We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a Great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at La Marquise. We originally booked a Luxury room and upon our arrival we were kindly upgraded to a Junior suite in the adults only section of the hotel.
This hotel is shaped like a small luxurious village where there is a main building (which includes the reception, main dining hall, some rooms, 2 bars and a restaurant), a general section and an adults only section. It is very big and they offer golf carts with drivers to take you around if needed.
The adults only section was a blessing as the rooms in the main building didn't look as good and the general section was full of small loud kids which were unbearable - I truly recommend for couples to get a room in that section.
The pool was too cold for the season so we barely got in, which was a shame cause it's really beautiful. Dinner at the De Vinci main dining restaurant was good as they change the food every evening (greek/asian/italian/sea food etc.), breakfast was also good though repeatative - the dining staff was extremely nice, note that drink during dinner are extra charge.
The hotel has it's own beach which is very nice but it is also located in an area with a lot of nice beaches so we traveled around too (taxi to Anthony Queen's beach was 13eu and to Lindos it was 55eu). There are public buses with an off schedule to Rhodes Town (2.20eu, 20 min ride) and to Lindos (4.5eu, 60min ride).

Room Tip: The adults only section was a blessing as the rooms in the main building didn't look as good and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuvit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Marquise_Rhodes, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for having posted your experience further your recent vacation at La Marquise Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had a great vacation at La Marquise Hotel and that you truly appreciated the adult’s only section as our services and facilities as well.
It’s our goal to provide the highest level of service for our dear guests and to let them feel most relaxed and comfortable while staying with us.
We will be happy to welcome you back at La Marquise hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    454
    162
    46
    30
See reviews for
782
1,004
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had no real desire for visiting Greece , my husband is a fussy eater who likes English food only , you get the picture. La Marquise Hotel was recommended to us by friends and family. Beautiful pools & lovely rooms were the draw. We booked the 'Adults Only Junior Suite' which are highly recommended if you have no children with you. It is quieter but also the pools are deeper in parts than you will find in the family accommodation allowing for an Olympic swim .. if you are that way inclined . Each room has it's own table and chairs , also a sun bed per person. No hassle over reserving beds . We arrived late at night / early morning , check in was swift , and a bell boy was there immediately to take us and our luggage by golf cart straight to our room . There was a bottle of wine & some fresh fruit laid out on the table , tea and coffee facilities. A litre bottle of water in the fridge (think though that you had to ask at the bar for any subsequent bottles ?) Staff are lovely and welcome guests back from not just La Marquise visits , but who we found had actually followed the excellent staff from earlier holidays ! The friendliness was evident by the hugs and greetings frequently seen around the hotel. A special thank you to Nikos ( Maitre d'hotel) who seems to be everywhere sorting things out for guests in such a friendly manner. He really is a gem. Also making every guest at any bar feel so special is Lazarus ( Manager of Hotel Bars ) who flies around from bar to bar making sure every guest is seated where they wish and served quickly. And all with a smile . How do they do it ? we found ourselves asking every day. I
The only disappointment for me personally was the Spa . Located down a ramp outside of the reception entrance, I booked for a back massage . Reception was not able to do this I had to visit the Spa to make an appointment. I did so and returned later that day , I had found that I was entitled to a free day visit during my stay ( being all inclusive) No advice regarding this , the girl on the desk seemed a bit baffled ?? I paid 35 euro for a 30 minute massage during which the girl ignored me telling her I had a lower back injury , she only noticed when I screamed out in pain.!... On going to the desk to pay , again I was not made to feel welcome as she told me '' No .. this is only for other guests '' Eh ? who ? Obviously these staff are not a part of La Marquise Hotel .anyway , aside from this I unfortunately had a fall when going for the little train which runs outside of the hotel , we got a taxi back even though it was only over the road because I feared I had broken my ankle. Nikos was there with a huge first aid bag , treated my cut knee and the lovely Michael brought some ice from the bar in a table cloth ! It was decided we should call the doctor , who seems to be affiliated to the hotel and so was there within minutes , The private hospital was about a 10 min journey by taxi and I was soon returned to the hotel after x rays with what was a badly sprained ankle all bandaged up. Injections to guard against thrombosis because we were due to fly home next day. It seemed that all of the staff knew of my fall and I felt such a fraud as everywhere I went they were asking how I was , they were lovely . Even the waitresses at the buffet offering to fetch my food for me to save me hobbling about .. ah bless them. We ate in the A la carte L'Etoile Restaurant on the rooftop which is wonderful, the staff again are a treasure. Can absolutely recommend the Veal . We also enjoyed after dinner a brilliant show from an El Divo tribute who made it a wonderful experience to listen to music under the stars . Another night we enjoyed an excellent rock band who had a brilliant variety of music surprisingly. So... a beautiful hotel , wonderful staff , bed turned down each night , blue skies over the wonderful pools each day .. and a heavenly breeze just to take the heat off . Isn't this what holidays are about? If it sounds like your cup of tea... get booking. We never go back twice to a place , but we might to La Marquise x

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully located, but if travelling as a couple then the Adult Only section is wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patty444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Marquise_Rhodes, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable holiday in Rhodes despite the unfortunate accident you had outside the hotel and would like to wish you a fast recovery.
All our staff give their very best to ensure that guests at La Marquise have a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and feel genuinely grateful that this was acknowledged in your review, as this is by far the best way to reward all of us working in this resort.
Rest assured that your further comments in regards to our spa personnel have not gone unnoticed; our General Manager felt immediately concerned after reading your review and has already instigated an investigation on the matter. Please accept our apology for any dissatisfaction felt in regards to the service delivered.
Once again thank you for choosing La Marquise for your stay; we very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at La Marquise at some point in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in La Marquise in early September and thought it was a good resort. There were a few minor hiccups but that wouldn’t prevent us from visiting again.

Check-in was smooth and quick. We booked a suite with sea views which was in the main building. We much preferred it to the pool view rooms which we thought experienced noise from the families with young children sunbathing and swimming right outside the balconies or the music from the various speakers. They also didn’t have particularly interesting views. There is adult only accommodation with its own two pools which appeared quieter.

The accommodation is of a high standard. The suite was spacious and had a large balcony with nice views of the sea. Complimentary fruit and a bottle of wine greeted us on arrival which was a nice touch. Bathroom was good size and had a bath and a shower. We had problems with the shower leaking which flooded the bathroom and made it very difficult to use the toilet. We reported the problem to the reception staff and after reporting it for three days and nothing being done about it we asked to speak to the manager who offered to fix the problem or provide a different room. We asked for the leaking to be fixed and eventually it was made better, but it was not entirely fixed as there was still a small leak. We decided that it didn’t really bother us that much but thought it would be good to inform the reception nevertheless. Despite doing this, nothing further was done to stop the leaking. We thought it was curious that the hotel wouldn’t want to fix the problem for good. Anyway, this didn’t spoil our stay at all. What we did find a bit amusing was that the shampoo and shower gel came combined in one in a dispenser rather than the individual small toiletries, which is more suited to a much cheaper type accommodation rather than a 5 star luxury resort. Also, don’t expect any of the standard freebies such as vanity kit, shower cap, etc.

The food served in the main restaurant is buffet style, plentiful, varied and tasty, but it does get a bit repetitive after a few days, even though the range of choice (particularly for hot dishes) does change all the time. There are differently themed nights aside from the regular menu, Asian, Italian, Seafood and Greek. The food was frequently replenished with all range of choices available at all times. Desserts were a bit samey and some felt mass produced. You normally get one meal in the a la carte restaurant on AI. If you stay in a suite you are able to have an a la carte every night, subject to advance booking, which we would recommend. We went three times, the service was impeccable, the food delicious, tasty, beautifully presented and you also get a glass of fizz with an amuse-bouche. Drinks on AI vary between the restaurants and the bar. In the restaurants you get basics such as wine and beer and in the bar you also get a variety of cocktails, spirits with mixers plus, of course, soft drinks and water. There is only house wine on AI; we thought white undrinkable and we made do with rose which was fine.

Infrequent buggies offer a free service to the beach, which is only about a 5 minute walk. The beach is a mixture of sand and pebbles so swimming shoes are helpful. The sea was warm and crystal clear. The sun loungers and sun umbrellas are free for the hotel guests. The beach is well maintained, there are changing facilities, toilets, showers and a beach bar which is not part of AI. We preferred the beach to the pools. For one thing it was quieter. We did make use of the pools though as the pool design was amazing and water slightly cooler which provided for a refreshing swim on hot days; mornings generally seemed to be the best time to go as there were fewer people and children about.

There is also a customer relations executive, a helpful lady who provides information on and sells trips around Rhodes and to nearby islands, a rent-a-car company and a small supermarket.

The staff were very very friendly, especially in the bars and dining areas. However, the reception staff appeared somewhat cold in comparison. After a few days the constant smiling and polite greetings, wherever we went, made the impression of being in the Stepford Wives film. It felt surreal at times, like being in a bubble and then the sensation became that of a microcosm when everything is a sort of mechanically performed according to a set of carefully designed processes and the ever accompanying smiling. It was this constant smiling which eventually evoked the images of the smiling characters in Soundgarden’s Black Hole Sun video.

The Al lasted until we left the hotel (not until 12 noon check-out time which we have read elsewhere). We didn’t leave the hotel until early evening so had lunch and drinks from the bar during the afternoon. They also provided a room free of charge to change and shower after check-out time, or charge 60EUR for late checkout. Funnily enough, that shower also leaked.

Holidays are all about enjoying different experiences and we enjoyed La Marquise despite a few little snags and comical impressions. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Marquise_Rhodes, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention as well as for sharing your experience following your recent stay at La Marquise Hotel.
We are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would choose to recommend our property to other holidaymakers.
Thank you also for highlighting the high accommodation standards; La Marquise is regarded as one of the most luxurious five star hotels in Rhodes and feel very grateful that this has also been acknowledged in your review.
That being said, we felt rather surprised with the leaking shower issue reported, considering that the hotel rooms and facilities are in an immaculate condition. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and would like to assure you that although faults do occur in all hotels, we have very few and isolated complaints of this nature.
We are also sorry for any delay experienced in addressing the issue; this may have been caused due to an unfortunate miscommunication between the departments involved as our maintenance team has a very good record in resolving issues on time. In any case we are glad to read that this issue did not prove to have a negative impact in your holiday.
Regarding the common dispenser for the shampoo and the shower gel , kindly note that such practice is becoming a trend in the hotel sector for various reasons including being more practical for the guests as well as having a significantly less environmental footprint just to name a few.
At this moment, we would like to thank you for your very favorable comments in regards to the hotel’s cuisine and level of service; this is much appreciated by all of us working in La Marquise.
As pointed out in your review there are several themed nights organized every week on top of the rich variety of dishes offered in the main restaurant and can assure you that we are constantly working on improving and extending our menu.
As far as the all inclusive board is concerned, please note that this is explained in great detail in both the hotel’s website and the tour operators’ brochures. La Marquise does not advertise to offer a premium all inclusive board but still offers a large variety of beverages to cater for all tastes and an even larger variety of premium beverages and cocktails for the more demanding guests.
We believe that we genuinely have a very friendly attitude and felt sadden to note that in certain cases this was perceived not to be sincere; we would like to reassure you that this is not the case.
Once again thank you for choosing La Marquise Hotel for your stay; we very much hope to welcome you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I booked in for 4 nights prior to travelling further down the coast to Lindos to continue a villa holiday with friends. We booked the VIP Panoramic Suite with a "No Worries" package. First impressions of our Suite were excellent and as pictured on the hotel website. Rooms spacious and well furnished with nice touches such as fruit and wine on arrival, luxury toiletries, bath robes and slippers. Our private pool and terrace was well equipped with 2 sun loungers, 2 chairs and a table and a double futon lounger with canopy. Being on the end of the row of Suites we had an additional large balcony facing out over the sea, as well as the upstairs balcony from our bedroom. Both were also equipped with 2 chairs and a table - a nice spot for a morning cuppa.
We found the service at the main bar to be excellent and spent most evenings sat at the bar having our drinks replenished quickly ( maybe too quickly for my own good ! ) and cheerily by the friendly bar staff. We found the drinks included on the no worries package to be very good with plenty of choice to suit all. Food was also excellent, fabulous choice and great quality. We had no complaints at all and also enjoyed a meal in the A La Carte Restaurant one evening (included in the no worries package) and found this to be excellent also.
Bed was very comfortable with a great choice of pillows and the air con very efficient and quiet. As it was our anniversary the hotel also surprised us with a cake and a bottle of bubbly which was lovely, though we failed to eat all of the cake after over indulging in the splendid hotel food.
Our only complaint would be that the water in our pool was freezing, and I mean freezing. We are used to pools being cold abroad but this was exceptionally so and meant we were unable to use it during our stay. I defy the management of the hotel to get into the pools and stay in for more than a minute !
We would definitely recommend this hotel to others but it was disappointing to pay quite considerably for a private pool that was too cold to use and hope the management address this issue so that their guests stay is even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Marquise_Rhodes, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments online after your recent stay at La Marquise Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback on our services and facilities, as we continuously strive to make our dear guests’ holidays a relaxing and memorable experience.
We felt sorry to note your disappointment with the private pool temperature, although our outside pools are not advertised as heated like in the spa inside pool, and would like to apologize for this minor detail. On the other hand, we are very pleased to note that you remained satisfied with the VIP Panoramic Suite as the hotel’s services as well and that overall everything was excellent at La Marquise Hotel during your stay with us.
We will be truly happy to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to La Marquise Hotel in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutton,Nr Preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for ourselves and 6 other friends and family as were attending our sons wedding. We had previously visited the hotel when were looking where to stay and were not disappointed. From the beautiful furnishings throughout the hotel, delicious food, spacious pool areas/gardens and helpful staff we could not fault it. Rose Marie, the Guest relations staff, deserves a special mention as she was extremely helpful and sorted numerous requests for us. All of us had a fabulous time and we would have no qualms at recommending this hotel. THANK YOU.

Room Tip: If going without children the Adults only area is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Marquise_Rhodes, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Marquise Hotel on Tripadvisor; this is highly appreciated by all of us here.

We are very pleased to note that you had a fabulous time in our resort and that you remained satisfied with all hotel aspects.
We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel should you decide to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

There were 22 of us booked in for my sisters wedding, the hotel is beautiful, rooms are beautiful, pools are beautiful...however, the room my friend and myself were placed in was named #poogate!! You could see everything through the large window conecting the bathroom to the room, the blind did nothing to cover any modesty. We worked through this. When we arrived our air conditioning was broken, I felt like I had troubled reception to fix it, due to early hours, we understood it may not be possible for someone to come immediately, but come 11pm the next day and a further 3 calls, someone arrived. Technical hitch sorted finally, unfortunately that was only the beginning. Had to ask for extra toilet roll, shower screen badly broken, no shower gel in provided gel boxes, room supposed to be cleaned every day, we had two days missed. All inclusive? Be very careful, they don't provide wrist bands and only provide one card per couple (not room cards, you get one each of them) one particular evening, four of us from our party were frog marched over to reception to verify we were all inclusive. This was highly embarrassing in front of everyone, we mentioned wrists bands would solve this promlem, but the hotel responded that they look tacky - marching customers and demanding room numbers isn't bad? Fortunately la marquise had one wonderful manager, where nothing was to much trouble and made you feel ever so welcome, his name is Nikos and was fantastic, he happened to be walking past reception as we were handing out room numbers, all sorted within minutes. Food, food had to be eaten in the restaurant, if you wanted to eat lunch in the outside area, you had to pay for it, a few snacks were placed on the bars at 4pm but only sausage rolls or hotdogs were ever seen. If you fancied eating after the restaurant closed, you literally had to order room service (at a cost) and then take it back to the bar, I managed to pursuade room service to deliver to the bar, but you would have thought I was asking for a banquet! The restaurant was also a little sexist towards men, women could wear whatever they wanted, including short shorts, however men were refused access if they were not wearing trousers, even long shorts were not allowed. I have reviewed a fair few hotels on here and I have never made any complaints, always been honest. La marquise is a beautiful hotel but its services let it down, its a shame as the hotel really has potential. More staff need to take a note out of Niko's book and the hotel needs to offer all inclusive services, including food outside set times.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephhartburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Marquise_Rhodes, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
We are very concerned to read that you experienced certain issues during your stay with us and would like to offer our deepest apology for any inconvenience felt.
Thank you for all the positive comments as well as for the suggestions made on how to improve our resort; we value each and every feedback received and can assure you that your remarks have already been relayed to the General Manager’s attention.
We were rather surprised with the comment made in regards to the room’s bathroom window as such glass panels can turn into transparent or hide view accordingly at the press of a button. This feature enables guests to have a better view while taking a bath and can only apologize if such advanced room amenity was misunderstood.
We would also like to apologize should there was a small delay in rectifying the issue with your air conditioning unit. Our technicians take note of all faults but have to act upon a first come first served basis which sometimes leaves the impression that a fault reported had been forgotten; please rest assured that this is not the case.
Our housekeepers clean all rooms every day unless there is a do not disturb sign on or unless the guest advises them to skip the room. Kindly note the evening service (turndown service) is only available on certain room categories and can only apologize if you felt that there was an issue with this department. Having said that, we would like to stress that cleanliness of the resort is of paramount important to us and that our maids do clean and replenish toiletries on a daily basis. Needless to say, we have recorded this incident and of course we will investigate this further with the Head Housekeeper.
We have also noted your comments in regards to the All Inclusive wrist bands however such method was deemed to be inappropriate to use for our hotel. As you can appreciate, all systems have certain flaws and would like to assure you that we are doing our best to improve ours so as to avoid any inconvenience caused to guests that forget to have their card with them.
As for the term used (frog marched), we are sorry but feel that this is greatly exaggerated and unfair to the hotel.
Although we do welcome the further comments made please do understand that hotels have policies for a reason. Your all inclusive entitlement clearly states that all meals are served in the main restaurant and while we appreciate you would prefer to have them on the hotel’s a la carte restaurants this is operationally not possible hence not advertised.
As far as the room service is concerned, we are glad to note that our team had gone the extra mile and made an exception in this case although do note that this was a rather unusual request that very few hotels would have met.
Once again thank you for your review and for the comments made; we value all feedback received, evaluate them and take corrective action when and if deemed necessary.
We very much hope that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our resort in the not so distant future.
Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights in this resort during September 2013. While nicely designed (more of a resort than the horrible honeycomb massive hotels in the area) the service in at the level of an average 4-star, far from the quality you expect from a top end, and definitely not worth the money you pay for it.

The good: The resort has several pools nearby the different buildings, which guarantees a quiet experience and lots of privacy. In our case, we booked a "Junior Suite" in the "Adults Only" area, which gave us a very quiet stay, with the pool almost for ourselves during the day.

The ugly: Since day-1 I complained about a very unpleasant smell in the room, which smelled like open sewage, especially with the bathroom door open. Several requests remained unanswered ("we will send the technician", but nobody did decent thing of checking back if the problem was solved). My request to change to a different room was denied first ("we are fully booked") and then I was offered a similar room in the non adults area (which I declined, as this is not what I paid for). I escalated the issue to the Customer Relations Director, who took note of the claim and promised to take care of it. The smell remained there for my entire vacation. At the time of checking out, I explained to her how unhappy I was about this. Her answer was "I asked this to be checked by maintenance department, but obviously the solution was not complete. Why you did not complained again to me"? She was baffled when I told her that after several complain, I gave up on my expectations to solve the issue. Poor customer service for a serious issue.

The rest:

Dining room: The quality of the food was average at best, and by any means close to a 5 star experience. Little creativity in the menu, same boring sweet table every day, same 4 boring ice cream flavors. Cheap choice of cured meats (their "ham" looked like mortadella at best). Few diet options, few options for vegetarians, First courses were repetitive and plain. Despite that, their waiters/waitresses were very kind and accommodating, making the overall experience a bit nicer.

Their reception staff was not very well trained. I expect a 5-star hotel to accommodate simple basic requests. e.g. my request for 2 extra pool towels was answered by a "not possible, we only supply 1 per guest", and only after an "escalation to management" was granted the right of getting 2 more. Another annoying answer was "I don't know" when I asked how can get information about an excursion to Lindos. They referred me to my tour operator, and when I told them I made my own reservations, she receptionist ran out of options).

"Junior Suite" rooms are spacious and nicely designed. The ground floor ones have a private "patio" with their own pool chair - very nice, while the ones in the first floor have a much smaller balcony, with no space for the pool chair. So you have to go downstairs and play the "reserve my chair" annoying game before someone else does it. As I said before, not a lot pf people at the pool, still just a few chairs in the common area. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms well equipped with a bath tub and a separate power shower. Room furniture was standard. Mini-bar fridge empty.

Entertainment/Connectivity: Wi-Fi at the room was very poor and intermittent. If/when connected, the router would disconnect you every 2 hours. We were provided with an Ethernet cable, and the service improved somewhat. TV service was quite below average, with little choice of channels, and no choice of premium channels. 6 channels were "La Marquise" static portal with no content. VOD was abominable, with few movies that nobody knows. Their "100 movies" offer is based of these few movies, plus many "shorts" they count as "movies". A rip off we did not paid for.

We did not make use of their private beach, which was very rocky anyway. Beach bar is not included in the "all inclusive" package.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Marquise_Rhodes, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
We are very concerned to read that there were certain issues that caused some level of unhappiness during your stay with us and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Having read your review, we feel that some of the comments made were exaggerated as a result of the alleged bad smell in the room. We are very sorry should such an issue occurred although we never had any similar complaints in the past and as you can appreciate the hotel is just 3 years old with all equipment and facilities being at an immaculate state.
The hotel has been working at full capacity since May this year and although we try to help guests in changing rooms once availability permits so, this is not always possible soon after a request is made. In your case we did offer to change you in the same room category booked (Junior Suite) in the non adults-only section as this was the only available option at the time, something that was declined by yourself. We are sorry if you felt that we could have done something more in this case and would like to reassure you that if we could, we would have offered another suitable alternative.
For the record, our maintenance team did inspect the room during your absence and could not find any faults; although to no consolation to you, this issue has been logged and will be investigated further. We do apologize for any dissatisfaction felt in this regard.
As far as the hotel’s cuisine is concerned, we have very positive feedback for both, the quality and variety offered in our resort and felt sadden to read your impression in this regard. We hand pick all our suppliers at the beginning of the season and order the finest ingredients in the market and can only apologize again if you felt that the quality offered was average. That being said, please do note this view is not shared by the majority of our guests.
We are also sorry if you felt that our reception team was not accommodating enough; as in all hotels there are policies that employees have to abide to and only the hotel’s management can take a decision to overrule them. As you can appreciate allowing guests to pick up multiple fresh towels on demand in such large scale resorts as La Marquise, puts a heavy strain to various departments, not to mention the environmental footprint that this process leaves behind. We are sorry if you felt that 1 clean towel per person per day was not enough and are happy to note that your request for additional ones was eventually met.
As you can appreciate our receptionists are knowledgeable of the island and can provide information when requested but are not allowed to suggest companies for excursions or arrange them on behalf of guests. In fact this is a term that is also noted in most tour operator contracts that actual prevents hotels to do so.
We constantly improve our network infrastructure to provide the best possible service; this includes time restrictions when a connection is idle as described in your review as well as QoS and load balancing rules just to name a few. Nowadays, most guests carry smart phones that automatically connect to the WiFi network and such measures aim to reduce unnecessary burdens on the network when this is not indented to be used by the guests.
On a positive note, we are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the privacy provided in the resort at the Adults-only section and that you did praise the service at the restaurant despite initially complaining about the service levels as a whole.
Once again we would like to thank you for the comments made; we always try to provide the best service possible and up to now we have managed to establish our hotel as one of the finest five star hotels in Rhodes.
We hope that perhaps you might consider visiting us again should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.
With respect,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
4.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
25.4 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex

Property: La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Address: Ammoudes Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kallithea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Hotel Kalithea
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing