We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Nice hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a Nice hotel!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights at the end of June with my wife. I haven't been to Greece for many years and I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was very clean and food was very good as well.
We arrived late on a Sunday night and was checked in very quickly, also offered a chilled sparking wine,which was a nice touch. The guy at reception was very helpful and informative too.
During the day the pool area got very crowded, it is a big pool with a shallow area for children on one side and a deeper part for everyone else. The sunbeds on the shallow side of the pool were in the shade from about 5 pm so we decided to use the sunbeds on the beach as it was less crowded and were in the sun until late, probably about 7 pm.The beach isn't very sandy so you need to bring your swim shoes, especially if you want to go in and have a swim, although I only took one dip it as it was still quite cold.

The price of the drinks I thought were reasonable in the bars in the hotel 0.5 Litre ( a pint ) of Mythos Local beer was 4.5 euros. There is a supermarket on site which was good to get bottles of water for one euro for a 1.5litre bottle, they also sell beer and wine and it's cheaper than the hotel prices. The room comes with a fridge but no tea or coffee making facilities which doesn't bother me but would be nice to have the choice.Beer prices out of the hotel were obviously cheaper - Ilios restaurant (about a 20 minute walk out left from the hotel) had lovely food and beer was about 3.5 euros. And we even found a pint of beer in Rhodes Town at George's Bar for 2.5 euros. (Not that we went on any type of beer hunt!!)

The restaurant facilities were very good and all the waiting staff were fantastic and very attentive and remembered you, and your specific requirements each time you saw them. There was plenty of variety at both breakfast and dinner every day. The freshly squeezed orange juice is a wonderful way to start the day - don't miss out!! And they even have sparkling wine available at breakfast too, if you fancy it! We did try Fresh Restaurant once at lunchtime and it was a nice relaxed lunch with good food and was in a nice shady area next to the Spa - good to have an hour out of the baking sun!! I know that a couple of people have mentioned about being a little confused about the dinner situation in the evenings. The waiters bring you a drinks menu and also another menu which has set main dinners that you can choose from. You don't have to have this at all. We looked at the main menus each day but were very happy to just have our dinners from the buffet. If you do pick one of the options from the main set menu then you are also entitled to have something from the buffet to start and then have your main dinner - which is brought out to you by the waiters - and then get your dessert from the buffet ( by the way, the mango sorbet and the banana ice cream is a must!!! ;-) ). So all in all, there is enough choice for everyone, so not sure why people think there isn't? And if you do find it a bit repetitive, then there are plenty of places just down the road for a good inexpensive meal!

I have noted other reviewers have mentioned that the Wi- fi was slow. To be honest, it was a bit hit & miss in parts of the hotel grounds. I notice lots wi -fi aerial boosters about the grounds but it doesn't seem to help. Maybe it's something the hotel will work on. Although we did see people in the main reception area on phones, etc so maybe it was strongest there??

We had a room on the 5th floor in the EOS block (3rd) which was next to Alila hotel which always had musical shows on every night, we were advised on check in that it could get noisy. It was very noisy at some points but it didn't particulary bother me and to be fair their shows did usually stop at 11.30 pm at the latest and at least we could sit on our balcony and watch the shows! And the football, which they had on a big screen. However, if you are an early to bed kind of person then I would definitely make a point of getting a room nearer to the hotel main building.
I had a massage at the spa (using Espa products) and it was really very good. As you had booked a treatment then you were also allowed to use the whole spa area for the day and also your other half can use the spa for an additional 20 Euros. The facilities are clean and of a very high standard The spa includes the usual sauna and steam room plus a very nice heated pool( 32c) and hot beds too. There were also fitness classes going on throughout the day but didn't do any of these and don't know what they cost, but there was a free Aqua aerobics session at about 11.30 am in the main pool area which was fun!

The hotel is located a few miles outside Faliraki, out and to the left and also Rhodes Town in the other direction. There is a bus stop outside which can take you either way for about 2 euros per person each way. The buses are very regular and run on the hour and at 20 & 40 min past the hour up until late. It's a good way to get around but the taxis seem cheap as well so the choice is yours. It was also nice to take a walk out of the hotel though.

This hotel seems mostly for adults, there were a few children about but there didn't seem much for them to do apart from the pool area and a plastic slide & swing area by the tennis court. The hotel next door (Alila) was much more child friendly and had a couple of water slides and a bigger play area, plus their Animation Team did put shows on for the children too.

We did a boat trip to Lindos (which we picked up from Louis Collossos hotel down the road - thank goodness we weren't actually staying there though!). You pay on the boat and don't have to make a reservation. It was 24 euros per person and a lovely way to see the rest of the coast line and also to see Lindos! But don't forget to take suncream as it was very hot. The sea was much warmer here too and a lovely sandy beach and nice bars to get something to eat or drink. We had a hot, steep walk up to the Acropolis which we actually didn't bother going into but was 6 Euros each, if you did want to. Be careful on the walk though as the path is quite slippery in parts.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday in a lovely part of Greece and this was a very nice hotel. Some reviewers are saying it's not 5 star, I would disagree as it had all the facilities of a 5 star hotel (except tea and coffee making facilities - although to be fair maybe we could have asked at reception for this but we didn't bother. And yes, I suppose the WiFi could have been better but then sometimes it doesn't hurt to be offline sometimes, you are on holiday after all!!!). As this was my first trip back to a Greek island for over 10 years it was a pleasant holiday in a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the Alila Hotel are better if you want a quieter night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paddy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    293
    68
    27
    15
See reviews for
346
908
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The resort is very nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and the rooms/hotel area are very clean. We wished to have WiFi in the room, however, the hotel only guarantees a good WiFi connection in the Lobby and the pool area free of charge. The hotel has a LAN socket in the room which is usable free of charge. The food is very good. The hotel lies directly on the beach. The beach is equipped with little stones. There are no leisure activities such as water sports/beach sports organized. The hotel is close to Faliraki. Overall, our vacation was very peaceful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level in order to enjoy the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi_Sch_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel last August. We were given a room under the rooftop restaurant. Each morning we were awaken by the screeching of the chairs on the concrete at 7 AM. Not my idea of a vacation. We complained and were assured the problem would be fixed. An outright lie. All they need to do is place some sort of AstroTurf to muffle the noise. The room was very modern so modern that there was not one drawer or closet to put your clothes. The hotel was in a good location, the food was good. However not 5 star

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the fifth floor under the rooftop restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmony_el, Customer Services at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, although we have to admit that we never before received a review 11 months after the stay. Noble a la carte rooftop restaurant operates from 19:00 therefore by no means there is noise at 7 AM. Senses café, also located on the rooftop, serves breakfast for guests staying in the Elite Club. However, we never before had a comment about noise from chairs primarily because there is excellent insulation under the floor, but also because there are not that many guests taking breakfast so early. However, we note your comment and will further monitor if there are any such issues. Rooms are indeed modern in design but this does not mean that they lack essential standards. Depending on the type of room (there are two different versions of deluxe guestrooms) in the wardrobe, there is at least either one large shelve or two drawers.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel from June 26- July 3. 2014. Good service, food and facilities. One of the reason we booked this hotel was that they offered internet in the whole area, but unfortunately we experienced otherwise. The WIFI was very, very, very slow or we did not get connection at all. We read in a review that the WIFI was upgraded since last year, as an answer to a complaint from a guest that have stayed at the hotel.... but we didn't notice that....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrine1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmony_el, Customer Services at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you devoted in reviewing our hotel. We are really glad to hear that you liked the service, the food, and the facilities of our hotel.
In relation to the comment you made about the quality of our Wi-Fi we would like you to note that our hotel is a Green Key certified property as you can see in our website. As part of our environmental and energy preservation practices all rooms have environmentally friendly glass panels that act as heat blockers, therefore reducing energy waste but also increasing guests’ comfort. As a result, specific models of Internet enabled devices may experience low Wi-Fi signal inside the room when the balcony glass panels are closed. Opening the windows eliminates this issue. At the same time, to further enhance our guests’ Internet connection experience and to cope with the further increasing demand, we have already ordered from our telecommunication providers an increase in our Internet connection bandwidth which will soon be installed to increase speed and reliability.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Wonderful staff - friendly, professional, efficient. From check in to check out, entire stay was positive. Kudos to the hard-working staff. The breakfast is amazing. So many items - too many to mention. The breakfast staff was a pleasure to see each morning, our waiter (Michalis, I think) always remembered our coffee order, the hostess Dimitra was a delight.

We booked directly from the hotel's website, and our deal came with some extras like a complimentary buffet dinner, - which was excellent. Huge variety, high quality, delicious.. And a complimentary head & shoulder massage in the spa - it was sooo great - (thank you Stamatina). I wish I had more time to book another appointment.

We had a room in the Helios bldg, on the 3rd floor. We were upgraded from a deluxe seaview to a superior deluxe seaview (due to a promotional thing they had on their website that particular day - lucky us!). It was great. I liked being in Helios as opposed to main bldg. The 'noise' from next door hotel or even from the Elysium's nightly entertainment down at the beach bar was not bothersome in terms of keeping me up. With the balcony doors closed and the AC on, you couldn't hear it at all anyway. The room was thoroughly cleaned each day (including the balcony), nice new soft fluffy towels each day - I'm always particular about cleaning and they were top-notch.

My only concern actually was the pillows! They were too firm and the extra pillows in the closet were the same. I've been to other 5 star hotels that have 'pillow menus' where you choose what kind of pillow you prefer - this would have been perfect, and more fitting to 5-star standards. And one other minor thing was the bathroom soap/shampoo - I expected a much better brand than Papoutsanis... something like Korres or Apivita would've been much better.... And of course, I have to agree with all the comments about wifi... Free wifi signal is at reception area, and somewhat around the pool... Free wifi all around the hotel, rooms included is a must... I know, we're on vacation and should unplug but in reality wifi has become a necessity, esp at a 5-star hotel.

The pool bar and beach bar had decent variety of snacks/salads/burgers, (very tasty!) and again, wonderful staff. We found the mini market near the hotel lobby convenient as well.

Overall, a great experience - I would love to return to the Elysium again someday soon! Congrats to the staff - it is their hard work that makes this place what it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafegirl17121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Elysium for our honeymoon in Rhodes and couldn't have been happier. The location of the hotel was fantastic; in a very nice area of Rhodes yet a short bus ride into the heart of town. The buses run every 20 minutes from literally right outside the hotel and this enabled us to get around the island and see all of the attractions we wanted to without the need for a rental car or taxi.

The hotel itself was clean and well maintained. The grounds were beyond lovely with the largest (and nicest) pool of any hotel I've ever stayed at. The breakfast buffet was quite large and of good quality. The dinner buffet was equally large, but less satisfying, in our opinion. Except for our first night there, we opted to dine in town for our evening meals.

Staff was friendly. Wait times at the desk seemed unusually long. On several occassions, we were the only people at the reception counter and yet no one would address us for a minute or two. Checkout took over 20 minutes as several guests arrived simultaneously and the reception staff would help people who randomly walked up to the counter over guests who had been standing in line previously. It was very strange and if we had been in a hurry, it may have been unnecessarily stressful. Fortunately we had time to kill and it was just mildly frustrating. I would suggest the reception desk be staffed with more employees as check-out time approaches and that they address guests in the order in which they arrive rather than working with whoever pushes their way to the front (which happened with several guests, not just one, suggesting a pattern).

As is to be expected, prices at the resort were quite high for sundries, food and drink. If budget is a concern, I would recommend you try to head in town as much as possible as prices were significantly lower in town than at the hotel across nearly every spectrum. Be forewarned that, despite the convenience of the bus, the hotel's location is in a fairly remote resort area and there is nothing really in comfortable walking distance (at least, not in the 100+ degree heat we experienced in Rhodes) for meals or sundries. Whatever you need will need to be purchased either at the hotel or in town.

Overall, we found this hotel to be excellent with only minor issues that did not, in any event, negatively impact our stay here. We are quite happy with our stay and would happily return if we ever made it back to Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAchicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmony_el, Customer Services at Elysium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the minor issues you encountered which as you said "did not, in any event, negatively impact" your stay. Please rest assured that we will incorporate your feedback into our next service quality improvement meeting. It is really rewarding for our efforts to receive such excellent feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Elysium Resort & Spa
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

A little late writing this review but it's better late then never! Myself and my partner stayed at the Elysium resort and spa for a week from the 20th of May.

What we both liked about the Elysium - BEAUTIFUL hotel, friendly staff, welcomed with champagne, the room was beautiful and had an amazing sea view! Very clean, the emerald restaurant was great, you could have a buffet or order from the menu and the food was beautiful! The breakfast was fantastic! The best breakfast I've ever had from any resort, they had everything!!!!! The beach was clean and never over packed. Plenty of sun loungers and good drinks. The weather was in it's 30s. We hired out one of the big beds on the beach for the day which was fantastic, you get fruit and a cocktail and free bottled water all day.

What we didn't like - drinks took around 25-30 minutes to arrive. Entertainment in the bar was minimal and pretty boring which left the bar always empty. We payed extra for the hydro tub in our room which was broken and took 4 days to fix after asking twice. The maids left the hotel door open twice! Luckily nothing was stolen. The staffing levels were very fragmented which left us waiting to be served for meals quite a while. Terrible WIFI which doesn't work in rooms only in the lounge. The slippers were made out of cardboard which broke as soon as I put my foot in and the maids did not replace the towels or robes. The beach is sandy by the beds but pebbles by the water which was pretty painful to walk on so wear beach shoes.

For beach days we spent the day at Lindos which was €3 for a bus and Lindos was beautiful or Tsambika which was €5 (only one bus there and back all day) Tsambika was breathtaking! We went there 2 days running. We did paragliding which was about €60 for 2 and they had a few cafés there also. Beds were €8 for 2 all day. Faliraki beach was pretty dirty.

We would recommend the Elysium to anybody! It's definitely more of a couples resort. Regardless of the negatives which were minor we would definitely go back we had an amazing time!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidTolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallithea
0.3 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
20.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
25.6 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Resort & Spa

Property: Elysium Resort & Spa
Address: Ammoudes Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Spa Hotel in Kallithea
#2 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a blue-flag awarded area next to the famous monument of Kalithea Springs and just 8 km away from Rhodes town, the newly built 5 star Elysium Resort and Spa stands in a class entirely on its own. Impeccable style and attention to detail is complemented by a blend of contemporary luxury, sophisticated services and culinary splendour. World class SPA with ESPA branded products & posh executive floors available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Elysium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort And Spa
Elysium Hotel Kalithea
Elysium Resort & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing