We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ellerby Country Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$213
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hudsons(Whitby)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
223
22
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
223
22
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrunswick bayshared balconyfresh milksteak piegrab railsbooks and gamessky tvsmall fridgeevening mealtea bagslittle extraschristmas breakrelaxing weekendsingle bedvery comfortable roomroom numbershort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 249 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were guests of Tania and David Brown's at their wedding this week end and stayed at the Ellerby, where the reception was held. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and appointed to a very high standard and the breakfast was also excellent. However, as a wedding reception it was simply one of the best we have been to. Unlike so many "mass catered for" events, there was an amazing choice of starter's, main meals and puddings - all very imaginative and creative. Usually, when there is a large sitting, something get's lost - either the quality of the food isn't as good as when there are smaller, individual parties, or the service becomes ragged or slow or there is simply less choice. But not here. A really excellent reception and the friendly and efficient staff could not do enough for the guests. A wedding is an important event - you don't get a dress rehearsal and you don't get a second chance if something goes wrong, but anyone could book this venue with complete confidence for that very special event that simply must be right.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We wanted to write and thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent experience at The Ellerby. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the wedding reception and it was reflected in your 5 star rating.
We really enjoyed hosting the wedding party and were so pleased that everything went well and more importantly the Bride and Groom were so happy with the day. As you clearly recognise, there have to be many factors that contribute to a successful large scale meal and it was really nice that you highlighted this and that the team here worked extremely well and efficiently on the day. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned home from a lovely break at the east coast. As part of our trip we stayed at the Ellerby. We have been regular visitors there over the last 20 years . It is one of the nicest places you could ever go to. The family who own it are wonderful at their job .They know exactly how to look after you from the minute you walk in the door.The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The food is excellent and very consistent . Over the years we have recommended and continue to recommend the Ellerby to all our friends.Thank you so much to Mark and all the staff for such lovely stays.

Louise and Andy
Wakefield

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We were delighted to see your review of The Ellerby. Thank you very much for taking the time to contribute your thoughts on TA. We are pleased you had a good stay and have continued to be a customer of ours for so many years. I will pass your comments onto our team here. Thank you too for the recommendations to your friends and family. It is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just spent one night at this hotel and found it to be excellent. As a single traveller I am used to being put in small rooms but this was the exception. A large comfortable bedroom with one of the best on suite showers I have come across. Hot water on demand and plenty of it. The food was excellent. Special mention must be made of the staff they were really good. Friendly, helpful and anticipating the guests needs without too much fuss. Just as it should be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of The Ellerby. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We don't seem to have many reviews from single travellers so was especially pleased to have your feedback on your time with us. I'm glad we made your trip an excellent one. I hope you return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

just enjoyed three day business trip to this accomodation; definitely not disappointed, pleasant clean rooms, excellent friendly staff and great choice of evening dining. Very quiet and peaceful setting, would highly recommend and will return in the future. Good WiFi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Ellerby, we were so pleased to see the positive remarks. They will be passed onto the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in the family room- there were 3 of us.The room is on 2 floors with a single bed downstairs, double bed upstairs, sofa bed and kids bed- the accommodation is cleverly laid out and maximises space. Nice clean bathroom.
Breakfast was AMAZING! We had omelettes which were cooked to perfection along with a choice of cereals, jams and juices. The cooked breakfast was also very well cooked and set my pops up for the day. A quiet relaxing stay in a gorgeous part of the country. Family ran and very friendly. Nothing seemed to be a problem for them.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoubyLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We are delighted to see your review. Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass on your comments to our team and I hope we get to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews