We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Kresten
We arrived at The Kresten Royal eventually quite late which was a bit disappointing because we cleared the airport in record time only to be kept waiting on the bus for another flight to arrive before being transferred to the Hotel! We would strongly recommend a private transfer. Small point for the management some snacks would have been appreciated for the late arrivals.
After reading some negative comments on Trip Advisor we kept an open mind. Our first impressions were very good, the receptionist were very helpful and quick with our check in, a porter was at hand to help us with our luggage. We had upgraded to a junior suite with a sea view quite stunning, the room was very spacious clean and worthy of five stars, we knew the pool was not completely private however that did not disappoint us. We spent most of the time around our own pool, it was only a short walk to the beach bar for drinks and food.
The beach is as described very rocky however there are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas if you decide to snorkel take some reef shoes.
Although the hotel could do with some more staff the bar tenders and waitresses worked very hard and were very polite. There is a good selection of cocktail available I suggest trying the Metaxa its very good. The food in the restaurant and the beach bar was plentiful with a wide choice.
It is worth taking advantage of the al a carte evenings we enjoyed both, I thought the Italian was very good.
The location is perfect for Rhodes Town, a two euro twenty bus fare that takes about twenty minutes nine euro for a taxi. Take advantage of the nearby bars and the restaurants, don't think because your all inclusive you can't explore.
We hired a car for the day through Thomson although it's a bit more expensive 62 euro for the day it was delivered to the hotel, and we only had to hand the keys to reception when we had finished. We went to Lindos that was well worth it and stopped in Seven Springs on the way back, very pretty, have a walk through the lake tunnel!
All in all we had a very enjoyable time and would return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in early July.
The hotel is beautifully furnished with marble floors ad the public rooms and our sea view room were very spacious.
The bedrooms were kept well cleaned with toiletries and towels changed every day .We loved the power bath.
Contrary to all the previous moaning minnies the food was well presented particularly the starters at dinner. We saw nothing wrong with any of the main courses and there was no queues for food.
Perhaps a number of them miss plain old English food.
I would like to mention one of the young waitresses whose name is Anna. She is a good example of the lovely and professional staff there.
The food at the pool bar was fine for lunch, plenty of choice in an alfresco setting.
If you stay here do sample the Italian A la carte restaurant whose 5 course dinner was delicious.
A mention to our lovely waitress there- Anastasia. She made sure all of us enjoyed the occasion.
The pool areas were lovely and we had no problems securing a bed there.
There are a few minor niggles the hotel should sort out and then I maybe prepared to give them an excellent review!
1; the entertainment is poor in a dimly lit and not guest friendly area.
2; the bathroom mirror lights are too dim.
3; A full length mirror in the bedroom would be ideal particularly for the ladies.
4; Please ask reception staff not to request guests who have paid for late check out to vacate their room before 6pm. We had to fight to keep our room on our last day. This is inexcusable.
All in all this is a fine Greek 5 star hotel NOT to be confuse with 5stars in Orient, London Paris etc.
If the niggles are sorted out we may consider a revisit.

Room Tip: Sea view on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Family all inclusive trip in July 2013. This is simply not a 5 star establishment and it should not be published as such. Not enough staff at the bars and in the restaurants, food very ordinary in both the buffet and a la carte areas, terrible quality internet, only sport activities were up at the sister hotel up the road where drinks were not included (!!!!!!!!!!!) - what a con, always rushing to get a sunbed as you knew they would run out. Would not bother with this place again. I complained about various things to the holiday rep but she was not having it as no other guests had complained - usual story - people putting up with poor value for money.

Room Tip: Get one with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John121999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Kalimera!

We would like to thank you for spending with us your recent holiday. We wish you had some nicer memories, we are sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your break as expected. It always a pity for us to fail our precious guest expectations, however we realize tat sometimes we can not match some special tastes...
We strongly believe that our friendly and hardworking team at bars and restaurants made their best to please you.
Furthermore we would like to tell you about our sport activities, that unfortunately you must have missed. Everyday sports as Yoga, water gym, water polo and water zumba plus games like Apero or Darts take place at the Salty Pool at our hotel. Football, basketball and tennis fields are placed at the Kresten Royal only- not available for our sister hotel. The only game that we organize at the field common for our both hotels is beach volley.
Dear customer, once again thank you for your comment. It would be a true pleasure to welcome you again and offer you our warm hospitality.
Best Regards,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hello everybody! We were there in the end of June 2013. The hotel was clean & bright. Room - large & comfortable: there were condition, kettle, tea & coffee sets, seif, TV - all of these is recount on the official site of the Kresten Royal.
In the Main Restaurant was great variety in food but some dishes were without badges.
Staff was highly skilled, always friendly & smiling. Especially we want to mention Mary (hostess), Manuel (restaurants' supervisor) & Memet (waiter in the Main Restaurant), Yanis (barman in lobby bar) & Carolos (barman at the Sunrise Pool bar).
But we were disappointed by visiting the gym. There we found some lanes and only 4 machines. We hope that our next visit will be enlarged with new equipment hall. For us it's really important.
The animation team worked not so good as implies the 5* hotel. But we don't care.
In general, we have only positive impressions. All were exceptional. We will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I took his parents to stay for a ten night break to celebrate my father in laws 65th birthday. I chose this resort as it was 5 star all inclusive and wanted my in laws to experience 5 star luxury. Sadly this wasn't the case. The resort itself is new and definitely 5 star architecture and furnishings, however that's where the 5 star elements stop. Unfortunately, the hotel was very understaffed an example of this is when sun loungers were not available there was no pool staff to ask for more! I then asked reception and they couldn't tell me how long it would take for sun beds to arrive if at all. Another example is there are only two A La Carte restaurants and I would expect more in a resort of this size (at least 600 rooms or more). So everything is all self service and there are no staff around to take drinks orders whilst you are lounging by the pool. The cocktails were not of 5 star quality as they tended to be like slush puppies with booze inside them & were not how I have seen them created in other five star resorts. Finally, there was no information about the resort and location in your hotel room which you can normally browse through once you arrive. You receive a map and very little advice when you arrive and throughout the entire holiday we were asking questions at reception of which the staff struggle to answer at times. All in all the food was of very good quality and having all inclusive definitely saved us money throughout the holiday. However, an all inclusive 5 star package shouldn't be offered if this level of service can't be provided. Perhaps a sign of economic times in Greece and Europe. Certainly some lessons learnt from this holiday.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest!
Kalispera from warm and beautiful island of Rhodes.

The Kresten Royal team would like to warmly thank you for your time taken in sharing your valuable opinion with us and others. All the comments are seriously taken at all times and read very carefully.
We are very happy that you highly rate our 5 star architecture and furnishing. It makes us proud that also our food offer met your expectations completely. However, we are surprised to see your comment regarding the amount of restaurants in our resort. Yes, we are placed on the great spacious gardens, our clients enjoy the space at the Lobby, paths, pools and other relaxing areas, but we are still quite small hotel with 256 rooms and the 3 Restaurants are the most is reasonable to offer. There are some extending plans in very near future. With bigger number of rooms we will be happy to offer you naturally more choice of the restaurants that we hope for you to experience.
We are very sorry that you did not find the file with the hotel and location info at your room. it is surely an oversight of our personnel which we are terribly sorry for.
Dear Customer, we wish to thank you for choosing our hotel this summer. We honestly hope to seeing you again any time soon. You and your family are always welcome here at Kresten Royal.

Warm Regards,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were really worried after reading previous write ups but we needn't have been concerned.Excellent hotel,rooms superb although we did splash out on one with its own pool which was definitely worth it,and the other one was upgraded to a pool room as well,spoilt for choice,staff very friendly and helpful although they are not treated very well by some of the other nationalities of guests,you always get more with a please and thank you as the staff are working very hard,bars at night quiet and easy to get a great range of drinks,the food was superb with an excellent range although we could not have done more than 7 days on all inclusive,there is only so much food and drink you can take in!!! So what if there is a grey towel or two,they were cleans was the rooms and hotel itself,only minor irritation is that we could not watch the tennis final and so had to go elsewhere and evenings are very quiet although a cheap taxi to Rhodes old town is well worth it. Would i go back ? Just booking my return trip in September now!!

Room Tip: We were in 331 really handy for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 929Buzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Kresten royal between 3rd and 10th July. Hotel reception is beautiful upon arrival, the reception staff were lovely and helpful.

We stayed in room 171, a spacious room with balcony and sea view - we paid a bit extra for the sea view and it was so worth it! Our room was directly above the evening entertainment so if we didn't fancy sitting amongst the groups of people we were able to grab a drink from the bar downstairs and watch/listen from our balcony.

The entertainment wasn't great, it was easy listening and mainly aimed more at kids but not really anything for adults. We had a live singer one night and also karaoke which was ok.

The food was nice, broad selection and great puddings! The theme nights were lovely Greek and Italian - the Italian was more to my taste. The Greek restaurant was next to the pool and it was a beautiful setting and the staff were fantastic.

Lots of places to visit such as Rhodes town, symi and Lindos -we went on all these excursions and loved all 3. We booked our holiday with Thomson and it made all the difference to our holiday! Our rep advisor Leona was lovely and very helpful aswell. If you have booked with Thomson I definitely recommend going to to the welcome meeting as you get lots of info on excursions and bus times, prices etc

Overall we had a fantastic time! Perfect hotel, amazing staff and beautiful weather. Just what we wanted from a holiday we waited a year for and it exceeded all expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurakeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
3.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
27.4 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: $109 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing