We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have never before felt the need to review a hotel/holiday but I just had such a great time, I thought I'd share...
We arrived late at night with a 14 month old baby to find no cot in our room. Management were very helpful and dealt with it quickly. Right away we were very impressed with the staff.
Our room was very basic and first impressions at night were not that good to be honest. But after a good sleep I realised it had everything we needed and was very clean with lovely little balcony and sea view.
The hotel itself is very dated, but facilites are great and well cared for. The food was the thing we were least impressed with. We absolutely love greek food and there was little on the menu. Some food was excellent though and there was always plenty to eat. We didn't expect anything more to be honest, being an all inclusive hotel. They have to cater to everyones likes.
We really enjoyed the entertainment (3 times per week: greek night, karaoke, live singers), the pool area was great with plenty of sunbeds, nice kids play area, good pool ( if a little random in terms of depth!), drinks were fine, as were the snacks.
We used the buses quite a lot, both into Rhodes town and Faliraki. I was really surprised at how easy it was, although if you have a buggy like we did, a good tip is not to fold it down as the bus tends to be VERY crowded, and this seems to give you more space and makes it easier to get off!
The staff at the hotel were so lovely, helpful and welcoming and to me, this seemed to create such a great atmosphere in the hotel. If you are looking for a luxurious all inclusive hotel, then do not pick this one. But if you want a quiet holiday in the sun, I think you will be very pleasantly surprised, like I was. I had such a special holiday and would love to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babybeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 691 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

Have just returned from this hotel arrived at 4pm first impressions was very good allocated room 824 which is in the self catering blocks walked in and the place smelt of mould went staight back to the receptionist and asked to speak to the manager was informed would nt be here till until 7pm as we were all inclusive sat around the bar area and waited. The manager turned up and was very helpful and gave us another room 816 which wasnt perfect but was clean. i must stress that all the blocked rooms are basic and out dated but are cleanish and towels changed every day. The food was very good although the presention lets it down some what drinks were excellent overall it was great holiday but the one thing that will stands out for me was the stall every single one off them was brillant so polite and nothing was any trouble big thank you to you all.

Its not the ritz but if you can live with a few chipped tiles and and off coloured mastic you will be fine. i would have no hesitation in going back for what we paid it was a bargain.

Tip, take your hairdryer ladies and mozzie repelent and a plastic hook for the shower hose lol. this hotel is being refurbed in october to a 4 star will deffo go back to see and if you have any complaints the manager is a great guy and will sort you out.

Thank you all for a great time

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldboy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Have just returned from a week at Kalithea sun and sky Hotlel.We had a super time.Yes, our room was rather dated but it was clean and tidy .The maids were marvellous and changed our sheets and towels nearly every day.Our room was close to the busy road so we ran the air conditioning at night to counteract the traffic noise which worked well.
The food was plentiful,fresh and very tasty.For the money we paid it was very very good .The choice may not have been so large as in some hotels but the flavour made up for it.The meat was always tender and better than we have had in posh hotels.
All the stake were polite and friendly and ready to help.
The drinks were fine too.
We loved the relaxing garden and the pool was never crowded or noisey during our stay.
Kallithea beach was really crowded.We only went there once and settled instead for a stoney beach the far side of Faliraki..very uncrossed and mainly used by Greeks.It was beautiful will clear sea and a pretty setting..
We found the area very busy as a whole and much prefere the south of the island but then we are country bumpkins and knocking on in years.
We returned refreshed and rested so are delighted with the holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the busy road.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeSungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for a week in the Kalithea Sun and Sky during the 2nd week of June 2011.
The staff at this hotel are the most outstanding part of this hotel, always pleasant, attentive and really friendly.
The hotel itself is in need of renovation, the bathroom being particularly garish, but this is being remedied through a refurbishment at the end of the 2011 season (we were told by Thomas Cook that it was to be done before we had arrived, so we felt a little cheated, but not the fault of the hotel).
The food is really good. Breakfast is a full English (but European sausage, bacon etc) plus fruit, cereal, bread, yogurts, croissants, cold meats and cheese. Very extensive with some variation throughout the week.
Lunch and Dinner was a good variety but basic and repetitive after a few meals. some of the food was leftovers from breakfast, but overall there was plenty to eat plus salad, cheese, sauces and bread at all the time. Desserts were a bit hit and miss, usually a Jelly/blancmange, plus mousse, fruit and ice cream. Chips were not served at every meal which was refreshing, but pasta and some sort of sauce was a staple. Twice we had a BBQ outside as well which was a nice touch.
The pool bar snacks were disappointing, usually just cake and biscuits, plus sometimes a few warm snacks that were normally left over from Lunch.
The drinks were standard All-inclusive, a choice of 5 cocktails, plus lots of local spirits, although the wine was barely drinkable. Just a word of warning the measures are far bigger than normal (and that’s coming from a student who enjoys her doubles!) and sometimes made the drink undrinkable, and meant that I never had to have too many to feel a bit merry.
We only had a few issues with the hotel, not having enough beds in the room on the first night (we arrived at 2am to this news and one of our party was put up in an alternative room for the night and then slept on a mattress on the floor for the rest of the week), and they were reluctant to give us the Air Con remote, despite it becoming free half way through our stay (a quick check on the hotels website confirms this, although they denied it whilst we were there!).
Overall we had a brilliant week, food was good, drinks plentiful, and the loveliest hotel staff I have ever come across. For the money we paid we couldn’t have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor room with a V spacious balcony
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChloeLouise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Went with my wife for a relaxing 1 week break in June 2011. The hotel is situated on the east coast of the island. Staff were very friendly, and multi-lingual. Food was very good, although could have done with a few healthier options.

Room was large in size with a lovely balcony and unusually a fridge (which was an unexpected bonus). We went all inclusive, and the drinks were great, Local lager and wine, plus a selection of about 5 cocktails and also soft drinks.

Beach is around 15 min walk away, and is down a relatively steep hill, but good exercise. 5 min walk to bus stop for busses south to Lindos and north to Rhodes Old Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel (quieter)
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scoroguk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

HI
I just came from Kalithea Sun Hotel.
I was there with my girl and we choose all inclusive option.
Hotel is a 3 star rating complex made of main building with normal rooms and from second part - bungalows (apartaments for families).
We were in room 226.
Facilities - billard, table tennis, pool, tennis court, internet area and few more.
People working there are very nice and friendly.
Food - food is great (oh maybe breakfast could be better because it is mainly typical english with some addons).
Dinner and lunch are great ( a lot of tasty greek food , desserts, wine, etc)
Location - hotel is on a small hill, 10min walk to nice beach but we were using next one situated 10 min further.,
3 min to shops and other hotels and restaurants, 15 min bu bus (only 2.2 euro one way) to Rhodes town with amazing old Town, Acropol, ancient greek theatre and ancient olympic stadium.
There is also nice port and you can see Turkey from there (only 18km ahead).
Beautiful clear water (very warm).
For 5 euro one way you can visit Lindos Town and Lindos village. For 10 euro from Rhodes Town you can also visit Butterfly valley.

IMPORTANT !!! - next yera it will be 4 star hotel with everything new (new rooms, bard, restaurants (also additional one on the second level) and many new things.

We will be back next season because it is a lot more to see on the Rhodes island.
And we will choose the same hotel. :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SlawekGemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring Rhodes and its various towns. It is in between Rhodes and Faliraki and takes about 15 mins on the bus either way to get to these places. The bus cost 2.20 euro each way and they run about every half hour, they may run more frequent in the summer. Taxi drivers tend to stop if there are four people waiting at the bus stop and offer to take you to Rhodes for 2 euro per person. The bus stop to Rhodes is on the right side as you come down the hill and the bus to Faliraki stops near the pharmacy further up on the left next to the bench .
The hotel itself is a bit tired looking and the rooms are basic with no toiletries except soap but they have a tv, fridge/mini freezer and hairdryer. For those booking all inclusive like us and forgetting your towels, they dont provide beach towel hire but the hotel recommended the supermarket near Mikes Bar, towels were 6.50 euro each. They were the cheapest as we looked around first.
We stayed in room 321 which is in the main hotel and had a view of the car park from the balcony. We did request another room with a better view but the ones offered were not much better so we opted to stay put.
Word of warning, the hotel is about to be changed to a four star rating and are commencing building work from June, knocking down the self catering apartments across from the main building!
The pool area was well maintained and we had no problem getting a sunbed at any time of the day. The staff were very helpful and patient considering we asked to look at a number of rooms over a period of a few days and the maid service was faultless.
The food choice was OK but was always lukewarm however there is a microwave available which we used everyday. The pool snack bar did not offer much..late breakfast consisted of german type ham, cheese and bread, later on you may get mini sausages with mustard or rancid fish fingers and nothing like pizza or cheese and ham toasties like you would expect.
We arrived early hours of Sunday morning (about 3am from manchester) and the bar was closed plus no offer of a sandwich but there is Mikes bar at the end of the hotel entrance which is open very late if you fancy a drink and a few bowls of peanuts, we were in there til about half four.
Entertainment was ok with a greek dancing group on Monday, the karaoke was good on Wed but Friday entertainment was two of the three guys from Mon supposedly playing international music.
The beach is not brilliant but to get there take a shortcut through the kiddies playground in the hotel down the hill through the gates, turn right then bear left at the Paradise hotel. Better beaches are near Kalithea Springs which is three or four stops on the bus going towards Faliraki.
Overall Kalithea only has a few shops and a couple of restaurants if you are not going all inclusive but is ideal for nights out in Rhodes and Faliraki which is a sleazy dump.
A must is visiting Lindos and the acropolis only 5 euro each person each way dont book it through your travel company just pay on the bus

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Vagelis, Manager at Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for your comments.
However, in order to avoid any misunderstandings, building works will start right after we close down for winter on the 1st of October.
Therefore no works will start in June as mentioned on the review.

From the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.3 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
535 reviews
11.3 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Theologos
576 reviews
10.8 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#11 of 34 in Kolimbia
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Solemar
Hotel Solemar
#80 of 126 in Rhodes Town
687 reviews
24.9 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel

Address: Kalitheas Avenue | Rhodes Island, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Price Range: $40 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Sun And Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel Rhodes/Kallithea
Hotel Kalithea Sun Sky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing