We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went to the Kresten Royal villas for our wedding anniversary in May. We were upgraded from a junior suite to a royal suite with it's own pool. The rooms were clean and well maintained with the towels changed every day. The pool was very refreshing as it was heated by the sun, but we went in every day. The food was very good. Plenty of it and always something available as we were all inclusive. The staff were very friendly and were always there to help. We had a lovely time and couldn't fault anything during our time there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snappersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel building was good,pool was good, bad points: Definitely not 5 star,have stayed in 3 star with far better service. the hotel was understaffed, food was roadside cafe quality greasy and always cold. room and surrounding area's constantly stank of crap, arrival was also diabolical got given a key to a room only to wake some poor guy up at 1.am shouting at me as the room was already occupied???? no rep around to sort it. room was booked for three people but only catered for two had to ask several times for extra things towels,chairs cups ect. lighting at nite was rubbish had to find our way round in the dark to our room. would never stay there again nor recommend it to anyone, stay away from it if you want a good holiday. states free wifi through out hotel, was wrong only in reception area if your lucky.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunchback1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest!
Kalimera from sunny Rhodes!

We highly appreciate your time and energy you put into reviewing our hotel. We are happy you were able to value the great design and architecture of our buildings and that you enjoyed the most relaxing part of it- pools.
With not hidden disappointment we read about downsides of your vacations that you quoted. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that met you upon arrival. Such a situation is unacceptable and please be informed that management will make sure that it would not happen never again in our 5 star hotel.

Dear Client, thank you for sharing your opinion with us and others. We are sure that if you visit us again you will be fully satisfied with our warm Greek hospitality.

Warm regards,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from the kresten royal villas and spa hotel. We were there for a wedding - should have been a party of 16. Four weeks before departure 4 were transferred to another hotel. On arrival 2 went to kresten and 6 were put to the Port Royal - 20 Klms away. When we arrived at 11pm we were also to be transferred - the excuse being that the hotel was overbooked. When I refused they found me a room supposedly for 1 night - then I was to be moved for 3 nights to somewhere else then back to kresten for 3 night. We were only there for a week. I stood my ground and refused to be moved. It was not till midday the following day that they said i could stay. There seemed be a major staffing issue with over 30 staff being sacked this year and cheaper labour employed. while the hotel was not full they only had a certain number of staff available to deal with the number of guests staying. A loud and angry demonstration took place in the foyer of the hotel one evening by sacked staff regarding the situation. They claimed not to be paid on time and being replaced by young people who were being paid 400euros per month.
The room was large clean with lovely sea view. Robes were not provided and it took till 4 days later. First morning coffee was brought to the table, but advised it was cold. Ask whey she had brought it - You had asked for it.... Machine is broken!!
Salads and sweets were very nice but main meals were not good sometimes not edible. Variety - but cold and tasteless. Often had to queue at the dining room due to the fact that there were so many empty tables not cleared as dining room not well organised. Watched dregs of 2 or 3 coffee pots put together then taken to a table one morning. !!!
Entertainment was dreadful.
While rooms were spacious - beds were not very comfortable, towels were grey and ripped and toiletries were not replaced.
When remainer of our party were to be transferred back to the kresten instead of 3 rooms they only had 2 and wanted the bride and groom to share with parents!!
The smell of sewage was very strong at times, and work was being carried out to try to rectify.
Pools were clean and sun bed always available - because hotel was NOT full.
I have great sympathy for the very young staff who worked hard but had no support or guidance from management.
When management were questioned under pressure could neither cope or well helpful.
The hotel is NOT what appears from the pictures form websiite or description with mnay dimly lit corridors -sparse and featureless.
5 stars at entrance gate. - WOULD NOT RATE MORE THAN 3.

Room Tip: Stand your ground to get what you have booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest!
Kalimera from beautiful island of Rhodes!

We would like to thank you for choosing our 5 star hotel for your recent holidays. We appreciate also your decision to share your memories with us and others.

It impossible not to notice that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as you expected. We are honestly sorry, but at the same time seeing some serious misunderstandings we feel committed to respond.

First of all, please except our apology for the inconvenience that we caused upon your arrival. We realize that it was certainly not the start of the holiday that you wished for and we are honestly sorry. At the same time please have on mind that the reservation department received all your bookings separately with no mention of being part of the bigger group nor even a Wedding. If we had been informed we would have done our outmost for your group not to be divided.

Furthermore, we are terribly sorry to see your unfair judgments regarding our staffing policy. Please let us inform you that every company has its strategy which need to be followed. The demonstration that you witnessed had nothing to do with it. It is such a pity that you didn't take a trouble to get true information from the hotel's general manager or any official authorities that are both available to you. Spreading in the internet unconfirmed and false information regarding hotel's operations is highly irresponsible and in "real" life could lead to legal procedures. Demonstrating group of people was not our employees and never have been. The size of the salary that you mentioned does not exist in Rhodos and again it is a huge abuse of yours.
The Hotel strongly respect, support and appreciate work of our team. The salaries are set by official Greek authorities and hotel adapts to it indisputable.

Dear Guest, again thank you for your energy and time you took to share your comments. We are very happy we could respond. If you decide to visit Rhodes again, we would be glad to be considered.

Best Regards,
Kresten Royal management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

new management is into saving money. staff down to half so the service is slow to non existant. food bland, unimaginative, not always fresh and not much of it. the grounds consist of crabgrass and weeds. the buildings obviously haven't been painted this year. non stop line of complaints at the front desk. everything from old thin towels, to air conditioning problems to guests covered in insect bites after a night's sleep. alcohol is of the cheap variety. what a pity since two years previously , in 2011 and 2012, the hotel was amazing.i would have given it 6 stars and that is the reason we booked again this year. big mistake!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nava K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest!
Kalimera from sunny Rhodes!

First of all We would like to thank you for choosing our 5 star resort once again for your holiday. Your trust and faith is a great reward for us.

At our 3rd year of operation we never stop developing, improving and building up. This is a reason why we are so highly surprised that this year we did not meet your expectations. We feel obligated to respond to some of your unsatisfying observations.
The staff is certainly not down to half. However, we are so sorry that you had such a impression.
Regarding the food we feel such a pity that we failed meeting your standards. We feel that taste is such a personal matter, not possible to measure. We focused more this year on our genuine Greek cuisine- quite uncomplicated, natural, prepared always with fresh ingredients- it is such a mistake to take it as "unimaginative". We would like to add also that we have never changed our Drinks and Cocktails list at the bars. Clients always praise our variety of beverages, cocktails and non-alcoholic drinks, we feel surprised that you didn't enjoy it this year.

Dear Guest, we would like to assure you that we feel sorry that we didn't manage to deliver you services you expected. We strongly believe that if you gave us a chance and visit The Kresten Royal Villas and Spa again, we would show you the hospitality on the high level that you are used to.

With best wishes,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at the Kresten royal villas and spa 7th to 21st may.Good points are freindly staff and no
problem getting a sun bed,the room was clean but sparce and we upgraded to an suite.The pool
areas are large.
The bad points are small uncomfortable beds,lots of bugs around and sometimes you can smell
human waste from the sewers,the food isn't that great so we ate out at restaurants a few times,
you can't call the entertainment - entertainment at all,more like a joke.Like you i read all the reveiws before i booked and thought it was just what i was looking for,this is well over priced for what you get,if i had payed half of what first choice are asking i would have been happier but you are not getting what you think you are paying for.This is not 5 star and don't be fooled by the fancy photo's.All in all it's your choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Kalimera from Kresten Royal!

Our team would like to thank you for your time taken to review our brand new 5 star resort. We always value all the feedback from our precious clients that show us our good points and also downsides that we still have to work on.

We are very happy you noticed our great hard working staff and that our large relaxing areas at the pools gave you opportunity to enjoy your vacation. We are also glad that from the rich range of room types that we offer (Superior Sea View Rooms, Junior Suites, Royal Suites etc.) you found one that met your high standards.

We have to say that it is a pity that some of our services did not satisfy you. We are sorry but also grateful to point them to us.

Once again, thank you for your honest comment regarding your recent stay at our 5 star hotel. We would me more than happy if you decide to visit us again and see that we are definitely "worth" it.

Best Regards,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Firstly I'd just like to say that we had a really great stay at Kresten Royal. Upon arrival we got checked straight in and went to our sea view room. The room was spacious, clean and with a great view. The hotel looks just like it does on the website and we were not disappointed.

Positives:

* The resort was tidy, clean, modern and well laid out.
* The food was great, I wasn't expecting much as the reviews hadn't been good but yes it is buffet food so it's not going to be piping hot. The selection of foods available was extensive and everything tasted fresh and was authentic. The Greek night was a lot better than the Italian which was a bit of a let down as severely limited choice on menu.
* We never had to wait to sit for meals.
* The pool area was great we could always get loungers which were nicely spaced out and you can't beat the view as you are literally on the beach.
* The bars were great and the bar staff were always friendly and efficient.
* Location was great, the hotel has unspoilt views and it's only a 3 min walk up the drive to where you can get the bus into Rhodes which come every half hour and largely ran on time or you can get a taxi for 9 Euro.
* The maid service was exceptional, the room was made spotless everyday.

Slight let downs:

* Hot water was limited and we pretty much only had tepid showers for our whole stay.
* The wifi is dodgy but this improved throughout the week.
* The beds are singles pushed together so easy to slide down the gap.
* The entertainment was non-exsistent so we had to venture into Rhodes a couple of times to break up our stay.
* There is not enough staff but the staff they do have are exceptionally hard working.
* The gym is an afterthought and most equipment not working.

Overall there are far more postives than negatives and we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel. The resort offers great value for money and benefits from being modern. A meal out in Rhodes is definitley worthwhile and I would strongly recommend Mama Sofias which is opposite the Clock Tower, a family run restaurant, the food was out of this world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kruger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice hotel all staff from reception to housekeeping were very polite and pleasant our room had a nice sea view across the bay to Rhodes town , not much going on in the hotel vicinity if you want shopping a taxi to Rhodes town is around 11 euros and 9 euros back todate the taxi rank is just outside the hotel entrance to the right . Entertainment was a bit hit and miss ie disco music for children from 8 till 9pm then something for grownups if you like a dance also bingo.
The bar staff were also entertaining and hardworking special mention for Elena , food was ok buffet style but do go to the "al a carte" restaurants there is a Greek and Italian one well worth a visit and all part of the all inclusive deal. Lots of excursions if you wish to be adventurous, enjoy. The beach bar pleasant by the way there is no beach only a rocky cove ideal if you like snorkelling and the pool is large , bar is ideal for lunchtime and food is varied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rory5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,738 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,527 reviews
3.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
37.5 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
2.2 mi away
Amada Colossos Resort
Amada Colossos Resort
#11 of 20 in Kallithea
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: $105 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing