We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalithea Mare Palace
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed there in August 2012 ie last summer. It was good - we spent most of the time with our young daughter in the hotel swimming pools, the one with three in a row (different levels). These pools are good - the first lowest pool is smallest and shallow, the middle one is larger and deeper, and the third and largest is much deeper - easily suitable for adults.

We spent 90% of our time in the smaller two pools, as my daughter is learning to swim. It was really good fun; we made friends with anoher family with a similar aged daughter so they spent most of the time playing.

Food was good; we only stayed for one week so it was no problem. It was a bit like other package holidays in that I would imagine if we had stayed for two weeks it would not have been the most amazing food, but nothing to complain about, really.

Lunch in the small indoor pool place (near the three pools I'm talking about) was ok as a light lunch, plus they do drinks. Staff were friendly. Room was good.

Our absoulte main complaint is the lack of sun loungers. Yes - we had to do that thing where you go out warly to grab some, becuase there is not enough. I find that so frustrating I can't tell you. I *hate* going out to do battle to get some sun loungers, it's just ridiculous when you've paid a few thousand pounds for a holiday. Hopefully they will supply more, in which case I would increase my star rating.

We would stay there again, depending on price. This year we're going to a similar hotel on Kos, so it all depends on prices for these sorts of similar hotels, in my opinion.

Room Tip: we paid extra to have a 'Superior' sea view as they all it, based on another persons review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolhands_true
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    80
    26
    15
    7
See reviews for
113
135
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel from the 9th till the 23rd of June. We had booked it because our son got married in the Therms of Kalithea.
As well the wedding as the holiday was a lovely experience.
We had asked a quiet room and got a room in the main building above the snack bar with a view on the swimming pool. The room and the bathroom was spacious, beds were lovely. Cleaners work hard and change towls every day. They left sometimes flowers or sweets on our pillow.
The building has only a few floors so you can easy walk up and down, the lifts are nearly always immediate available.
The hotel is big and has lots of guests. Despite their busy job the people on the reception are always friendly, make time for every guest and give you correct information, also about things outside the hotel.
Considering we were half board we always had food in the main restaurant. As well for breakfast and dinner the buffets were giant. In the morning there was always fresh fruit, cold vegetables, cakes, pancakes, different kinds of yoghurt, hot food,... Too much to list up. There was even a 'light' buffet !!
In the evening there was lovely starters, salads, hot meals,....
There are no fixed tables but it was never a problem to find a free table. We were served by Thula and her collegues and this went always quick and with a big smile.
All the staff made us really feel very welcome.
We loved having a coffee in one of the bars during the day. Friendly spotless service and we got always free cake, glass of water and 'schnaps' with it... Yummie...
The beach is down hill, but the nice clean water and the coffee +... was a nice reward and made the walk back up enjoyable.
In the evening we enjoyed a short walk in the resort - lovely gardens with loads of flowers or a drink in the main bar.

In case you go halve board, take enough cash with you as everything needs to be paid immediate. It is not possible to withdrawl money in the hotel and the nearest ATM is at least 25 minutes walking along the main road (down and up hotel) in another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was really clean and food excellent. We upgraded to seaview and superior room and it was really nice. TV and CD player but only a few English channels (news channels only). What made the holiday was the lovely sea views and the really friendly staff. Rhodes Town was lovely but disappointed with restaurant and bar staff badgering you all the time to have a meal/drink with them - we intended to eat out but ended up being put off by the pestering and so went back to the AI hotel where the food was excellent and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great holiday to Cleopatra and Alenia at the pool bar and bar staff at the Acropolis bar and the chefs and main manager too many names to mention but the waiters and waitresses were really friendly and a good laugh thanks ever so much Jane and Dennis

Room Tip: Room 731 was good - superior room looking over sea and pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane-Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Absolutely first rate. Food was the best. Buffet spread was enormous and varied daily. The complex although large is spacious, uncluttered and immaculately kept. All the staff were efficient, friendly and engaging. The one and only complaint - extremely hard beds and poor pillows. If you can get beyond that, we couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lhzangmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocholt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

we spent a lovely week at this hotel - All inclusive. The complex is very big, there are 3 pools and 2 restaurants, very nice entertaining program fo children every evening, very clean, food very good, personal very friendly, speaks geman and english
There is a small private beach, quite rocky, but beautifull, water is very clear, you can see fishes, but not too much sand and for kids not so fun. This beach is not so easy to reach on foot if you are older or you have cardiac problems, but there is a nice tourist train that can be used to ascend and descend, it comes frequently; we have rented a car and enjoyed a wonderfull beach just 15-20 km away, Tzambika, excellent for kids, lots of sand and the sea it is not deep.
as i was there, the trinks were not so variate, beer, softdrinks and wine from dispencer, crowdy at the bar at cocktail´s time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bocholterwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends September 2012 and we loved it. The pools were lovely, so many dotted around the complex, it took us days to find them all. There is a lovely decking area overlooking the sea which we loved, as it was close to the pools and bar but relaxing away from the main pool area. The food we found very good, I am a fussy eater but in both Restaurants many choices of dishes and always cooked well and served hot, in fact we have not come across this standard of food in AI hotels before. The bars were nicely spread out over the complex. yes you did have to wait to be served at one bar, but hey your on holiday chill out abit, special mention to Cleopatra in the Safari bar who was lovely , we sat here last thing at night on the open decking area and Cleopatra knew which drinks we wanted before we asked , the evening entertainment was great, again the best we have had in an AI hotel, with diffrent acts on in the diffrent bars each night. We paid a small supplement for a sea view room, and it was lovely, massive balcony, and good size room. The drinks on the AI were very good, compared to those we have had on other holidays, round the pools beer and soft drinks on tap, and in the bars good selection of beer, and spirits also first time ever for me Baileys (or a very good substitute). We enjoyed it so much we have booked again for Septamber this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becks23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my wife found this hotel to be great the night time entertainment at the Poseidon bar was brilliant including Abba the Beatles and the Drifters tribute bands.The bar staff were the best at a hotel we have ever had after only one night we were on first name terms and they remembered which drinks you had.They even brought your drinks to your table.
At breakfast,lunch and the evening meals a waiter was always there to ask what you would like to drink.
The food was great at the Athena restaurant with a large selection and we never went hungry.
The room was very spacious and kept very clean.
A good choice of pools and never a struggle to get a sunbed,didn't have to get up at stupid 0'clock to reserve one.
We only visited the beach once and you do have to pay for drinks here but we preferred the Mythos pool bar close to the sauna and this also had an indoor pool and snack bar and didn't get as busy as the Aphrodite pool.
Not the ideal hotel if you don't like walking and a lot of steps as the place is huge with two hotels merged into one but there is a free mini bus to the beach.
There are also bus stops right outside the hotel to visit Rhodes town or Faliraki which cost just over 2 euros each.
We will definitely be going back as we found the the Greek staff to be so much more friendly than the spanish or turkish staff we have encountered in the past.
Stayed here with my wife in October 2012.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 626
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.6 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Esperos Palace Resort
Esperos Palace Resort
#16 of 71 in Faliraki
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Mare Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Mare Palace

Property: Kalithea Mare Palace
Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalithea Mare Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalithea Mare Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Mare Palace Hotel Kalithea
Mare Palace Hotel Kalithea
Kalithea Mare Palace Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing