We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Have had a fantastic week here, staff are very friendly. We had a superior sea view room which was really nice with a jacuzzi bath. Just one problem on our last day.... As it was end of season with no one coming into our rooms we thought they would let us stay in our rooms til departure at 6 but hotel policy etc etc. they wanted us to pay 10€ an hour!!! We argued the case and the best they wld let us have was until 2 (normal checkout time is 12) frankly we felt this was a pretty poor show and we were disappointed. Having said that we would come back here again, the staff and hotel itself including the food is really good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blackman-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at the end of September for our honeymoon. We arrived to find that we had been upgraded to a wonderful large very clean suite with a fantastic view of the sea and our own pool. We could not have wished for anything more from our holiday. The food was very varied and something to suit whatever you may have fancied from 6 am until late in the night. The choice at the different bars was very extensive and excellent quality. The staff all worked very hard and helped make our stay one that we will remember fondly in the future. The only thing we wish we could have changed in how long we stayed, we did not want to leave so soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jo_jo_sut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just spent 5 days with 2 girlfriends. Our room Superior seaview triple (also refered to as a Junior suite) was very comfortable, much larger than expected and in a great spot between the two main pools. I thought the food was on the whole very good for an all inclusive. I didn't really rate the a la carte Italian as we were rushed through our 5 course meal. Loved the poolside restarant at lunchtime. The all inclusive wine was

The design / layout of the hotel is a little strange, but delivers on facilities. The staff were all charming and helpful.

We visited early October, I'm not sure I would enjoy the hotel at full capacity in July and August. But when we were there it was very pleasant.

I was a bit dissappointed with the lack of animation. We went to the neighbouring sister hotel for the Aquagym classes each day. There wasn't much in the way of evening entertainment.

One tiny little complaint was the bathroom towels, they were very small and looking a bit grey, the hotel needs to speak to the laundry!

Room Tip: Not sure if the private pools are worth the extra money alot of them were in the shade for much of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lifeistooshortWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The accommodation was really excellent and we particularly liked the range of bars, pools and restaurants. The staff were all really friendly. The only criticism was the food which lacked a bit of variety.

Room Tip: Junior suites furthest away from the pool are the best if you want a private area for sitting out in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a lovely hotel, friendly staff and great food unless of course you require a diet if chips and English food, always a great choice if meats, fish and fresh vegetables and salads. I have no complaints and have read all the negative reviews and my response is this! If you really expect 5 star at 3 star prices then you are deluded as to achieve a 5 star equivalent at the price you all paid would be impossible. Great value for money and all round a lovely relaxing holiday no complaints other than I do agree about the reception staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drrnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I will go with an open mind....should have changed to another hotel! We arrived late, the reception staff were disinterested and failed to inform us that we would have to pay for food and drink after midnight. Fortunately there were a few of us and the bar staff took pity on us and gave us a drink and a truly disgusting sandwich. Whilst at the bar I was horribly bitten by mosquitoes, not for the last time during the week.
The room was not good even though it was huge and the bathroom had a spa bath. We thought the air conditioning was broken but were told it is not available in October which meant that the room was hot and stuffy because the fly screen was broken and mosquitoes came in if you left the door open.. The bed was hard and the pillows lumpy and smelly, the beds are better in a certain UK 3 star chain hotel advertised by a well known comedian.The light over the mirror did not work so the room was very gloomy. There was the filthiest rug I have ever seen by the sofa The fire extinguisher out in the corridor was empty, good job we did not have a fire. The bathroom was not properly cleaned, the towels were a funny brown colour and smelled like they had just been dried and not washed properly.
After two days we gave the reception staff a list of complaints, to be fair some of the faults were rectified over the next two days.
The sewage plant for the surrounding area is just next door which meant that at certain times of the day there was a dreadful smell down by the pool. There was no shortage of loungers but the pool was freezing so nobody used it. The indoor pool was a bit warmer but therefore rather popular!The public areas of the hotel were lovely and clean.There were plenty of comfy sofas and spaces to play games and chat. The bar staff were seriously overworked which led to long delays at the bars.
Food was average. We have had better breakfast in 3 star chain hotels. Lunch at the pool snack bar was terrible with the same rubbish every day, the Athina restaurant was a bit better. In the evenings the main restaurant was OK but only if you chose carefully, it was mostly the same lukewarm stuff every time. The Italian restaurant was quite pleasant and the food better.
I wish we had changed to another hotel. I feel sorry for the staff who were polite and overworked but not for those who were surly and unhelpful, the hotel setting and the buildings are lovely and it is a shame that it is not an enjoyable experience. We paid a lot of money to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms with private pools not good value, some rooms have no sun on balcony all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The2Hoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Kresten Royal !

TKR is a nice hotel and you instantly feel a, certain calmness to the place. With its new build IKEA still interior I certainly felt at home, and make no mistake this hotels is clean and nice in any other ways. As far as I can make out all rooms have sea views and some rooms have private pools which in my book is waste of money. The hotel is located on high ground and has a spectacular view over the bay stretching all the way to the old Rhodes. The hotel seemed un-crowded and the usual race for sun-beds and food did not once showed its ugly package holiday face.

However there are a few things that destroy the otherwise perfect setup. Firstly staff seemed detached and unengaged, they almost walking around like hoodies from Birmingham on community service, much better management and motivation is badly needed here. Then there is the food which is mainly designed to keep people away from the hotel and is as exciting as licking you flip-flops. I suspect that meals on wheels have the contract. Evening entertainment is almost non-existing and when they did manage to get someone in, we instantly turned in for the night.

My conclusion, is that the exterior and interior are really nice, but as such the hotel is a rather dull place that can only serves as recreation after an accident or a strict diet !

Room Tip: All room s have sea view but as to be locate on high levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,727 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,897 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: $120 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing