We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Horizon Royal
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday !”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We got back yesterday from an amazing holiday. The hotel is clean with an army of cleaners and odd job men, cleaning the pool area and looking after the sunbeds. The food is fabulous, lots of choice for everyone, we tried food we have never had before and loved everything. Bobby and Elvis worked tirelessly to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay. Bar staff and restraunt staff were amazing, Stavros, Agapitos, Christos, Irini,and Alexandro made our stay the best! A fantastic holiday in a fantastic hotel, we will be recommending this hotel to everyone and we will definitely be going back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    431
    113
    29
    18
See reviews for
535
828
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fantastic holiday!
Lovely hotel. Staff were all lovely and very polite.
Very clean and food is great (no tummy upsets!) Athena restaurant is best to eat.
We found the Mythos pool had more English people and had more room to breath between the sun beds.
Did not want to come home.
Will be returning.
Down side, must be an early bird to secure sun beds.
And don't get the bus in to town,much too crowded and dangerous!

Room Tip: Must be quite fit and like walking, but hotel do offer a transit service. We travelled with an elder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury. Lancs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Only two aspects made our stay at this hotel less than perfect. One was a horrendous check in experience, when 2 bus loads arrived at the same time, around midnight. There was only one man on reception, so the queue was slow, and then we had to be ferried to the rooms by minibus, because the layout of the hotel's blocks of rooms was so complex that we had to be taken. Not a good start.

Sheer size was the other aspect, as the hotel is spread over a huge area, so big that each evening there were 3 separate entertainment venues operating. The entertainment was reasonable, but the 9 pm start of the main shows made it a bit of a rush for us with our 17 year old slightly disabled granddaughter. Walking longish distances from room to restaurant in the 35 plus temperature was no fun, really. However, I discovered that reception would send a minibus to take us around when needed, which was very helpful - and they were very efficient, too. During the day, the hotel ran a free minibus to and from reception / main restaurant / beach.

The size of the hotel means that there are 2 different pool areas, and our room was by the quieter one, Mythos pool. No difficulty in getting sunbeds, and the Mythos bar / snack bar catered for our needs very well, with tasty and varied snacks that meant we could lunch there with no problem. The staff in this area were friendly, smiling, and helpful, as were the staff throughout the hotel.

As others have said, the food was varied and tasty, and the range of cocktails - even for all-inclusive - was excellent.

Our granddaughter gave the holiday 10/10, despite the walking. I would probably say 9/10, but that's still a high score. The local buses make it cheap and easy to get to Rhodes Town, Faliraki and Lindos, and we had several excursions through Thomson, with the VIP cruise being particularly enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a superior room, which was spacious, with a third (sofa) bed. I don't know what the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

10 out of 10. I travel the world for business and this hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed at.
Key points... 1) Fantastic amenities. Amazing layout of buildings. There are a number of sub buildings each 2 to 4 stories high, each has great sea views. You never seem to be in a crowd. Amenities modern. Air conditioning actually works. Swimming pools to die for. Hotel has sort of sub communities and you can kind of pick your pool or entertainment etc. we never had problems finding place by pool. Amazing service at pool aside bar, plenty of shade. Beach was about 50 m away, a steepish walk though. The garden were incredible, they spoke to me! I love gardening me! Also I saw not one wasp.
2) fantastic staff. I was stunned. Friendly and efficient. They were amazing and kind and went out of their way to help, even when we were waiting to leave. I felt welcomed and was able to relax because of their friendliness.
3) Fantastic food. Loved their restaurants, there are many choices and themes. Greek food won hands down. I have found vegetables and salads that were just incredible.

I am a fussy person. It would be unkind not to say well done to this hotel. Easily surpassed my expectations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bigd191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Food - check out the barbecue and pizzas (incl. vegetarian ones) in the Acropolis restaurant, part of the Athena one. It's a bit hidden away down some steps but you can get food from here and eat it in Athena or eat in the Acropolis itself. Once I found it I just ate here and the kids loved the fresh pizzas.

As always with vegetarian food on AI holidays the chefs can't resist mixing a bit of cut up bacon into the salads and there are precious few main meals. We asked the rep about why the vegetarian food can't be labelled and she said that if the hotel did that then `everyone would eat it' - surely the most ridiculous rep statement ever. She also said that the restaurant manager would never listen to `little old me'. I'm not a vegetarian but two of my party are and I'm going to write to Thomson / First Choice about this.

Games - volleyball by the mythos pool every day except Friday at 10.30 plus they let you play on (the ball is kept in the mythos snack bar). Waterpolo every afternoon at 3 and 3.30 in different pools. Archery at 4 by the mini football pitch. Football at 4.30.No other organised games.

Trips - we went to the waterpark in Faliraki- great fun especially the wet bubble for kids and adults. Did the day boat trip to Symi - a lot longer on the boat than the rep said (there's a surprise) but a really interesting day out. You can swim in the harbour at Symi - round to the left as you head away from the harbour. We swam twice in 4 hours there as it was so hot. Lots of sponges on sale but incredibly expensive as were the drinks in the cafes. We also hired a minibus and drove round the island for a day. Visited the lovely butterfly valley, the long sandy Tsampika beach, beautiful Lindos (all meandering streets and little shops) and Prasonisi beach where the med meets the agean. We managed to swim here but there were a lot of windsurfers and kite surfers so be careful. Amazing to watch them whizzing along though.

What else - beach at the hotel is fantastic for snorkelling by the way - it's not the barrier reef - but lots of fish and some spidery crabs and even a 2ft eel. Always got sunbeds by the Mythos Pool (we wander down at 10.30 after a lie in and a lazy breakfast - isn't this what you're meant to do on holiday all you sad people who ignore the rules and get up at 6a.m. to get your towels down)

Big thank you to Cleopatra in the Mythos Pool bar - not sure how anyone can be so cheerful, friendly and polite all day every day.

And the hotel - spotless, beautiful gardens, great food, big spacious rooms with nice balconies, nice bar in the evening (Safari), lovely beach, incredible views - I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you like the beach ask to be near the mythos pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fabulous hotel, can't fault any of it, from the moment we checked in till the moment we checked out everything was perfect, Room was cleaned everyday the food was amazing with so much choice, the waiters and waitresses, managers, animation team bar tenders even the cleaning staff that sweep the paths were warm pleasant and kind. We don't believe in going back to the same place twice but we will be definitely coming back here. We hired a car with the hotel and it was 40 euros for the day and a trip into Rhodes town or to Falaraki is 10 euros in a taxi if you flag one from outside the hotel. You can go to this hotel with not a penny in your pocket and feel like you have lived like royalty, I don't know if it is my English way but I did expect a catch somewhere and kept asking if things where free, even the resteraunt manager took me right round the resteraunt and booked us in for an al le carte meal and kept telling me you pay nothing in here it is all FREE,
Thank you Kalithea Royal for a truly fantastic holiday, keep up the good work x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamCav2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from an all inclusive 11 night stay at this hotel, The hotel is divided into 2, the kalithea mare, and the horizon.royal. However you can use both with all inclusive,we arrived at 11.30 pm, and were warmly welcomed by the reception staff,escpecially Dimitris who was very funny, We were asked to leave our luggage outside and check in,which was a bit of a worry at first, afterwards we were driven to our room in one of the minibuses.first impression was the place is massive, but to our surprise it was no more than a five minute walk to the reception and the various bars and restaurants we managed to get something to eat and drink before settling down for the night. We stayed in a room overlooking the Mythos pool, and a excellent sea view .Sunbeds were never a problem, there was always plenty available,even at 8.00 in the morning.the room was very spacious with plenty of storage for your clothes,The beds were quite firm, but comfortable, and the pillows were like marshmallows, two on each bed, also we asked for an extra pillow, for the 3rd bed and it was supplied the same day ,they made our pillows at home feel quite hard. And the air conditioning was lovely, as it got very hot in the day, 35 Deg on the Wed.The Mythos pool bar opened at 10.0 clock in the morning until 6 pm at night, there was always plenty of drinks available and snacks all day the cocktails were plenty.,the staff are amazing, cleopatra, and popi,were fantastic and friendly,always serve you with a smile,and very pleasant,there is also an indoor pool as well.Breakfast was served at the Thallasa restaurant which was by reception,always plenty of variety, a full english or continental was always available,mind you there is a bit of a steep climb to the restaurant, but you get used to it. afternoon lunch was served at the Delfina pool.Thallasa Restaurant and the Poseidon pool,Evening lunch was only served at the Poseidon and Thallasa, There was more variety at the Poseidon bar,as they cooked the food in front of you,so it got very busy after 7.00. The daytime activities started an 10.00, and went on till 5.00. Elvis and Bobby were always going round encouraging people to take part, Elvis did the volleyball. and bobby did the aqua gym, around the Mythos pool area,they never pressurised you into it, and were always chatty and freindly.Panda also did Zumba at 1.00 every day.They work really hard as there are 3 different pool areas,they had to do it all 3 times a day at the different pools.Bobby did water polo at 3.30 in the afternoon at the Mythos pool and different times at the others, and Elvis did the archery at 4.00.There were other activities going on like darts,french boules.and soccer.The evening entertainment was varied,they had a magic show at the Safari bar on Thurs night,which was very good,and a mini disco for the kids at 8.00 every night.They had a Greek night on the Friday at the Poseidon bar.The bar staff were also very freindly, a special mention to Savvas,at the Safari bar,He was very hard to beat when it comes to customer service, his cocktails were amazing along with his personality,he was always pleasant and freindly and was really good at his job, then other staff were really friendly as well,sorry i could not remember their names,There is a little train that runs outside the hotel to various parts of Kalithea,morning and night.and there is always a free shuttle bus to the beach and back, A visit to Rhodes old town is worth a visit at night,only 2.50 euros each way, On our departure day, our luggage was picked up in the minibus and dropped us at reception,check out was at 12.00 midday,you can request a late check out, but do it quite early,as you cannot book it, and it was only 25 euros for the room. and that was quite cheap compared to some places.Overall, we cannot fault this place,it was immaculate,the gardens were spotless and well maintained and the service is fantastic,it has a 4 star rating, but you would think it was more like a 5,and would not hesitate to go back there,Take no notice of any snotty reviews and go there!! i would definately recommend it to family or friends, this place is amazing.

Room Tip: Request a room around the Mythos pool area, cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markyjodanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
1,484 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
1,321 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
3.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
2,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Horizon Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Horizon Royal

Property: Kalithea Horizon Royal
Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalithea Horizon Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 709
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalithea Horizon Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Kalithea
Kalithea Horizon Royal Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing