We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub food”

The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ellerby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ellerby is open from 12 noon until 9pm every day. Our fayre is mainly standard traditional food done really well. Our steak pie, in particular, is a customer favourite and definitely worth trying. We have a lovely setting, provide great service, make good food and have a friendly team, all of which make The Ellerby a lovely place to have a lazy lunch or relaxing dinner. We have a 55 seater restaurant and are able to cater for large parties and special family occasions. We have daily specials and we also have a separate children's menu as well as a vegan and coeliac menu. We are especially busy on a Sunday and booking ahead is advisable.
Cassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our first visit to The Inn at Ellerby was a couple of month's ago on recommendation and we were very taken with the quality (and the quantity) of the food. A good range of pub food nicely served and with a choice of portion size for some dishes, the smaller portions are still very generous, the "signature" steak pie was packed full of lean steak with a good selection of vegetables to go alongside it. We shall look forward to our third visit on our next trip to the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your dining experiences at The Ellerby. We're delighted to see they were very positive and you will be returning for another visit. Thanks too for highlighting the presentation, quantity and quality of our food. Our team work hard to ensure our customers leave feeling well fed and wanting to return. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    68
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NorthYorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It's been a while...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very glad we decided to pay a return visit - must be three years since we last had a birthday tea here. Staff very helpful, a favourite chicken choice was absent from the menu, our waitress enquired and x two portions were sorted! Lovely chunky chips, veg not over cooked. For dessert I finally chose the almond and cherry tart - very glad I did!

Overall good value and good selection on menus to suit everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent meal here. We are so pleased you are a returning customer and enjoyed your meal at The Ellerby. We do try and cater for all so I am pleased we were able to accommodate your requests. We hope you have a return visit in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staithes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LOVELY LUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Called in today on the way back home from Whitby. Had steak pie, chips and peas. It was superb. Very tasty and great value for money.
The Ellerby is a lovely setting. Quiet, calm and relaxing. We come here on a regular basis and generally enjoy every visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MACKEMLAD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We were so pleased to see your review, thank you for taking the time to write and post it online. It was a lovely busy lunch yesterday with the marvellous weather helping to entice people out. The steak pie is a firm favourite on our menu so its great you enjoyed it. I hope you continue to come and visit us over the coming months. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

As i live locally I have visited the Ellerby Hotel on many occasions over the years with friends and with elderly and younger members of the family and it always a pleasure to go there. The atmosphere is most comfortable and warm and the staff are very polite and welcoming. The food is always beautifully presented and absolutely spot on. The latest visit was with friends when the steaks were on a special. i have never tasted a steak so perfect to my liking. i could not fault the food or the restaurant. I would have no hesitation of visiting the Ellerby again at any point.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacksc907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Ellerby. Its especially great to see locals reviewing our restaurant as your opinion does carry a lot of weight and we are grateful you took the time to post it. The steak special was really popular and is drawing to a close but we plan to have more offers in the coming months. They are published on our Twitter (TheEllerby) and Facebook (The Ellerby Country Inn) pages. We hope to see you again in the coming months. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A welcoming visit with a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

With one of our family not feeling well it was a depleted group of daughter and myself visiting on a Monday night. Pretty quiet initially but got busier later on. Was told afterwards that it can get busy in an evening. However poor mobile phone reception in these parts can make it difficult to call up in advance.

Limited ourselves to starter and mains. (Didn't want to be out too long.) All very well prepared and tasty. Like the sound of the steak pie mentioned elsewhere.

Perhaps will come back another time when the family back up to full strength. Decent pint as well. Can't comment on the desserts or wine list - may save for another visit. They seemed to cater fairly well for differing dietary requirements from the look of the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent meal at the Ellerby. We are pleased you had a nice evening with us. We try to cater as broadly as we can and therefore we have our main menu, as well as a separate vegan, coeliac and children's menu and of course our specials menu which is regularly changed. It's a shame, you didn't have time for a dessert, I can heartily recommend them. I hope you will come and give them a try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Runswick, North Yorkshire
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing