We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pool; delicious food; fun entertainment; luxury hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodos Palladium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodos Palladium
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Lovely pool; delicious food; fun entertainment; luxury hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We have just returned from spending a throroughly luxurious and relaxing week at the Rodos Palladium. It is definitely the best 'holiday' hotel we have ever stayed in and I highly recommend it.

We travelled with our 9 year old son and 6 year old daughter. For them, the highlight of the holiday was really the pool, which was huge and amazingly quiet. There is a big lagoon section which about a metre deep all over, and a separate, deeper pool for jumping and diving into. They enjoyed swimming in the sea too - the hotel is right on the beach, which is shingle, but the sea is lovely and clean and a gorgeous azure blue.

We all loved the Waterpark, which is within easy walking distance of the hotel. The rides are very exciting and the staff very vigilant and safety-conscious (quite strict really, but we felt reassured by that). It was very quiet when we went in June and we didn't have to queue for any rides at all. We spent the whole day there and felt it was well worth the entrance fee. It was hot even in June, and I wished I had bought bandanas for the kids to wear to protect them from the sun as they ran around.

I can't understand thebad reviews I have read about the food in the Rodos Palladium. I am very fussy about the quality of my food and I thought the food was excellent. You can choose either a la carte or from the the buffet. Yes, the a la carte meals weren't huge, but then the idea is that you also get the chance to choose from the buffet. (The buffet offered masses of choice - pasta; meat dishes; fish; a whole counter of salads and lots of lovely puddings - plus an ice cream stall. For us it was perfect - the children really prefer the tried and tested - so for us it was great that spaghetti bolognaise was on offer most nights (only one of countless other choices). I enjoyed the a la carte choices and on different nights had a delicious aubergine dish; a huge piece of sea bass and some very tasty turkey. On other nights I chose from the buffet. I didn't have any concerns about the temperature of any of the food we ate (and I am very vigilant about this sort of thing). Breakfast was lovely too - just masses and masses of choice of everything you could possibly ever want to eat for breakfast.

The entertainment in the hotel was fun - we absolutely loved "The Supremes" - a girl groupfrom the UK I think, who sang some Motown numbers and had the most wonderful, spine tingling voices. Everyone got up and danced and we we disappointed when it came to an end.

Our family room was great. Spacious, sea view, decent beds for the children. Clean. Firm mattresses (which suit us). Good air con.

I really can't fault this hotel. Staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and polite. It felt luxurious. We had a lovely, lovely, relaxing week and would like to make a return visit. The service fron Thomson was great too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWLondonmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    293
    83
    26
    21
See reviews for
431
622
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bathgate
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Apparently according to the rep this hotel is in extreme danger of losing its platinum status and on the evidence of my recent visit this isnt hard to see why this might happen. The rooms are excellent cleaned on a daily basis, although my one complaint is this direction is the €7 a day charge for tea and coffee making facilities. As the food , the breakfast was adequate and plentiful but the evening meal which was offered was poor, a waiter service which consisted of a poor tasteless soups and a choice of three main courses which werent of the standard offered in a NHS hospital(i know I've eaten there). As for the buffet it was repetitve and unimaginative. Also remarkably for a greek hotel, no greek main courses were offered.

this hotel is advertised by a main tour operator as having evening entertainment, however this appeared to mainly consist of the same dance being performed to a different backing track. It was also done in the main reception area, which had few seats and restricted viewing. Now in a climate which offered evening temperatures in the 70s and perfectly good stage outside you might wondered why the entertainment wasnt offered from there. possibly something to do with increasing the sales of the overpriced drinks from the bar.
Some staff though not all, seemed to have the attitude that by giving us accomdation that they were doing us a favour. certain reception staff appeared to wish avoid speaking and would walk away.
All in all a poor holiday, could not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allygee243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I got married at the Rodos Palladium in 2009 and we went back this year for our first anniversary and weren't disappointed either time.
For the wedding we were upgraded to a suite (This was because it was available, I'm not sure if we'd have had this if the hotel was full) The Guest Relations person who organised our wedding has now left but I'm sure her replacement would be just as good.

If you are looking to get married this is a stunning location, the only downside is the beach is shingle but the sea is beautiful. Cushioned sunbeds on the beach as well as around the pool. The staff were so attentive on both trips, we couldn't fault them. The food was very nice, plenty of choice and we put together the wedding menu ourselves from a selection of what they offered. We had 55 guests at the wedding which they accomodated, even organising coach journey for our guests, babysitters for the 11 children we took while we had our mean (invaluable!) and the photographer from Koufos Fotos was also exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiered29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Came back to the Palladium after a three year break and we were once again not disappointed with the quality that oozes from this lovely hotel. We had made a request to have the same room as last time, but we were upgraded to a room with DVD player, sparkling wine on arrival, slippers and bathrobes and a seaview that was amazing.
The hotel prides itself on the attention to detail and the service to its clients, I can only say this has not dropped in the three years between trips.
Nice touches are there, when you arrive you are greeted on reception by your name and welcomed back to the Palladium.
Sure, the location is not the greatest, but why all the negative comments? You know when you book where the hotel is in relation to Kalithia and Faliraki and a short bus ride to both soon gets you to the nightlife. We enjoyed every evening out in Faliraki, but not for the trendy bars and clubs but for the welcoming Greek family owned bars. We have to pay special praise to two in particular 1)Simons Place, just follow the road from Chaplins bar and you will come across one of the most friendly Greek bar owners ever. He made us feel so welcome and we enjoyed the hospitallty he showed us.
2) Collosus Bar, at the cross roads of bar street and club street,such genuine people. When you have reached the end of the night a quick 5 euro taxi fare has you back into the reception of the Palladium.
I don't want to comment to much on the Hotels entertainment as, if we wanted or needed entertainment that we can't make for ourselves we would pick a Thomson Super Family, not the luxury of the Palladium. But that would be unfair on the Animation team as they do work hard from dawn till dusk to entertain.
We came away with the intention of one day in the not to distant future of returning to one of the best hotels ever.
That view from two adults and a 15 and 10 year old.
Thank you Rodos Palladium for a wonderful Holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oclamfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardiffUK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Had a lovely week here in May in this year . The weather was just right but we did have to complain about the food. The waiter served courses at dinner were poor on some nights, luke warm, tasteless soup and then a long wait for the main course which was quite small in quantity - so we often needed another visit to the buffet. The desserts were lovely though. Apart from the problem mentioned all the staff here are very friendly and efficient. The rooms are large and spotless. The public areas are very cool and smart and the pool areas are gorgeous, leading down to the shigle beach. The hotel evening entertainment needs beefing up a bit, although Georgiou on the piano every night is very good.
The bus service is very good here - just one euro into Faliraki, 2 euros into Rhodes town and 4 euros to Lindos. We would return if the food reviews get better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in may 2010 and found the hotel, the staff and all the facilities exellent, however the food let it down badly, not only was the food repatative it was also cold. On one occasion I called the manager to test the temprature of the food and together we went round the various dishes with a thermometer he said that this he did regulary and that the food should be 65 degrees most of the hot food section was below 55 degrees and one chicken dish which had just come from the kitchen was 45 degrees. 11 nights they spagehetti bolagnaise and not on any night did they do a Moussaka which I would expect in Greece. I have also learnt from the Thomson rep they had had numerous complaints regarding the food and infact had sent the local manager to test this and had found the same problem with the food.

I understand that the Chef is new there this season as the previous chef is to be employed by a new hotel across the road ( Owned by the same company ) it is my opinion that unless they get a new chef & quickly there will be more views like this.

If a new Chef was employed I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in returning, as previously stated this hotel is Fantastic but for the food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lockie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Just returned from one week of pampered luxery everybody so helpful and friendly.Look out for Maria in the dining room she is a whirlwind of loving caring efficiency just willing to please,the staff cannot do enough for you.
We stayed in a superior room which had so much storage space ie wardrobes and drawers it was great and the bathroom was serviced twice a day with fresh bath towels etc.
would loved to have stayed longer but the volcanic cloud was uncooperative!
Val & Ken Hefford

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank effyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.3 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
1,484 reviews
4.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
2,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
4.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
1,898 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Palladium

Property: Rodos Palladium
Address: Rodou - Kallithea Avenue | P.O. Box 180, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#3 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rodos Palladium 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more awards than any other hotel in the island, Rodos Palladium has earned a reputation to please even the most demanding holidaymakers. This premier class resort occupies a prominent position on the Blue Flag-awarded beach of Kallithea, just 8 km from Rhodes and offers a relaxing and stress free holiday environment. A vast amount of leisure facilities, superb restaurants and bars and entertainment shows ensure that Rodos Palladium has everything to offer be it to individuals, couples or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodos Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Palladium Kalithea
Rodos Palladium Hotel Kalithea
Rodos Palladium Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing