We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing beautiful truly gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Mare Palace
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing beautiful truly gorgeous”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having read previous reviews I was unsure what to expect. The hotel is fantastic, the staff are so hard working and friendly, the food is plentiful and the setting is truly amazing.
I went with my partner and three children aged 8, 11 and 19 years. We all thought this hotel was so brilliant. The room, hotel and grounds are spotless, the staff never stop cleaning, its so clean you could eat off the pavements.
The pool area is gorgeaous, we used the Mythos Bar and pool as it is quieter, the view is to die for and the beach may be small but its gorgeous and the water is crystal clear. None of us wanted to come home.
We had adjoining rooms, rroms 1012 and 785 which had the most amazing view which I still cannot get over it was fantastic. The rooms were cleaned daily and the towels were changed daily.
We ate at the Thalassa restaurant which is the best one for breakast and evening meals. Our waiter was Mikolas and he was attentive and polite and gave us great service.
The Athena restaurant is where we ate lunch and as some reviewers have said it can get busy and the food can be luke warm at times but it fine in the main. There is the occasion smell of sewage but it never spoilt anything and there were no flies or mosquitoes as mentioned by other guests.
At night we went to the main bar at the hotel mare and we then went to the safari bar as the kids loved it there. The animation team were great with the kids in particular Costas. The kids loved the dancing and the games.
Cleopatra who served the drinks was amazing, the fastest cocktail maker I have seen and the waiter Markos was brilliant, the kids and all the guests loved him. He is funny and attentive and my eldest daughter loved him.
We only stayed for a week and went to Kalithea Springs which is an amazing place, great views and lovely gardens and the little train to get there is great. We also went to Rhodes Town which is hot hot hot but has great shopping and gifts.
I had never been to Rhodes before but I will return it was fantastic, so beautiful, great people who work so hard. We all loved it and did not want to leave. We would definately go back to this hotel and to Rhodes. It is truly a beautiful place with lovely friendly people. Ignore the negative reviews they must have stayed at another hotel because we all loved it and willbe back to sunny Rhodes x

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea room but they all have them anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie18_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    75
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
109
129
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here and got married in lindos, we could have not asked for a better hotel, the manager at the buffet restaurant could not have looked after us better. staff were friendly and helpful always trying to make sure everyone is ok

we booked for two weeks, and the food was amazing catered to suit all types no matter what you like, going all inclusive at this hotel is the way to go, never have to worry about taking cash, just a room key. the views amazing, nothing short of beautiful.

it made the trip an amazing experience, the only thing stopping me from going back is the human nature to explore different islands. This hotel will always hold a special memory for me, and i will never forget it, not far from rhodes town, and lindos a boat trip away.

BEST HOLIDAY EVER!!!!!

we had family, friends everyone there, such a nice hotel to go to!

Room Tip: go for a premium room, not a junior suite, the balconys on the suite that we were offered was under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on Sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

From a family who not only does not eat MacDonalds but does not frequent JD Sports, although I am not too sure what this has to do with a hotel review! We went as a family of 4 and cannot fault this hotel and felt we had to defend this hotel that has given us a wonderful week. The staff were fantastic and all work very hard to look after you in every way. They are always polite and at hand to help.
We found the rooms beautifully clean and all seem to have a great view. We were up-graded to a blue arm band which enabled us to free sunbeds on the beach. They cost 4€ at the beach at Faliraki, which is not the nicest of places but it does have all the watersports for our teenagers! So I would have said 2.5€ was very good value for sun bed hire with such a clean and maintained beach area with spotless toilets and beach bar. The food is freshly cooked and again included in the all inclusive. Salads, chicken fillets, kebabs, burgers etc. The snorkelling is great fun and the rocks made it much more interesting while the sea was beautiful and a great way to cool down, it was hot when we were there, end of August, unusually so for the time of year. However on the beach you do get a lovely breeze. Perfect way to spend the day and this is from someone who hates sunbathing so it must have been good.
The swimming pools are numerous and beautifully maintained. We never tried to get a sunbed at the Athina pool as we always went to the other pools which were not cold and we did not see anyone slip over in our whole week. There were no life guards but plenty of safety measures, long hooks and life rings for parents to use, if needed, while looking after their
children etc. We saw no occasions for this to be necessary. However we did go to the waterpark where the rides are extremely fast and we did see some sore backs. Our 15 year olds said they were the fastest rides they had been on. This is only 10 minutes from hotel and the children loved it! Jet skiis on beach just down the road, again great fun and well run. We also went paragliding, a first for all and highly recommended!
We also visited Rhodes which again is about 15 minutes away, around 10€!! Great value taxis and always very helpful and plenty of them. Rhodes is worth a visit but it was so hot so take plenty of water with you from the hotel. Another bonus that the hotel give you free of charge and available everywhere, on the beach it has been frozen so it is beautifully cold while sunbathing.
As far as the drinks go I do not drink but found all their non alcoholic drinks great, as far as the alcoholic drinks there were no complaints, it is not branded but the "sprite" was good and the beer as to be expected for an all inclusive holiday. More than adequate and the cocktails which I did try were lovely and we all tried some new ones!! The staff were exceptional and were always taking our orders, I truly cannot see how anyone could find fault with such hardworking staff and I do not feel it would be fair to discredit them for their hardwork.
We ate mostly at the Athina restaurant which was lovely. The atmosphere is just wonderful and the food was great, there was something for everyone, even 15 year olds and 2 adults who enjoy good food, not fast food but daily fresh food. We did not try their A La Carte as we were more than happy with the selection which varied every evening. All meats, lamb, pork, chicken, veal (Did not try this), salmon and other varieties of fish, king prawns by the plateful, soups, stuffed peppers and other veg options, roast potatoes, chips, large salad bar and lots of pasta dishes. Selection of desserts plus fresh fruit and cheeses. At 9pm the entertainment starts and each bar has a different act, all were fantastic, again I am not normally a fan of this sort of entertainment but the hotel has chosen well. We missed the 60's group and The Beetles who we would have liked to have seen. The Drifters, The Supremes, Tina Turner, The Opera singers were brilliant and sitting outside with a lovely breeze and view made it memorable and a very happy occasion for all.
We were slightly worried by the reviews of how big the complex is but there are mini buses to take you to the beach if necessary and around. However we found the walk good after all the food and relaxing and we took it in stages from the beach back to the hotel by stopping for a cup of tea at Thassos Swimming pool and then up to the hotel where we were staying. Then the walk in the evening to the restaurant was cool and you could take in the views.
As far as the smell we did catch a few wiffs but absolutely nothing to complain about. This is a large complex and I am afraid in the real world they do have to get rid of our waste and sadly it does not smell of roses! But this is not something to put you off this hotel as it really is nothing that would ruin your holiday and we hardly ever smelt anything.
We have had a truly wonderful holiday and this is the first review I have written, although I do read them and just felt the hotel and staff deserved to get a tiny bit of gratitude that they deserved for their great manners and never ending hard work that I know alot of hotels would be proud of.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We left this fabulous hotel on Wed 29th Aug and have just booked for 2 weeks next year. Right from the very start we were met by the friendly manager who checked us in, before we left him he gave my daughter a present of a small plaque of Rhodes for her to keep. A minibus then gave us a brief tour of the extensive complex before taking us to our room. Athough the complex is large you soon find your way about and it is a pleasure to walk in the grounds as they are immaculate and full of beautiful scented flowers and herbs with scenery to die for from every angle. We had a standard room, which was spacious and clean, with a fridge with water, soft drinks, a beer and wine and also a bag of nuts, with ice block and ice cube maker. There are a good choice of pools, the main ones near the Athena Restaurant does get busy and you have to be an early riser for the sunbeds but we used the pools at the Mythos bar and we always managed to get 3 sunbeds and an umbrella whatever time we decided to venture out. If the sun got a little too much there is also an indoor pool with jacuzzi here surrounded by comfortable loungers. The food is tremendous with everything you can think of, someone mentioned to us that if you stayed a fortnight it was the same thing repeated but to my mind if you can't choose something different yourself there's something wrong. There was so much choice that I could have eaten there for a year and not got sick of it. At the poolside there are snacks, pastries, ice creams and fruit during the day, or you can go to the Athena Restaurant from 12 to 15 pm for a total pig out, which we did on some days. On an evening we ate in a bit which jutted out into the sea from the Athena, it was like our own Greek Taverna, you could eat from the bbq here, where also they made the most delicious pizzas and fresh bread or you could choose food from the Athena and eat it there. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough for us. We enjoyed the entertainment which varied from Greek nights complete with fireworks to the fabulous Drifters, tribute band (these I would pay to see at home), if the entertainment wasn't for you in one place you could go to another bar for something else, either other entertainment or in the Safari bar there were things for the kids along with pool tables and ice hockey tables. If if is too much walking for you, there are minibuses running all the time on the complex to take you to the different parts, even to the beach. Even though it was scorching hot a slight breeze kept it bearable both during the day and was also present at night. You had a good choice of drinks both soft and alcoholic, if you wanted to go back to your room with a bottle of wine, you could help yourself to one from the fridge. We enjoyed the cocktails and drinks, brilliantly served to you by the 2 best barmen in Greece, Yanni and Kristos (hope i've spelt it right) who worked tirelessly from 16.30 to the early morning hours, always with a smile, and fantastic with the kids, we found that we never waited for long at all, these people who say have waited for ages - For Goodness Sake You Are on Holiday, not in a race - . We met another couple on our flight and the 5 of us were like one big family, our only complaint was that we were only there for one week, so we have now booked for 2 weeks for next year with our extended family along with some more of theirs. What a fantastic hotel, we are now counting down to August 2013.

Room Tip: We found that the standard room was plenty adequate but would maybe ask for middle or top floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Arrived 22nd August for one week travelling with First Choice. Check-in was quick & efficient, greeted by Dimitri. Rooms were very big, cleaned daily & mini-bar restocked. Resort is huge & offers something for everyone. Grounds are kept spotless. The views you get no matter where you are on resort is just breathtaking. It certainly gives this hotel the "WOW" factor. The pool areas are fabulous, 7 pools in total, ample sun loungers available. Again all pool areas have fantastic sea views & are kept spotlessly clean. All staff on resort are very friendly & will go out of their way to help. The pool bars are great. Our favourite was the "Mythos" pool bar. We ate at the Athena restaurant, the food is fantastic & so much choice to chose from. Everything was fresh, just delicious. The Tarverna attached to the Athena restaurant is wonderful, fantastic views as you enjoy your meal. The service was fantastic. The entertainment at the Helios bar is great. The Drifters & The Supremes tribute bands are a "must see". Greek night ends with a fab firework display. The variety of international branded drinks included on the all inclusive is the best I have ever experienced. The bar staff Christos, Giannis & Stematis are just amazing people who always greet you with a smile & go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. They work non stop and provide a fantastic & efficient service. Sani in reception is so helpful, hotel is located in a great location to explore the rest of Rhodes. A 10 minute taxi ride costing 12 Euros will take you to Rhodes Town. A 5minute bus journey costing 2euro from the outside of the hotel will take you to Faliraki where you will find the Waterpark. A must for a great fun filled day out. Of all the places I have travelled to this hotel really does have the WOW factor. My only wish is that the All inclusive should be available to all guests on the beach, as it's quite a walk back up to the pool bars. Other than this there isn't anything I could fault. The staff are what makes this resort coupled with its breath taking location, your certain to have a memorable holiday. I loved it that much I have already booked up to return next August :)) looking forward to seeing you all again next August from Lisa & Josh Xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Josh_Trimble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Having seen all the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor we booked this for 12 days half-board (family of 4).

The reality..... all the little things that go to making a great holiday were missing.
- Unable to purchase anything and charge it to the room... needed to always have cash to hand, even for a drink at the bar.... nearest cash-machine was 20 minutes walk
- Pools - all cold, no lifeguards in any of them, areas around the pool always wet and very slippy (as testified by at least two people with lower legs in casts while we were there)... token attempt to place matting around the pool but given this was several years old and uncared for was as dangerous as the tiled area. Top pool had infinity part but used as jumping platform by older children whilst others swam underneath.... did I mention no lifeguards!
- Food - bland... several pool bars and one beach bar serving exactly the same unadventurous fare.
- Beach towels - needed a 10 euro deposit each... + 3 euros each if you weren't all-inclusive... and you could only change them every three days
- Staff.... obviously the Greek austerity measures stretches to the hotel... conspicuous by their absence... one windy day saw the pool full of leaf debris... send a cleaner with a broom to clean it !
- Drinks - house wine/beer watered down
- WiFi - only works in a 10 metre radius of reception and even then you need to pay for it
- Gym - embarrassing...and they expect you to pay 6 euros a day for the privilege !
- Room - clearly unaltered since the 70s... like living on the set of Abigails Party
- Smell - if you're lucky and the wind is favourable it's just unpleasant... if you're not and the wind changes it's nauseous.

There were some positives... the beach was ok... even at 2.50 a sunbed... and the evening entertainment was actually good.

So, who are all these positive reviews by.... I can only assume if your idea of a cultured day out is a wander round JD Sports followed by a family meal at McDonalds you'd probably love it.

Would I recommend it, definitely not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here on 22nd August, check in very quick and taken to our room 346 in a minibus. Complex is very large, however nice that the blocks are not too close together and all you have to do is ring reception and they'll send someone to take you were you want to go. Lovely clean, spacious room with balcony and sea view, by the looks of it most rooms do have a sea view. Room was cleaned every day very efficient. Could not fault the staff at the hotel, they go the extra mile to help you. 3 pools to choose from, we chose to use the mythos pool as this was quieter and could get a sunbed even around 10am. Safari bar lovely, played pool here most days to get out the sun in the afternoon as it was scorching hot every day, and the lady who works there remembers you and works so hard she didn't have a day off the whole week we were there! Ate in the Athena restaurant, lots of variety and very good quality food, views spectacular over the sea miss sitting down to dinner to that! Overall amazing holiday, could not fault one thing about the hotel would definitely be returning :) just one negative, the entertainment could be better! And the reviews that you cannot get served at the bar don't know what they mean, yes it says table service but just walk up the steps and they will serve u straight away :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazandrews90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.6 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
1,321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
#9 of 72 in Faliraki
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Mare Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Mare Palace

Property: Kalithea Mare Palace
Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalithea Mare Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalithea Mare Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Mare Palace Hotel Kalithea
Mare Palace Hotel Kalithea
Kalithea Mare Palace Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing