We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalithea Horizon Royal
Nearby Hotels
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stavros Melathron Studios(Koskinou)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rodos Palladium(Kallithea)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romantza Mare(Kallithea)(Great Value!)
$63
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kresten Palace(Koskinou)
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows(Koskinou)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,856)
Filter reviews
1,856 results
Traveler rating
1,192
481
127
35
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,192
481
127
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmythos poolathena restaurantsafari cafesuperior roomblue bandshelios barrhodes townmini busesmain restaurantmare palacemini barpreferential treatmentgerman gueststhomson repanimation teamsea viewbar staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,029 - 1,034 of 1,856 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just had 2 great weeks here and I honestly say it was all good.The weather was a bit disappointing at times though.Cleaniness was the tops especially the grounds were kept immaculate.The staff were friendly and worked hard.Food was good but could have been hotter. A sea view room is a must.Its a very pretty place. If I have to say anything negative it would be that the English are very out numbered by the Germans.But we were on our hols and just got used to it.The entertainment was very good also.To sum up I would say it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank NorwichMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Just returned home from Rhodes after a 1 week holiday as two couples, I can only commend the hotel and their staff on the excellent service, facilities, cleanliness, food no complaints at all, considering it is the end of the season the hotel was full we had a standard room which was spacious and comfortable, we were offered an upgrade on arrival to a royal suite and blue wristbands ( which means all inclusive on the beach as well as everywhere else) Not just for Germans I must add we declined the upgrade as we did not want two couples in one suite so we stuck with our original booking. We did not feel we were treated any different from the blue wristbands customers, and I feel if you not satisfied with this hotel you must have major problems! I can compare it to many 5 star resorts I have stayed in on many holidays, well done to Thompsons this is a little jewel in your crown. Holiday spoilt right at the end by Cardiff airparks waited 45 minutes for the minibus which arrived with 16 seats and about 50 people waiting for it at 1 a.m in the morning not a very happy ending, won't be using them again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank tracey_lewis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in June 2010 and again in July 2011. A fantastic resort. Great picturesque location. Spotlessly clean and well maintained - even the toilets by the pool were always clean and gleaming! the food was fantastic and the staff always friendly and helpful. Booked with Thomsons last year but as they were fully booked this year took a different route. Got better deal on price and got the same colour wrist bands as the Germans which meant we got all inclusive deal at the taverna on the beach included too! apparently Thomsons dont offer this option as its too expensive. This hotel has everything to offer for a family with young children (ours were 4 and 5) and is very quiet at night. We found it very strange that with all the free flowing 'free' alcohol we didnt see one drunk person the whole time we were there . A selection of fantastic pools with no problems getting sunbeds ( - although several German guests could be seen reserving sunbeds in the early hours of the morning- It is the hotel policy not to allow this before 9am). There is a disco for the kids every night for 30 mins where they learn actions to various songs and our kids loved this - even though not all of the music was in English, they didnt seem to notice. The whole place is fantastic - although we dont usually return to the same place twice, we will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: the rooms are spread around the resort in 2 story buildings - we didnt see any in a bad position however the rooms closest to the Athena bar and restaurant would be noisiest as this was the most popular pool, eating and entertainment area.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank getalonggang1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have just come back from an 11 night stay at the Kalithea Royal Horizon booked via Thompson. We took our son who is 10. Having read many previous reviews - long winded etc. - can only think that these people have nothing better to do than try and identify the smallest of faults and should have spent more time enjoying the breathtaking scenery, amazing staff, wonderful facilities and cleanliness of the complex. This is not 6 star but in our opinion gives more of a holiday than most higher starred places would - states 4 star sup - should deff be 5 star. The whole complex is immaculately kept. We did not try the Thalasso restaurant as felt it too enclosed and didn't offer the views of the Athena so cannot comment on the treatment of paying guests/Germans in this area particularly. Can say though that we didn't notice any preferential treatment and that the guests from other nations were all extremely friendly. Lunch at the Delfinia is excellent and makes for a change of scenery if you chose to spend time at the horizon or mythos pools - both have breathtaking views. Savaas runs an extremely smooth ship at the Athena as do Savaas and Maria at the Helios bar. All very, very personable. The waiting staff in all areas of the hotel couldn't be more helpful - Harris at the Athena is a star! The entertainment for our son was brilliant - he loved the football pitch, water polo and particularly the popcorn machine and airfootball at the Safari Bar - all far enough away that they do not spoil the cliff top pools for those staying without children. We had no worries in allowing our son to roam the complex as did other guests with children. The evening entertainment was of a very night standard and was varied. We ate at the Elia a la carte once. It is a bit like Fawlty Towers, a little old fashioned in manner - this just added to the charm of the place though! Our superior room was spotlessly kept for the entire stay and we were glad of the bit of walking that was needed to reduce the weight gain the great food and drink is bound to have created - only arrived back in the early hours of this morning so haven't had the courage to step on the scales yet! Our only criticism of the holiday, which certainly won't stop me booking this for the family again was the Thompson rep. Bit vague, especially as there were strike implications this week. she did little to reassure us of how we might be looked after should we be affected and on that one occassion we needed to trouble her which was towards the end of our stay she showed little interest in how we had enjoyed our stay. The Thompson reps from other countries seemed a lot more enthusiastic/organised etc. I witnessed one lady guest almost reduced to tears by our rep. This guest was travelling alone and was noticeably concerned about getting home and our rep seemed to have no patience at all with her which I think was a great shame.

That apart, the holiday was faultless. The complex is very close to Rhodes Old Town which is a visit not to be missed - we popped in 3 times - a very easy trip! Think the location is great for families - it is very quiet - well off the road so safe and traffic-fume free!

We can't wait to go back next year!!! Thank you all at the Kalithea Royal Horizon for giving us a break will will never forget!

Room Tip: Room 807 was fabulous and we will request it again next year!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ruth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We paid £1,588 for 2wks AI with Thomson. (2 prs). Landed on time and were in the coach in 30 mins. Stopped at 5 other hotels and the total trip took just under an hour. Nice welcome and taken to our room by mini-bus. Went and had a snack at the Athena at about 10 pm. The room was perfect. View from the spacious balcony was incredible (see pics). Room had A/c, safe, hair dryer, flat screen tv ( only 3 news channels in English though) tea making equipment, mini bar (soft drinks and beer) all included in the deal which must be a real plus during the hot months. We mainly ate at the Athena as the open air eating and the views were to our liking.Soft drinks hot and cold are freely available, beer and wine are also on a help yourself basis. Only spirits and apperatives need be ordered at the bars. Food at the Athena is a good 3* standard and is plentiful. at week ends the hotel fills up to capacity so go early to either restaurants. The Thalassa, a better class of restaurant and is a good 4* in particular also caters for passing trade and people who pay cash are given priority so you may not find a table every time. We ate at the Thalassa several times and were impressed by the food quality for a hotel. It is inside and a bit oppressive. Again all food was on a serve yourself basis but, as it catered for non AI persons as well, drinks had to be ordered from the waiter. The hotel complex is big and on a hill side so be warned.
No problem with taking food and drink back to your room.
Bus stops outside hotel.
Majority of guests are elderly Germans.
Kids are catered for at a separate entertainment area (Safari cafe).
Evenings entertainment is by outside professional groups mainly singing but of a v high standard and starts at 9pm for an hour at both restaurants.
Linen changed daily.
Blackout curtain is again a nice touch.
No problem with hot water supply.
The gym was well equiped for a hotel and I used it almost daily.
Staff were without exception exceptional.
There were of course some things we did not like, so here they are;
The animation team spent most of their time with the kids (10 mins only for aquasise for adults)
Internet access a bit of a rip off (time restrictions apply)
Not all the facilities were free for us, Beach cafe was not included because Thomsons would not allow us for an unknown reason.
Germans still putting towels on sunbeds even though at this time of the year there were plenty to go round (notices everywhere saying not to before 10am !)
Flies are a great nuisance.
We once booked an "A la carte" meal at the Athena and found it all so pretenciously amateur (also the food was the same as in the main restaurant) that we left before the end of the meal.
The big turn off for us was the foetid smell from the sewerage treatment plant attatched to the hotel which wafted mainly around the Athena restaurant at varying times and for lenghts of time.
However, we would return as it was the best 4* we have stayed in

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank petepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews