We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in its first year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in its first year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent a week at La Marquise and thought overall everything was absolutely superb.
We booked through Thomson, and our standard garden room was upgraded to a junior suite, which complimentary bottle of wine and plate of fruit waiting upon arrival.

There have been a few negative comments from previous reviewers relating to large incentive groups of particular nationalities being rude and pushing and shoving in the main buffet restaurant. Since then if there is a high occupancy with one of these groups other guests are given the option of eating at the a la carte Gondola restaurant providing a set menu.
We were able to eat at the Gondola three times thanks to two of these groups staying and Thomson guests can take a free visit to the Gondola per stay.

As it is now out of season there was never any crowding issues, and we always went to the buffet restaurant when it opened so it was quieter and all the food was hot.
Other reviewers have commented the food was cold, but the food was only going cold because the other guests were leaving the serving platters open.

Staff were all incredibly pleasant, particularly in the buffet restaurant where every member of staff bent over backwards to help and nothing was ever too much trouble. Be nice to them, they'll be nice to you. Reception could have been a little more helpful. There were a couple of waiters in the a la carte restaurant who were a little bit surly but they soon loosened up.

Crowding was never an issue because there are several pools across the site designed for the guests staying in their particular area of the hotel. We never went to the main pool in the main building but the pool bar was in our area.
Other reviewers are quite right about the pools, they are freezing but once you are in the water for a minute you soon warm up. But they could do with a little pool heating.

This hotel is very much a work in progress as it has only been open for a few months and they are still working out teething problems. We were invited to a cocktail reception with the management to tell them about our stay and any suggestions on how they can improve. Give it a couple of years and this will be a really impressive hotel.

Also worth pointing out the wifi was problematic in areas other than the lobby when we first arrived but I was able to use wifi everywhere around the site with no reception problems.

My final point is about the all inclusive package that we upgraded to. Not EVERYTHING is included, but the menu in the bar areas clearly states what is included (local beer, soft drinks, tea and coffee as well as house wine). Other items are cheaper for all inclusive guests. It's definitely worth the cost of upgrading because the drink prices are pretty high.

After a week at La Marquise we didn't want to come home, and if we return to Rhodes in the future would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Superior rooms for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteJCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Director of Sales at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share online your experience in our hotel.
After reading carefully all your points, we really believe that YOUR answers to other previous reviews are the greatest reward and advertisement for La Marquise. Most important though is that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and we are very glad for that.
We truly wish to have the honor and the great pleasure to welcome you again at La Marquise Hotel in the not so distant future! Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    452
    160
    45
    29
See reviews for
773
998
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

great new hotel, fancy rooms, tasty food, very recommended,
need to cross the road to get to the hotel's beach, but it wasn't matter to us,
we enjoyed very much from our vacation in this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Director of Sales at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed very much your vacation and that you found our new hotel great as well as the rooms and the tasty food.

We look forward to welcome you again at the La Marquise hotel. Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed 31 August to 7 September, booked with Thomson Platinum. The timing was perfect (outside school holidays) as hotel was lively but not at all hectic. We were a family group of four - aged 18 to 84 - with one of us using a wheelchair.

We had very high expectations (even though we had read the negative as well as positive reviews here) and these were exceeded. All four of us would return here - and hope to do so for a late Spring break in 2012. The main positives are:

a) La Maquise hotel itself was really top quality. The main public areas (inside and outside) are luxurious and super clean. In this sense a true 5* standard. We were upgraded to two adjoining ground level luxury rooms in the main building (3rd floor) mainly because the hotel thought they would suit my disabled mother. They were right! See below for few ideas to make things even better. Rooms were always cleaned promptly and well, We had our own sunbeds, tables and chairs. Pool staff very attentive and helped by bring us a portable sunshade. We spent happy days by other pools too-Gondola area and Spa area great too.

b) The food was fantastic - quality and choice just too tempting! As others have commented, two people are really outstanding - the Maitre d'Hotel, Ioannis Kostakis and his colleague, Maitre Nikos Sfakianakis. However ALL Da Vinci restaurant staff were really, really good - attentive, quick, friendly (Stefan, Elizavet, Voila ???).

c) Crystal Bar and entertainment suited us really well. Relaxing and NOT organised fun! Top marks to barman Julian. Enjoyed The Drifters, The Beatles but all evenings were good (Greek Night, Latin night, Il Divo).

d) We ventured out a few times - day in Rhodes lovely but couple of hours in Faliraki not so good even though the sand is nice there! The beach at hotel suited us - reception staff arranged for Golf Buggy to take us there and pick us up. Water warm - though lots of stones!

Misecellaneous.....

Staff wanted to make sure they were doing the right thing for disabled travellers (especially Vasilis on reception) and asked for feedback. Steps into pools are good but I do think that they need to install some chairlifts into some of the pools. Also need to finish off bathroom by installing more shelving.

The General Manager (Michael Karayiannis) and Guest Relations Manager (Rosemarie De Pauw) hosted a cocktail reception on our second full day. They were actively asking for feedback - and not at all defensive.

Maybe some iced tap water in jugs could be offered in Da Vinci?

All in all - a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Director of Sales at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service and facilities our guests have every right to expect and to which we are committed to offer.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at La Marquise Hotel in the near future! Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for the weekend, the hotel is nice, the exterior is amazing but the design indoors is quite ugly.. As written in previous reviews, the reception staff is not friendly at all.. They gave us a room in the main building but all in all I think it's better since the swimming pool in the main building is much nicer and very quiet if youre a couple without kids, the beach is very nice also but it very hot to walk there. All in all the hotel is very nice and it's a good getaway for the weeken

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shufel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Director of Sales at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
We have taken very seriously the point you have raised about the reception staff and after checking all others reviews , we have decided to change the whole team for 2012. It is not our principles to stop collaboration with employees from the beginning, but we could not accept such remarks from our clients about politeness and friendless staff of the Reception, which is the mirror of our hotel.
Thanking you once again for your kind comments and really hope to welcome you back at La Marquise Hotel in the near future. With respect,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great hotel, we arrived on thurthday at 4 p.m. we got an wonderfull luxury room that views the pool . The room was really clean felt as like the bellagio at vegas! yup great service at the reception for all our needs , the food is incredible you don't wanna stop eating! the pool is amazing i never saw something like that (the water are abit cold)..
I think that for the price you pay (quite high actually) you get the highest level you can get on the island !
Tips: chek in late (you don't wanna wait some hours like some people i saw..), enjoy the pool as much as you can it is really a nice 1 , on your way back to the airport i think it's better taking a cab so you won't wait the long line.. , last some flights are been delayed so be reddy with some music or other stuff .
Enjoy .

Room Tip: This hotel is booked up all time so you want to book atleast one mounth befor you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_brock_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Director of Sales at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,
We would like to thank you for this excellent feedback on Trip Advisor site. We were delighted to read your comments in which you praise hotel’s products and services. But our greatest pleasure was to know that we managed to make you feel during your stay as like the Bellagio at Vegas!
Once again, allow us to thank you for your kind review. Such positive feedbacks are very rewarding to us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were part of a large group of people that came for 3 nights on AI basis. It turned out that the AI concept is partly implemented. You could have only part of the menu. for other parts you had to pay full or half price (sparkling water for example), and that was valid only part of the time and not in all bars...
The hotel is very beautiful and well maintained. Most rooms face a sweeming pool, public or private. We had a private pool room, which was big, comfortable and clean. Down side was that it was far from the restaurant and the rest of the group, but that's the other side of the privacy coin....
Food was good, wide selection, and good quality. Service was ok, not more than that.
The beach is 200 meters away, but it worth it, as it's very clean and beautiful.
There's nothing around but other hotels, so you are totaly dependent on the hotel services. If you want to eat somwhere else you have to take a bus, taxi or rent a car.

Room Tip: don't take rooms in the main building, as it has no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoavbenarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Director of Sales at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for having shared with us your impressions about La Marquise in Rhodes.
We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, despite some minor issues encountered, which of course have been taken into consideration by us.
Allow us only to reply to the room tip provided, since the rooms on the main building do have a roof swimming pool, which is located on the third floor, opposite to the Luna Panoramic Bar.
Once more, we would like to thank you for having brought your constructive feedback to our attention, and we hope to welcome you back in our resort. With respect,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pewsey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

we were upgraded to a junior suite which was very well appointed.pool areas are lovely,although the water is freezing.we purchased a film and internet package. the internet was not worth having and the films were good but we did not require the five porn films that came within the package.breakfast and evening meals were chaotic and not at all relaxing.it felt like a school dinner hall.we walked around with empty plates looking at empty food trays.the food that was available was unappetizing and cold.the route to the beach is a mess and the private beach area very disappointing.very little to do in this huge complex,evening entertainment is very poor.nothing to do outside the complex either. weather was fantastic.not a cloud in the sky all week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iandebdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Director of Sales at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for appreciating our upgrade to junior suite and its very well appointment. At the same time, we were surprised to see the misunderstanding with the Pay TV packages while we do offer individual rates for each film or special packages for one, three, five or even 14 days, including all categories of films, as well as Internet.
Also, we do not understand your comment for the school dinner hall, especially when there were no children during this specific period. We did have such matter in August, but not in September.
Concerning your remark about our hotel beach, it is indeed regrettable there was such an issue, although as we mentioned in previous reviews, not caused by the hotel, but only by bureaucratic delays of the required license for improvement of the beach. We managed to overcome those in order to have the pleasure on the new season to present to our clients a beautifully landscaped beach with bar on the spot, benches and palms on the access.
Please note as well that our hotel offers light ambient animation with a variety of themes shows 5 days a week. Nevertheless we took notice of your suggestion to further enrich our entertainment program.
Finally, we assure you that it is with all seriousness that we take our guests comments into consideration. We had already put into place the necessary measures to improve on the imperfections perceived.
Once again thank you for your comments and very much hope to welcome you again at La Marquise Hotel in the not so distant future. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.7 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
25.1 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex

Property: La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Address: Ammoudes Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Hotel Kalithea
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing