We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel with 1 star food and 2 star entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived on the 29th May and left on the 5th June. Impressed at first glance but as time wore on it became apparent that this was a typical example of "Style over Content".
The food was equivalent to value Tesco food, cheap and nasty. Poor in display and choice.
This was in the main restaraunt "Athina". We visited the "Porto de Mare" restaraunt which was partially open air and could not believe that the food was not covered and had flies all over the food whilst the chef stood cooking and talking on his mobile phone.
We had to remind reception that tea and coffee was not being replenished in rooms,
and the entertainment appeared to be run by young girls 18 to 20 who had very little idea on what to do. There was the 2 a la carte evenings provided, one being an Italian theme. That was very poor indeed. The restaraunt was all white with very little decor. A bit like a nazi medical centre or the quiet room in a lunatic asylum. And the food was again poor, both in choice and taste. We never used the second option at the "Porto de Mare" for obvious reasons. On the plus side the staff were pleasant and the hotel itself was lovely. Sadly though on reflection we think that there needs to be some very basic improvements made to call this a proper 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Room 817 ok but only a partial view of sea. Others had better views. Alternatetively stay at other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliffsue69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Guest,

Finding in your comment such a words like "Nazi" left us speechless. It is so impropriate of you and shows a huge lack of tact but most of all lack of history knowledge. In such a friendly, warm and welcoming environment as Greece is- there is no space for so disrespectful and humiliating the humanity visitors.

Kresten Royal management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently spent two weeks at the Kresten Royal and were looking forward to a relaxing break .Sadly our stay did not get off to the best of starts,we arrived at 10 PM only to be told ''sorry we don't have a room for you'' at first we thought they were joking but no we were taken to the sister hotel, the Kresten Palace which is a 4*.The next morning, Sunday, we were returned to the Royal and given an upgrade to a junior suite with a private pool which was a pleasant surprise. The staff were fantastic and could not have been more helpful. The real disappointment was the food which was always cold and mostly badly cooked. This did not worry the non British guests who seemed quite satisfied. When we raised the cold food problem with management they admitted they had problems which they were attempting to fix. The Italian ''Teatro''restaurant also proved to be a great disappointment, the soup was barely warm and although the pasta course was very good the main course was a disaster. We were not brave enough to try the desert.
On the plus side the Greek restaurant provided a much higher standard of food and was good enough to warrant a second visit.
Our arrival on May 4th coincided with the hatching of literally thousands of small beetles which totally overwhelmed the pools and managed to infiltrate everywhere, thankfully this only lasted for the first three or four days, not the usual Greek welcome but interesting to watch the staff trying to clear the dead and dying bugs from the doorways
Overall the problems this hotel are experiencing are symbolic of Greece's current situation. The complex is fairly large and is not really suitable for guests with mobility problems

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank universal-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Kalispera from Rhodes!

The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa highly appreciate your time taken to review our brand new 5 star hotel.

We are so happy that you enjoyed the surprise that we had for you- the free upgrade to a Junior Suite with a private pool. We are glad and proud to hear such a pleasurable comments regarding our "helpful and fantastic" staff. it is a great reward for our team.

We read your opinion regarding the Restaurants very carefully. Please be informed, that we are taking it under serious consideration, although the adjective that you used to describe the Italian main dish could be more adequate to indicate us and other readers the real experience.

Furthermore, we are very happy that our Greek tavern with genuine Greek cuisine met your standards and you fully enjoyed our local specialties twice!

Dear Guest, please be sure that whenever you decide to return to our beautiful island we will be always at you disposal to offer the highest standards of service for your vacation.

Warm wishes,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 29th May to 3rd of June and we agree with all of previous reviews complaints about foods and service.One not mentioned was the dangerous state of the tiles in the large swimming pool we both slipped on entering and did not attempt to go in again (we are in our seventies) and we observed many more people of different age groups do the same, ^To bouts of laughter but it could have had serious consequences and last but not leased brandy glasses were at a premium none available most nights. brandy served in a wine glass.Not 5 star by any means we came away disappointed and cheated.

Room Tip: We had room 142 in the main hotel which was very quiet and with a sea view but we overlooked villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstonReferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest!
Kalispera from sunny and beautiful Island of Rhodes!

We wish to warmly thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent vacation. You had some constructive comments to make and we thank you for that. We are always glad to be indicated the failures in order to act quickly and responsibly. Thank You.

Best Regards,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just returned from The Kresten (29/5-4/6) and after reading recent reviews prior to departure, I expected the worse. However this wasn't the case and after about a 25 minute transfer from airport to hotel we were checked in and allocated room 194 in the main block above Reception area (not in the sister hotel like other guests). Not a bad room, states it has a garden view but don't expect lush green lawns with blooming flowers, expect car park!!! Didn't matter though as we spent so little time in there. Very clean though, no bathrobes, fruit or water. I insisted on the bathrobes but not bothered about fruit and water. Maid service good and room always clean. Other reviews have commented on TV, mostly German channels with BBC World Service, but again not bothered as I personally don't go on holiday to watch TV, bit of background noise though when required. Had a bimble around the hotel and saw the rooms with pools which looked lovely, some quite close to the pathways though, so not very private but others a bit further away. We spent most of the time at the pool closest to main reception as it was more relaxed than the other one and didn't play loud Europop or dodgy 80's music all week!!! Sunbeds well spaced out and comfortable, we hired towels from the little supermarket for 10E each which is refunded when you take them back. Location of hotel is fair, you can walk to Kalithea Springs (about 25-30 minute stroll) which we did and spent the morning there, cost 3E (I think) as entrance fee. If you fancy a change of scenery, not too far from hotel then worth a visit. Got a taxi into Rhodes Town also (approx 15 mins) about 10E there, 9E return (bus stop at the top of the hotel drive if you prefer) and spent time in the old town, plenty of shops with usual tourist things, sponges, tea towels and t-shirts declaring 'I Love Rhodes'. Old Town lovely though and for me, very interesting historically. Took a boat trip to Lindos through our tour operator cost 40E per person, from the harbour in Rhodes Town. Had a great day out, really enjoyed that and Lindos is a nice place, visited the Acropolis (for me, great!!).
Back to the hotel, food generally good, lukewarm rather than hot but wide variety and salads aplenty. Some items are not labeled but I don't eat fish and managed to avoid it all week but my other half eats most things and really enjoyed the variety. Chaps, please wear long trousers for evening meal as otherwise you won't be let in as happened with an irate Frenchman who really couldn't grasp the concept and was last seen standing defiantly by the salad bar as an act of protest in his shorts. Needless to say, the Greek staff in their own relaxed way persuaded him to leave and put his long trousers on!! Talking of the French, if you like large groups of loud French people then this is the place for you!!! We went to the Greek and Italian restaurants and the Greek food was superb, lamb melted in your mouth. Spot on, Italian just ok. There is a Greek night which is an extra 10E more for all inclusive guests which takes place at the sister hotel next door and we heard poor reports about that but we didn't go so can't comment. The entertainment really is bad, comically bad at times. Childrens disco every evening, there was bingo also, karaoke (us Brits were superb at that, probably because we couldn't understand the French), a greek singer/bazouki player who in fairness was good, but that's about it. The drinks were good, cocktails great for me, wine not so great but it is local. I gave up waiting for drinks at the lobby bar one evning and as some other reviewers have said, went to the roof top bar which is lovely and service quicker. All in all I can only offer a review of my holiday and my experiences, I would say that even though this hotel is marketed as a 5 Star, don't expect 5 Star "luxury", base it more on facilities which tick more boxes, tennis courts, 3 restaurants, bike hire, spa, 2 pools, 24 hour reception etc. For luxury purposes, I'd say more of a 3 star but everything we wanted out of our holiday, we got so it was right for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caravanners12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My friends and I spent a week arriving 25th May. the hotel was beautiful. The food was lovely, drinks were great. But what was the most amazing part was the quality of service and the team they have at Kresten. The staff were so attentive and couldn't do enough for us. They looked after us so well and did their upmost to oblige any request we had. The hotel was spacious and well set out, so unlike the usual all inclusive hotels where they try and cram as much in as possible. The spa was also amazing. We spent a whole year reading reviews on trip advisor before we went, and did see some not so good ones, but we can honestly all day we had an amazing holiday, we loved the hotel and the people were amazing. Thank you to everyone at the Kresten for looking after us and making our holiday memorable . I would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: See view is well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebell1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here from 11-18/5 for my 50th Birthday. We were greeted very warmly on arrival and upgraded from our Superior Room we had booked to a Suite with a Pool. We found the staff very helpful when we needed them. The food we found ok there was always something to eat no matter what time you went to the allocated restaurant. The only problem was getting served at the bars not enough staff and sometimes you could wait a while. Definitely not a 5* hotel at best a 4*. The spa treatments were fab. and again you couldnt fault the staff. On the whole a very enjoyable stay apart from the weather which nobody can do anything about.

Room Tip: We had a room with a pool which when the weather is good would be great, but other than that cant co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Room: nice room, clean and cleaned reguylarly each day. Disappointing lighting in bathroom. "Complimentary" fruit bowl removed after 2nd day - complete with fruit!! As mentioned previously - beds a little on too hard side.

Reception: looks glamorous - most of money spent on first impression. Bar in reception - not open as advertised - only opens after 5pm every day. Courteous bar staff,although overworked.

Pool areas: pool excellent, very clean but cold!! Plenty sunbeds but fabric not cleaned - sun oil from previous guests. As mentioned previously - smell of sewage occasionally.

Bars: Long queues in evenings at all bars - best tip we found is to go to lobby bar in the evening because the entertainment (ho ho) is so atrocious it sends everyone to the rooftop bar instead! The staff are always courteous and work hard - eg one (Kiki) works in the Greek a la carte until it finishes around 9ish and then doubles up in the lobby bar - so bars all understaffed - only one staff at each pool bar. No clearance of used drinks at pool or other bars and obviously no waiter service anywhere. Below service only rated as average due to staff shortages (as mentioned previously in reviews - 30 staff have been fired at the beginning of the season) BUT the staff who did serve were good at their job

Restaurants - food was good in our opinion - and we don't eat fast food. Always good selection, re-stocked often. The desserts were a little repetitive.

Facilities: Disappointed to find out no sauna or steam room in "Spa" area.

Entertainment: least said the better - simply appalling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest!
Kalimera from island of the sun- Rhodos!

We would like to warmly thank you for rating our hotel here at Trip Advisor and sharing your valuable opinion with us and other travelers.
We appreciate every sign of interest from our guest in helping us on the path to excellence. Without your feedback and constructive criticism we would not be able to offer our future clients the best quality of hospitality.

We appreciate your notice on the cleaning of your "nice" room. It is important to tip this way our hard working housekeeping staff. Thank you.

It is also nice to see you found our Lobby- Reception "glamorous" and the pool areas "excellent".

What make us proud the most is high evaluation of our staff. It is great that you appreciated their hard work, they will be surely happy to receive such a feedback.

Food is the important part of the All inclusive holidays and again we are glad that with our selection of Restaurants, fresh dishes and local delicacies we met your standards. We are sorry that variety of our desserts left something to be desired.

Regarding the Spa- we offer all the range of Spa facilities including 2 saunas, a steam bath, hammam, Jacuzzi bath and plenty of treatments. We are not quite sure how could such a misunderstanding appear, but certainly we are sorry.

Dear customer, again we would like to thank you for choosing our new 5 star hotel for your recent holidays. We are also happy that you let us know your opinion.

With warm wishes,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,727 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: $119 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing