We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, amazing management, rude Russian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amada Colossos Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing management, rude Russian”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks with my family, the hotel needs updating but the location is perfect for relaxing! I would like to say that the management were excellent and the manager (George) is very nice and always listens to your thoughts, he could never do enough for you! :)
The only bad point is the rude, horrible Russians. I have never met a nation so rude in my life! They hit you, push in all the time and think they are better than every one else so beware of them! Otherwise an amazing holiday and good hotel! ( the food is great too!)

Room Tip: Book a villa/apartment for a more private stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for a short and lovely review about a stay at the Louis Colossos Beach.

It is a pleasure to hear that you found our location ideal for a relaxing holiday and that you indulged in our delicious cuisine. Moreover, we are thrilled to read that you had an overall great stay at our wonderful hotel and that you found our staff attentive and eager to hear you thoughts and feedback.

We greatly hope to have the pleasure of seeing you at the Louis Colossos Beach in the nearest future.

Warm wishes,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    371
    217
    121
    96
See reviews for
473
408
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Extremely disappointing hotel. Very rude staff standing near drinks machines in canteen. Rooms are very basic! Door to room had a 3cm gap! Dirty grouting in shower room.

This is a very large hotel, and in need of a big refurb! The lifts have no idea what floor they're on, and leave gaps when they stop.

Not a 4* more a 3*/2*, probably a good hotel for the facilities, if you are not bothered about having a crummy room.

Positives: close to waterpark, and reception staff and cleaning staff very friendly. But, other staff need to remember that they are representing the hotel at all times, and they should be more customer focused! If the management team read this, it definitely let's your hotel down! You need to ensure your staff improve there customer care, as this would help customers to overlook the other issues with your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rospie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for holidaying at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our facilities, the friendliness of our reception and housekeeping staff and our close proximity to the waterpark. We would herewith like to thank you for your feedback in regards to the aspects in which we can improve, please be assured that we took note of all of them. Concerning your comment about the attitude of some members of our staff, we appreciate that you informed us of this observation; please rest assured that all necessary parties will be briefed immediately and actions will be taken to prevent this from ever happening again. We are nonetheless surprised to hear this as we usually receive many compliments for the friendliness and the professional attitude of all members of our team. All in all, we hope that you had a pleasurable stay despite these issues and that you would consider one of our other Louis Hotels from our Premium Collection for your next holiday; these might be more suited to your needs.

We hope to welcome you back to one of our many Louis Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kallithea hotels

Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stopped at the Louis Collossos beach hotel for 2 weeks in July 2013; our first impression of the hotel was that the hotel is in desperate need of the refurbishment and in our experience would not be classed as a four star hotel more like a 2 star! This is from our experience of stopping at other 4 star all inclusive hotels in the past 20 years.

Our room was in desperate need of refurbishment as the patio curtain was partly detached, the tv was not working and was one of the old style box type TV’s, there was a crack in the wash basin and the plug was not working, the toilet was old fashioned and soap holder was corroded.

We was told by the hotel receptionist that we had a quiet room; this was incorrect as our room was on the 2nd floor and was right under where the hotel has its evening entertainment which was loud, not entertaining and repetitive so no chance of getting any sleep before 11pm at night. This is fine if do not have to get up early the next day to go on an excursion!

We found that a high percentage of the guests were Russian and were very rude, they have not heard of the term queuing. The guests would jump the queue to get the lift, would barge in when getting food, would allow their kids to run riot while in the dining areas (not a pleasant experience if you were looking for a relaxing holiday.)

I would not class the food provided as 4 star because there was not enough variety and was very repetitive in there the deserts mainly consisted of jelly and mousse.

There were not many hot dishes on offer and the food was not cooked nicely (not up to the same standard as you would get at home!)This was supposed to be of 4 star standard but the beef and peas with gravy may have been nice if you could get your knife to cut the beef.
The chicken may not have a lot of flavour but when the chef cooked it there was no flavour at all even in gravy.

The Chef had a passion for putting cheese on a lot of dishes even the vegetables! I have never known anyone to just defrost a bag of peas and serve them uncooked to the guests!
There was not enough sunbeds for the size of the hotel (over 700 rooms) and were being reserved early hours of the morning but were being left unattended.

I found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful which was really the only redeeming feature of this hotel. Would I recommend this hotel to friends or family, definitely not! Would I return to this hotel definitely not unless they refurbished the hotel and controlled there clientele.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Louis Colossos Beach.

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for praising our friendly and attentive staff which you would commend as our best asset. In regards to your comment about the noise you heard from below your room, we would like to apologize for this inconvenience and only wish you had informed us during your stay as we could have tried to move you to a quieter room. Furthermore, we are surprised by your comments in regards to the variety and quality of our cuisine as we usually receive many compliments in those aspects; nonetheless, please rest assured that our chefs will be briefed about your comments immediately. Furthermore, concerning your opinion in regards to a lack of sunbeds, there are enough of them around the grounds but obviously the ones around the pool get snapped up the fastest. All in all, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, and would like to encourage you to try one of our many other Louis Hotels from our Premium Collection for your next holiday. These might be more suitable to your needs rather than a Casual Colelction one like Colossos.

We hope to see you soon again at one of our Louis Hotels.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We returned from 2 weeks holiday 13th July.... we had a great time, the food was lovely fresh pizzas, excellent chinese and bbq on beach.... swimming pools were good with plenty of sunbeds, beach shoes are a must if you like going into the sea ...the hotel rooms are very dated and not what you expect for a 4 star... the staff were lovely especially Peter one of the managers and Paulina one of the waitresses in the pizza restaurant. If you want to get out and about then use the taxi boat or bus .. a gd trip out is the glass bottom boat which you can get on the beach.

The only downside to our holiday was the amout of Russians that occupied at least 70 percent of the hotel.. I have never come across such rude, greedy people with a 'I dont queue attitude'. I think for this reason only that we would probably not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcany in the afternoon/evening then back of hotel facing mountains is a good o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettehallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for commenting on a stay at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We are delighted to hear that you had an overall great time at our lovely hotel and that you especially enjoyed the vast selection of our cuisine that caters to every taste. Moreover, we are thrilled to read that you were very pleased with the high standard of service from our outstanding staff and that you had some relaxing moments around our pool area with its plentiful sunbeds. We thank you for mentioning your opinion about the condition of our rooms and are nonetheless happy to hear that this did not affect your holiday experience with us. We are sorry to read that you do not wish to return to our hotel and would thus this like to encourage you to try out one of our other Louis Hotels which might be more suitable to your needs. We can suggest the Louis Ledra, Louis Zante, Louis Imperial and Louis Corcyra for an experience which is more evenly balanced.

We hope to see you at one of our Louis Hotels soon again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I have spent 12 days with my wife in this resort. We were not satisfied at all. The Hotel is vety old and in need of refurbisment but this is not a main issue. Service provided by the staff of this hotel is at least 2 stars. If you want to see how It should not have to work we definitly recommend to visit this resort mainly performance of management. Sometimes IT was very entertaining but if you expect 4 stars service IT will not be delivered. IT isn't worst the money we paid.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ludo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for holidaying at the Louis Colossos Beach.

We would firstly like to apologize for not meeting your expectations and for not having managed to impress you with the fabulous holiday you were after. We are saddened and surprised to read that you would rate our service with two stars, as our hotel is rated four stars by most of our guest reviews; this mainly stems from guest satisfaction with our extremely friendly and professional staff, however, we are sorry you do not feel the same way. Overall, it is a shame to hear that you were not pleased with your stay; nonetheless we would like to inform you about our Premium Collection Hotels, part of the vast Louis Hotels portfolio, which might be more suitable to your tastes.

Should you be willing to give our Company another chance to impress you with its standards we would be more than happy to welcome you to one of our Premium, rather than Casual, Louis Hotels in the future.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and I must say that this hotel is very nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel grounds are lovely and the food you couldn't fault. There was some form of food available from 6.30 am to 12 midnight and the all inclusive drinks were very good. The entertainment team worked very hard and there was always something to do during the day or watch in the evening.

The only negative (and this is a big one) is that the hotel was full of Russians. We were definitely in the minority, in fact the late disco catered more for the Russian taste than anything else. We decided to go at this time of the year as we wanted to avoid the childrens school holidays, however the hotel was full of Russian children which made the swimming pool crowded most of the time. Mealtimes were a bit stressful as the Russian people don't queue and tend to take huge amounts of food (particularly fruit) as soon as it is placed on the buffet and were quite often rude. We also found that if you wanted a sunbed you had to get up by around 6am, otherwise all the beds were reserved, sometimes no one appeared on the reserved beds until after lunch, which was very frustrating. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel again but only if there was more of a mix of nationalities and not mainly Russian.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverangel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about the Louis Colossos Beach with the online community.

We are thrilled to read that you had a lovely week at our hotel and would like to thank you for your dearest praise towards our staff, of which they will certainly be informed. Moreover, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our extensive All Inclusive offer that presented something fabulous to indulge in throughout the stay, and that you took note of our beautiful grounds and many activities by our hard working entertainment team. All in all, we are thrilled to read about your all-round splendid holiday.

We are glad to hear that you would return to our hotel and hope to welcome you back to the Louis Colossos Beach in the nearest future.

Warm wishes,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from a weeks holiday at louis Colossos and very disappointed, we have stayed at All inclusive hotels before and this was definately no where near 4*. Check in was not informative and we were given a piece of paper with meal instructions on but nothing else. We arrived in our room after a long day and disappointed, very basic and there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, the bathroom was very dark and not particularly clean looking but this was just the age and the cheap plastic toilet seat was not very nice. The balcony wall was high and we could only see the sea if we stood up and we paid extra for the sea view but couldn't see it if we use the chairs to sit out on the balcony The rooms are in need of refurbishment and so is the hotel. We complained to the Rep about our room and the quality of the hotel we were told by reception that they full and they would see what they could do but no one came to advise if there was anything available for the whole of our holiday so just had to put up with what we had. The food was varied but only warm, there was no fresh fruit breakfast and the eggs had the uncooked clear film on. Lunch was ok with the mix of pizzas and also chinese options three times a week but still not very hot. The were some very rude Eastern Europeans who would push in and take all the fruit and other things. The restaurant definitely needed some kind of staggered sitting due to the volume of guests, I was very frustrated to be told I couldn't have a proper cup instead of plastic at my evening meal to have a cup of coffee and was advised by one of the food managers to use a soup bowl!! There wasn't even proper cups in both of the inside areas where the coffee was served until the last day of our holiday. The central bar had a awful sulphery smell which stopped us using it unless we sat on the balcony. There were not enough umbrellas around which wasn't helpful when the sun was at it's hottest, we only took pool towels after I read on a review page that they weren't supplied which is the first time i've experience this. Overall for the money we paid we expected much more and it certainly didn't deliver.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Louis Colossos Beach as your destination.

First and foremost, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our varied food and that you were especially pleased with our mix of fresh pizzas and Chinese options. However, we would like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your overall expectations of our hotel. We are surprised to hear your comments in regards to the presentation of our food and your check-in process as we usually receive much praise in all these aspects from satisfied customers. Nonetheless, we thank you for bringing these to our attention, together with your other comments. It seems that a Premium Collection hotel, rather than a Casual Collection one like Colossos, would have been more suited to your needs so we would like to take this opportunity to suggest the former for your next holiday. The two collections operate at differing standards.

We hope to see you soon again at one of our Louis Hotels.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.6 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,421 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
35.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amada Colossos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amada Colossos Resort

Property: Amada Colossos Resort
Address: Kallithea Main Street, Kallithea 85100, Greece (Formerly Louis Colossos Beach Hotel)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amada Colossos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amada Colossos Resort, a four star plus hotel in the island of Rhodes opened its doors in July 2017 to offer the ultimate experience of Ultra All Inclusive. With 699 luxurious rooms and suites and villas at the front of one of the most beautiful beaches in Rhodes. A worldwide gastronomical experience with 16 restaurants and bars including an authentic Greek, Italian and an Asian restaurants, 5 swimming pools, 2 mini clubs for children and one full-scale water park with 6 waterslides. Be the first to experience a holiday larger than life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amada Colossos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Colossos Beach Faliraki
Hotel Louis Colossos Beach
Louis Colossos Beach Hotel
Amada Colossos Resort Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing