We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous La Marquise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marvelous La Marquise”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at La Marquise 13/7 for 1 week. This is a truly first class resort. From the amazing entrance reception welcome to the twice daily maid service, every aspect of the accommodation is worthy of the 5 stars!
We booked a superior room however on arrival we were upgraded to a Junior Suite (room 4032) which was quite simply stunning. This had a shared pool, just a few steps out of the room and you were more or less in your own private pool area. Staff were very pleasant and George the Operations Manager was more than helpful when we had a slight glitch with out air con, he was always seen chatting to guests!
The only niggle that i had was the location. Not much happening around La Marquise, only two restaurants near by and a 40 min walk into Faliraki (although buses are very regular and cheap). Also the entertainment is not what i would have expected from a 5 star hotel, it was fairly basic and finished very early.
We had a great stay and would recommend to anyone wanting luxury in a quite area.

Room Tip: ground floor, pool area. NOT main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linnyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    460
    165
    46
    32
See reviews for
792
1,029
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I am currently staying at la marquise and I strongly recommend it to everyone!!! this is the best hotel in rhodes!!! In the past, i ve stayed in 5 * hotels and never felt like i am in paradise. I ve read all the bad reviews in this site and I have to say that they are inacurate and untrue.
-the receptionist are very friendly, and all the stuff are trying very hard to please everyone.
- rooms spacious and luxurious with modern and expensive furniture, they clean every day, and change towels and replenish toiletries.
-very quiet resort, a small village, surrounded by pools for everyone.
-the spa personnel , very proffessional.
- we booked bed and breakfast. breakfast had a great variety of choices. it is true that some quests behave like never being in a 5* hotel. they take food outside the restaurant and don't wait their turn to be served. these quests are usually those who complain about the hotel. ( personally I dont' think that they have visited other 5* hotels at all). But even with this behaviour the staff is very friendly.
- I think that head manager is very proffessional to answer to all bad reviews and trying to explain . in all these days that I m staying at la marquise, i see a huge effort from all the personnel to do their best, with a smile.
My husband and I, will definetly be back!!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank orsalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed one week at La Marquise from 13/07/2011 till 20/07/2011. Overall we had a wonderful stay at this beautiful resort. There are lots of swimming pools, one for each part of the resort. Due to the several pools, it's always very relaxing to have a swim, because the pools are never too crowded. Via the underground passage it was very easy to get to the beach: nicely done!
We booked a superior room and got a room at the 4th floor close to the rooftop swimming pool, which gave us a great view over the hotel area and the sea. The room was lovely, spacious and was equipped with a flatscreen TV with several TV channels (mostly German). The room had a safe free of charge and free wifi connection. Wifi wasn't great at the 4th floor, but on the 3rd floor next to the pool it had its maximum availability (as in the lobby).
The service in the main restaurant and the lounge bar was excellent thanks to lovely staff members like Voula, Konstantina in the restaurant and Despina at the bar. They were always there to help or serve you with a big smile and some small talk. It was a shame that some girls at the reception desk weren't always that friendly, maybe because not all of them spoke English very well (?) which made them a bit rude in their expressions from time to time. While checking out they didn't even ask us how are stay was, or didn't offer to keep our luggage safe until our departure to the airport.

Overall: There are still some elements that could be improved, but we loved our stay and we hope to return to La Marquise on Rhodes in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JelleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We are currently staying in a pool view room, Thomson Holidays, All-Inclusive.2 Adults and 15 and 16 y.o. sons.
Few English guests, a few French and German, mostly Israeli.

Firstly, the hotel and room fixtures and fittings are 5 star.This has been executed very well, with significant investment.

The pools are very pleasant, with loungers on our patio.They were pinched once by visitors from another part of the hotel, as you are able to visit any of the
pool areas, but soon retrieved.

Food quality is good, but the dining arrangements leave 
a lot to be desired.

We sat to eat lunch in the Gondola bar, only to be directed back to the main dining room as we were All-Inclusive.
However, their lunch menu listed All-Inclusive items, and some with additional cost(LM Plus).This was not the same menu supplied at our "one visit per stay" A La Carte evening meal there, so it must've been changed.Not sure what would happen if we stayed and ate lunch, then argued we only had items listed with no additional charge for All- Inclusive guests.

The two main problems with dining at La Marquise are-
1) All-Inclusive guests take all meals in the dining room.This soon becomes boring, and it seems overkill dressing for dinner in the same place guests only recently had lunch in their swimming attire.
The Gondola bar is under-utilised in this respect.

2) I'm not sure how the UK price of this holiday translates across other countries, but some guests in the dining room behave like definite 3* regulars.They handle the bread without a cloth, attack the trolley replenishing the food displays before the waitress has a chance to complete her task, and pile their plates high with little interest in actually consuming what they've taken.The waste is criminal.

Staff are very polite and helpful,the managers appear to help out too.This may be at the expense of regular staff, as the dining area definitely needs more bodies.

My only bugbear with service is at the main reception bar.I don't know if it's because All-Inclusive guests seem the minority, but we often waited over 20 minutes at a table for a drink.

With hindsight, 14 nights is too long here with teenagers.While there is an arcade for them, with table-tennis, pool, and air hockey, there is no organised activity program.Tennis and basketball courts are largely unused.Because there is no central pool area suitable for watersports (eg polo), the beach is 200m away, and local waterpark aside, little in walking distance,the kids soon tire.

In summary, a potential 5 star resort which could work with some reorganisation, but needs to decide just who it wants to attract.
All in my opinion of course!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johntugwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eeklo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was a fantastic experience. We had a room (junior suite) with poolview. The room, bathroom, everything was fantastic. Verry friendly and professional staff. We requested a calm and relaxed place and that's everything we had at La Marquise. You feel direct as at home, but much better. :) I really hope to go back again, as soon as possible. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We have been traveling to the Greek islands for over 10 years, and never had a complaint. This year we tried the la marquise in Rhodes, Greece - and what a disappointment:
1. Lies: based on the hotels web site one is made to believe the hotel is by the sea. Intact there is a highway and about 500m walk between the hotel and the ocean. Once you arrive there is little shade and no fascilities or services.
2. Not friendly for kids: parents are not allowed in the moni club, not even for 5 minutes. We have young kids and they would not go in unless we stayed with them until they get used to the new environment. When sew asked why this is so, the person in the mini club rudely announced these armer the rules and would have not discussion about it.
3. No flexibility: for half board, of you wish to change lunch with dinner or vice versa, you need to inform the desk 24(!) hours in advance. Again, we never met such demands in other 5 star hotels we stayed at
4. Bad service: one night we got stuck outside our room, something to do with the card key. We had to wait for the bell boy for 30 minutes and were treated rudely by the receptionist who claimed she already spoke to my son (I have no sons..)
5. Bad management: we asked twice to speak with the hotel manager.. Apparently he couldn't find the time to speak with us.

There are so many fine hotels and such a good selection, don't watts your money on this one.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travels-for-fun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_11, Manager at La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Client,

although it is not very clear who wrote the mail, we would like to point you the following:
- We have not present ourselves as a hotel on the beach. Maybe you have not read that we have an underground passage to the hotel beach and maybe you have not seing the picture of this passage. What is still missing, is a beach bar and we are pressing the Municipally of Kallithea to give us the permission to operate one in the future.
- Is stated also on our website and outside ot the Kids club, that is for ages 04 - 12 years old. There is a daily program with various games and if all parents are also inside, there will be no space at all.Except that, there is a teenage club for ages over 12 years old.
- In the hotels, let say that 30 people want on the same day to change their dinner to lunch. If the Chef in the Kitchen or the Restaurant manager does not know about it, we will have lack of service in both departments.
- The hotel manager is every day in the hotel from 09:30 in the morning till 21:00 at night except Sundays. If you seached the hotel manager on Sunday, he could not see you. But I cannot accept this comment for the rest days of the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The resort looks in reality just like its pictures on their website. It's new, clean and luxurious. With special culinariy needs (we keep kosher), we expected the dining-room to be irrelevant to our stay and had packed canned food and crackers, but Mr Ioannis Kostakis, Service Manager, and his friendly and co-operative dining-room staff, went beyond the call of duty to bring us vegetables galore and even plastic plates and cutlery so we could enjoy the dining-room at mealtimes. Though we couldn't eat the cooked food, there was plenty of it.
Everything in the hotel was spick and span.
The swimming pool is unique - it winds around the resort making swimming more interesting. The only reason I've given it 4 out of 5 is because the water was freezing!
From what we could see, even though there are many very nice and impressive hotels in Rhodes, this one was the top. We're recommended it to our friends and if we go back to Rhodes, we'll be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeonieIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
4.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
25.4 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex

Property: La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex
Address: Ammoudes Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Hotel Kalithea
La Marquise Luxury Resort Complex Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing