We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing changed in 18 months - still good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalithea Horizon Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Horizon Royal
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Keelby
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nothing changed in 18 months - still good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having spent a week at this hotel in May last year we decided to have two weeks this year in July. I have to be honest and say that nothing had changed really, the staff were still mostly the same and very polite, helpful and cheerful, the food was as good as were the drinks.
I would like to thank the reception team who very rapidly arranged a room change for us, (nothing wrong with the room - just too far away from the main restaurant and pools for my wife who was suffering a bad back and ankle at the time). The whole move was arranged swiftly and smoothly. Very impressive.
The hotel was obviously busier than in May, but the staff coped very well and delays for drinks etc. were minimal.
The only bug bear was the farce over beach towels being put out as early as 3 am to reserve a sun lounger - crazy. The hotel does have signs up saying this is not permitted but do nothing to stop it, we even saw one woman reserve twelve beds in three different parts of the main pools area for her and her three other family members so they could move with the sun!
To sum up, all my previous comments still apply, and this place is as good as ever, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Worth an e-mail to the hotel asking for a room in the blocks closest to the main pools and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funnello13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    431
    113
    29
    18
See reviews for
535
826
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel itself was immaculate. Beautiful grounds. Clean bedroom. Make sure to bring bug repellent.

The grounds were big but not as big as we expected after reading these reviews. The longest walk was about 5 minutes. Don't panic!

The room was stunning, lovely cold air con.

The food was average-good. Not as much variety as we'd have liked. Salad and carby food were lovely but the meat was poor quality. A la carte really worth booking,

We loved evenings in the Safari Bar with the incredible Savvas and Maria. These two work so hard- you see them up and around at 9am and still working at 11. Despite this they are always smiling. It was incredible.

Pools were lovely but did find ourselves waking up earlier and earlier in order to bag a sunbed. Who wakes up at 6 whilst on holiday?

Finally I would say a highlight of the hotel is the mixed bag of guests. There are people of so many nationalities holidaying together and we met some fab new friends from Germany, Belgium, Poland and The Netherlands! Really nice atmosphere!

Room Tip: We paid for seaview but didn't get it! Got a slither of sea round the corner! Couldn't be bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights mid to late June. Although I probably wouldn't return my wife and I had a lovely holiday at the Horizon Royal.
Good points- High standards of cleanliness, Helpful staff by and large. Beautiful views from complex.Better entertainment than is normally found. Excellent cocktails. Restaurant Thalassa. Bottom bar
Average points- Athena Restaurant..a bit repetetive Although in a great location view wise there are little/no shops bars etc in the immediate vacinity of the complex.
Poor Safari Bar- Not exactly hard working staff there and queues form
A la carte restaurant..sorry it's not! More like a bbq!! Beach bar not included in all inclusive.
Few really good staff members to point out;
Theo in the Thalassa restaurant
Agapitos, Christianos,Stamatis,Elias and Irini from the main bottom bar who were a great and friendly team who enhanced our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynslot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just had to say such a big thankyou to the horizon royal and thomsons holidays for making our silver wedding anniversary stay at ur hotel such a special one u did all u could to make it one to remember. We had a fabulous holiday in a great hotel great food and lovely poeple we will never forget our time there and will reccomend ur hotel to all my family and friends. Thankyou so much

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staff:
Some of the most friendliest staff I have ever come across when abroad. Such clever people to know so many languages fluently.

Rooms:
Our room was spectacular. The hotel go to a lot of effort to eliminate creepy crawlies and they do a very good job of it. It was clean, modern and we paid for and had a great view overlooking the bay. You could even see Kalithea Springs in the distance. Beds were a little hard but it didn't matter. The rooms were cleaned daily and wow, our balcony was huge!

Facilities: There were 3 pool areas, of which we found our favourite to be the one closest to the private beach. The pools were lovely and refreshing, also very clean. There were pool bars but only one served a le carte, the rest were buffet meals serving mainly German food. So this limited our lunch time options (all inclusive.) On an evening there was entertainment in two of the bars. It wasn't to our taste but can see how it would be very enjoyable for most.

Location: It was unfortunate that we weren't walking distance to a town or a place with shops/ bars. It was a 10 minute taxi drive to Rhodes town or the lively Faliraki. The taxi rides were possibly what we spent most of our money on. Rhodes is lovely! And very very hot. Wear a good factor sun cream.

Our holiday: I MISS MY HOLIDAY. I want to go back! It was lovely and myself and my fiancé had a lovely time. I would certainly return and bring my family along too.

HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a sea view room, it is really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemski1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Came back from a wonderful 10 day holiday at Kalithea Horizon Royal with my husband last week and wish I was back there as we had such a nice time. From the moment we landed at the airport around midnight, the atmosphere and Greek people were so welcoming and friendly.

There are so many good points about this hotel. Here are the main ones:
All the staff, in every area are very friendly, helpful and polite.

The grounds are superb - beautiful gardens, spacious and spread out.

3 lovely swimming pool areas, each with at least 3 separate pools. They are beautifully designed so that wherever you are you can look out to the sea and get a cooling sea breeze when sunbathing. Towels are provided by hotel with a refundable Euro10 deposit per towel. We always got 2 beds together and we never once got up early to reserve them, although lots of people did. Usually got down to pool around 10am. Couldn't see any sign of life guards so young children and non-swimmers would need constant supervision.

Quite a nice beach area. It's rocky so take beach shoes. You have to pay for beds and umbrellas Euro 5. We didn't bother. We went down around 5pm every day when people were starting to leave and it was a little cooler and took a beach mat to sit on. Take swimming goggles if you don't have a snorkle as there are lots and lots of fish and it's fun exploring the rocks. There is a bar, but it's not included in price.

The food is excellent. There is a large variety and you are able to eat in the Kalithea Mare restaurants too if on the All Inclusive package. From the main restaurant, you could eat overlooking the sea and again there was a lovely sea breeze to keep you cool. We kept finding different areas to eat at night, each serving different types of food. There was the main restaurant with all types of food to choose from, a bbq area and another area serving paella. We used the a la carte once when it was nice to be served for a change. Icecream and snacks always available from pool bars and you help yourself to soft drinks, wine and beer. The wine is OK, but the Asti Spumante (available from the bar) is lovely so do try it out.

The bar areas are great, along with the very hardworking bar staff with a very good selection of spirits and cocktails. The drinks did seem to be watered down, but the bonus to that was there weren't lots of people getting too drunk.

There is a choice of entertainment every night, either at the main Kalithea Horizon Royal bar or the Kalithea Mare bar areas. Mostly, dancers and singers. This starts around 9.30pm and finishes by 11pm. Children's activities are held in the Safari Bar which looked to be the usual children't disco.

The hotel room, 771, was very large, clean and comfortable. There was a fridge and coffee/tea making facilities and a free safe. The air conditioning was great and very quiet. We had a large balcony overlooking the sea. Our room was a Superior with Sea View - well worth it. But the garden views were lovely too so don't be disappointed if you have one of these.

The hotel was full when we were there, 2,200 guests, but it honestly never felt like it as everything is so spread out and because of the 3 different pool areas.

The location is good, although there are no shops or things to look around nearby. You need to catch a bus or hire a car. Having said that, Rhodes Old Town is about 15 minutes away by bus for Euro 2.20 each way. Falariki is 15 minutes by bus in the other direction. You can walk to Kalithea Springs as it's only 15 minutes walk away, but it's uphill coming back which is a struggle in the heat. We hired a car for 2 days for Euro 30 per day. Driving was easy and the places to definitely visit are Lindos, Prasonisi (where the Aegean Sea and Mediterranean Sea meet), Rhodes Old Town and St Agassi Beach.

The one and only downside to this hotel is it is definitely not suitable for anyone in a wheelchair or who has problems walking. The reason is there are hilly areas and steps and everything is very spaced out. One poor elderly woman had 2 falls there in one week.

Apart from that, I've already recommended this hotel to friends and would definitely return there if we go back to Rhodes.

Room Tip: Rooms near Mythos Pool Bar area quieter and nearer the beach. Rooms near Poseidon Taverna are right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrowSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

HUGE hotel. Known as Horizon Royal and Mare Palace. 2 hotels in 1.
Check in: Drink and snack on arrival. Check in fast. Taken to room via mini bus (good job because complex is huge)! You're given a map, plus there are maps sign posted throughout resort.
Pathway down to beach, but there is a mini bus that will take you. Pool bar/restaurant that isn't included in all inclusive.
3 pool areas with 3 pools in each area including childrens pools. Pool bars also in each area with snacks (certain times) and drinks throughout the day.
Park area for children (we had no kids so can't really comment), but children were using it.
2 restaurants for main meals. Both buffet style restaurants. Everything available, English, continental breakfasts.Lunch and dinner are varied choice including theme nights (chinese etc.) Bar areas also serve snacks at various times. There is an A La Carte restaurant that you need to book. We didn't bother. You can also request packed lunch if you are going on an excursion. (again, we didn't bother).
Would love to visit again. Staff are friendly and helpful.
If you can't keep your room for late checkout you can book a courtesy room or use poolside showers. We opted for poolside showers as we don't like to be committed to a time! These facilities are adequate. Shower, changing room.
Bus stops directly outside to take you to Rhodes Town, Faliraki and Lindos . Just pay on the bus. You can also book taxis from reception, although they will randomly pull up at bus stop hoping you'll jump in!
Rooms cleaned daily. Someone even came to fill the mini fridge!
Fantastic hotel and would recommend to everyone.
Savas the waiter in bar was fantastic. Very good at his job and couldn't recommend him enough! He was extremely helpful when my partner left a medical kit in the restaurant. Although we had asked the restaurant if it had been handed in, he arranged for reception to phone around and locate it and be delivered in person.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshiyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
27.2 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Horizon Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Horizon Royal

Property: Kalithea Horizon Royal
Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalithea Horizon Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 709
Also Known As:
Kalithea Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Kalithea
Kalithea Horizon Royal Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing