea without supervision though as you can be quickly out of your depth, although we never experienced any undercurrents or rip tides due to the sheltered location of the bay.
The location is however away from walking distance from any other locations and is mid point from both Faliraki and Rhodes town so you need to have a hire car / taxi or use the local bus service that runs between Faliraki and Rhodes town stopping outside the hotel both ways. Cost is 2 1/2 euros each single for either destination taking about 10 mins each way. Buses run on a 20 minute loop up and down between the two towns although they don’t seem to stick to the timetable. Unlike in the UK, taxis constantly stop at the bus stops or as you are walking as well offering deals if you get bored with the wait.
We used the buses a number of times and also hired a car from Firstchoice who use Budget. It worked out at £30 a day for a Punto over 4 days which seems to be the going rate. There is also a local hire company based in hotel reception, and speculative taxis also wait outside reception
Driving is an interesting experience with speed limits ignored especially by taxis , along often with red traffic lights, and as with mainland Greece, motorcyclists rarely where any protection or helmets and dodge in and out of traffic so beware. There are however some fantastic roads over the hillier central areas through the forests where you rarely meet another vehicle for miles and just the odd traditional village.
Rhodes is known for wall to wall sunshine and with 11 days of continual blue sky, the temperatures in October were about right and just about bearable when driving with the windows open on the car without needing the aircon although it could still be hot walking about, although relaxing by the pools or in the sea were fine. Not sure I would want to be there in 35 degree plus temperatures in the summer though.

The hotel rooms and grounds are spotless and there is a permanent team maintaining the immaculate grounds and gardens around the complex as well as other team members running shuttle buses up and down the short hill to the private beach
The only down side, and it is a minor point is lack of WiFI other than in the reception or downstairs under the other restaurant and have to be paid for at 2.50 euros for 30 minutes. Although Rhodes town has free WIFI throughout , as does the McDonalds at Faliraki. If you need to get emails etc. Also the rooms only have BBC world news and CNN as English TV which is frustrating at night if you have to stay in, which we tended to have to do with our teenager. Sky news or BBC news 24 would at least keep you more in touch. I learnt so much about China and Africa over the holiday!
Would we go again. Yes definitely

Room Tip: We went for the superior which gave a brilliant sea view and safe was included and I believe more sp...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaplefordRailway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.3 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Horizon Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Horizon Royal

Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: $140 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalithea Horizon Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 709
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalithea Horizon Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Kalithea
Kalithea Horizon Royal Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing