We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kallithea
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a good hotel, notwithstanding discussion on classification, unfortunately there is no universal AA so the vagories of self-classification and national standards are always arguable. My experience puts the hotel at 4*+.
The accommodation is clean, comfortable and roomy. The restaurants have a good main Buffet Restaurant, with a decent selection, an ok Taverna and a near fine dining Italian with excellent flavours. The pools are good and there are just about enough loungers. Poor, tiny beach.
The bits that need attention are....poor entertainment:- just a pianist in the Lobby bar plus the sax player at times would do. UV zappers are a must for the Greek Taverna and Buffet Restaurant, there must be no flies near food. The tv (we seldom need it but...) has 42 Channels, of these 7 are Greek, 8 Italian, 2 Israeli, 5 Polish, 2 American, I French (twice), 12 German !!!! and none from the UK ?? Now I know Brits are liked on this island.......
Would I go back.....yes - the staff are delightful, a smile will always be rewarded...and we were constantly charmed.
There is little to visit locally so it's Rhodes Town or Lindos, cheap buses.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santa-says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Recently returned from a 1 week family holiday and feeling a little disappointed from the experience we had during our stay at the Kresten Royal.

We booked a junior suite due to them having a private pool that we thought would be ideal for out 10 month old son. This was not the case as we found out on our first full day. The pool supposed to be heated as advertised was far from it and was one of the coldest pools we have experienced. This issue was certainly not isolated and quickly confirmed by other residents along with the evident lack of people using the pool facilities throughout the complex.

Due to the design of the suites being sea facing the area allocated for sun loungers is mostly shaded and in order to enjoy such delights of sun you need to first negotiate a small grass verge that runs adjacent to the pool. Hopefully you manage to not fall foil and end up in the pool on your way to the grassed areal!. One thing we do give credit for is the view over the bay and of Rhodes town itself.

The general condition of the rooms and surrounding are again something we have not seen in a hotel of 3* never mind 5* and for a complex that only opened in 2011 is a little disappointing with large areas of flaking paint on the external rendered walls and evident signs of damp and mould within the room. One area we did find very amusing was the fact that a section of the internal wall within the room has been painted in a completely different shade of the original colour! A few photos have been uploaded showing some of the findings.

The general impression we got of the complex is that it’s been constructed but not quite finished to a standard you would expect for a 5* resort prior to the owners generating revenue for the tourist.

Housekeeping was something else and if you happened to blink you will probably miss them having even been into the suite.. This was confirmed during the stay with us having to raid the cleaning cupboard one night in order to fetch clean towels etc for the room.

The hotel also advertise that as part of your stay 2 theme nights will be included, what they fail to tell you is that one of the so called theme nights requires you to pay €10 per person for the privilege and that this only include a goblet of house wine any additional drinks you would like as part of your all inclusive deal are not included and payment is needed. This theme night in question is a BBQ held at the sister hotel next door!... The other theme was Chinese, which was very good and surprisingly was included as part of the AI deal.

Overall we made the most of the short stay we had and one highlight we would recommend to anyone planning a visit is Rhodes town that is very nice and is where we spent most of our time. A taxi ride will cost around €11 one way. Would definitely return to Rhodes, but the Kresten Royal would not be top of our list as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I have just come back from our 11 nights at the kresten and we couldn't be happier. For the price we paid, the weather albeit out of the hotels control was fantastic, the room was clean, spacious and comfortable, the food was amazing and all the facilities were excellent.

Our only niggles were, when we arrived we were offered champagne and a wrapped roll, on other holidays I have been taken to the restaurant and offered a small choice of food whatever time we arrived and a soft drink would have been more appropriate after traveling all day.

The rooms were clean, and spacious, the bed linen could have fitted the bed better but didn't stop me from sleeping.

I sometimes wonder what snobby people expect for their money, I would consider this luxury ( aim not loaded) but some of the comments I have seen on here now and before I went, absolutely amaze me, the staff were so helpful, the restaurant manager fotini was like lightening seating people and making sure they were seen to, whatever you wanted was not too much trouble, they would even take you up to the road in the golf buggy if you couldn't walk the hill. Spa was great, bars were great, Karlos the pool bar man kept us laughing. Take it from me if your a normal person wanting a little luxury then this is for you, if your a snob who wants to be fetched and carried after All week, stay in England and book yourself into a Mayfair hotel!

Room Tip: There is a slight incline throughout, so if your not good on your legs try and stay in the hotel at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in the middle ofSeptember. We were upgraded to a suite with a pool and it was wonderful to sit with cocktails and read. The weather was lovely and warm and the staff were very friendly.

The hotel is very clean and well presented, the staff are more than helpful and the the cocktails have to be tried. The food was ample and the desserts soooo inviting.

We had a relaxing spa treatment totally recommended.

Overall a great experience and would recommend this hotel to all but in September ideal for couples.

Room Tip: If tou can get a private pool it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just stayed at the ultimate “chill-out” venue in Rhodes called the Kresten Royal Villas and Spa. This 40m euro, 5-star, up-market complex was only built in 2011 and it is in pristine condition. We enjoyed 7-nights in a villa junior suite with 30ft private pool (cleaned daily) with an uninterrupted sea view. Even our bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath in it. Other facilities included three swimming pools (one salt water, one indoor) as well as a dedicated children’s pool, three great restaurants and an up-market, yet affordable, Spa. We went in mid-October when it was quieter but temps were still 27C plus every day during our stay. Our extremely cost effective internet package from Inspired Luxury Escapes included flights, transfers and 5* accommodation on all inclusive basis for just £690 each. Massive bargain! We had an evening flight home and had to be out of our suite by 12 noon but the Kresten Royal let us stay on the all-inclusive offer continue until we left. This was excellent as there is nothing worse than killing time (especially at a small airport) without access to the basics of food, drink, toilets and air-conditioning! Based just 4-6 km between Rhodes old town and Faliraki, the Kresten Royal Villas and Spa is a seriously great place for a bit of up-market R&R. We are definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a junior suite in a villa with private pool. Especially villas 301 to 328 off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in the middle of September and it was relatively quiet for our stay. It did liven up a bit at the weekends but if you prefer hotels with lots going on and entertainment every night then this place is perhaps not for you.

Location wise, the views were lovely. At the top of a hill on the cliffs overlooking the sea. There's a little shale cove among the rocks at the bottom of the hotel and a short 5 minute walk away there is a small rocky beach. There's not much to do in Kallithea itself, only a couple of tavernas and shops but Rhodes Town or Faliraki (if you prefer) is just 10 mins away in a taxi (10 euros approx) or you can catch the bus just outside the hotel.

The food is nothing to write home about. It's nice, don't get me wrong and there is a fair selection of food but when you've eaten there a few nights there doesn't seem to be that much variation or imagination, not what you'd expect from a 5 star anyway. Perhaps if we'd only been there a few days rather than 11 nights I may have thought differently. That said, breakfast was very good and I tended to enjoy this the most. There were 2 buffet areas, the main restaurant and the pool bar. Some of the other reviewers mentioned flies on the food. I wouldn't say it was excessive, however there were more flies down at the pool restaurant which did put me off eating here at times.

We ended up staying in a pool villa which was absolutely lovely. We got a free upgrade, i think because it was so quiet so always worth asking. The Room we were in was huge and and the pool was quite a fair size too. One word of warning though, the pool is 5 foot deep all the way across and has no safety rail around it. The patio doors are also quite easy for young toddlers to open and don't have a separate catch lock so we had to push something in front of the doors in case our little girl decided to try and get out in the night. The only let down to the rooms was the beds, they were terrible. Mattresses were extremely hard and uncomfortable (even my husband couldn't bear them and he can usually sleep anywhere) we ended up sleeping on the sofa bed in the room, but even that was uncomfortable. Can't understand why a hotel like this would let itself down on something as basic as this. Comfortable beds should be a given at a 5 star hotel.

Staff were on the whole pleasant enough but a couple of the bar staff were a bit miserable and it seemed like a great effort for them to crack a smile. The cleaning staff were always very friendly though.

There wasn't much for children to do at the hotel. A tired looking play area with a couple of slides at the sister hotel next door and a few kids activities through the day but they weren't really worth the bother. She had more fun looking for crabs in the rock pools.

All in all, nice hotel and scenic location but let down by it's beds, surly staff and cost. I've stayed in better 5 star hotels than this one but with a few tweaks here and there it might be getting there.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

i stayed here with my wife and two daughters.we were all pleasently surprised with the ambience of the hotel.we were on the all inclusive option.the food was plentiful and plenty of choices.with the choice of two theme nights each week a greek and an italian night which were excellent.the drinks choices were very good, plenty of good cocktails and wines.The pool areas where the best i have seen ,plenty of sun beds & umbrellas.And to top it all the staff were magnificent,especially our friend Elena.Definitely go back there again.Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouce1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
1.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
3.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
27.4 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range: $109 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing