We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, helpful staff, delightful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellerby Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ellerby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've stayed at the Ellerby twice now and would definitely go back for a third stay. Our room overlooked the hotel garden and gave us lovely views over the moors. The setting was very peaceful and the room was so comfortable; it gave us a great night's sleep. The rooms themselves are immaculate and feel very homely - the homemade biscuits were a lovely touch. Staff were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Both breakfast and our evening meal were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Would recommend to anybody looking for a warm Yorkshire welcome without it feeling too intrusive. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 have a garden view and a shared balcony - great if you're looking for two rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnaby460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. I was so pleased to hear about your stay and that you had a lovely time. Marian (the lady who makes our biscuits) will also be so pleased to hear you liked them. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Ellerby Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We first went to the Ellerby many years ago when our children were small, and loved it then. We went back this week with grown up family and were delighted to find that the Ellerby was still as lovely as ever. We stayed in rooms 10 and 11 which have their own little balcony overlooking the garden. The rooms were perfect - spotlessly clean and a good size. The bathroom was much bigger than many hotel bathrooms, with the fluffiest towels ever! Staff were really friendly and kind. Food in the restaurant - delicious. The location is great - peaceful and quiet. Impossible to find fault with this lovely place. Thank you to everyone at the Ellerby!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little-white-hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, we were so pleased you had a great stay with us having had good memories from your visit many years ago. Rooms 10 and 11 are very popular with their garden view. I hope you will drop in and see us again if you return to this part of North Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at the Ellerby while attending a Charity Event at Teesside Autodrome.

A warm welcome from Jenny who took the trouble to show me a room with bath that had unexpectedly come available rather than my booked room, room one shower only I took that rather than room one as the view over the garden was worth the small increase alone.

The food and service was first class.

Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Legend_Lives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ellerby. Your positive comments are really appreciated and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights in one of the hotel's dog friendly rooms. The room was spacious and very well furnished with a good sized shower. Breakfast was very good and as the hotel do not allow dogs in their bar and restaurant they set up tables and served us in their conservatory.

The hotel is situated in a quiet lane and we didnt hear any noise from the bar which shuts at 11 so we slept well.

All the staff we met were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are so pleased you had a nice visit. Thank you again for booking with us and we hope to see you and your pets again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We returned to The Ellerby several years after a previous pleasant stay - and were not disappointed. Our room was lovely: spacious, spotlessly clean, and a roomy shower/toilet. Nice touches included home-made shortbread biscuits, a good-sized flat-screen TV, nice toiletries and a sofa (a rarity in most B & B's). The garden was beautiful with pretty sheltered tables surrounded by flowers and trees.
We decided to eat at The Ellerby and enjoyed an excellent meal - nicely served, well-cooked with good quality ingredients. The steak pie was as tasty as we'd remembered and the roast dinner was extremely good with perfectly cooked vegetables and a proper home-made Yorkshire pudding. Very reasonably priced for the standard and setting. (And we were impressed to see that a Vegan menu was also available.)
Throughout our stay our dog was made very welcome.

Room Tip: Our "dog-friendly" room was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel and was perfect...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinerWeisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love the atmosphere at The Ellerby. When holidaying on the coast nearby I always make a beeline for the lovely restaurant there. The food is good value, especially if you choose the smaller portions menu - perfectly adequate size of meal for most. On my most recent visit I chose the lamb casserole dish which was one of the tastiest I have experienced. The good quality and variety of veg comes on a separate dish, so you can have as much or as little as you wish. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful. They are honest too - I once left a light jacket there by mistake, not realising until I'd returned home some distance away. When I collected it on my next holiday some months later, I discovered money in the pocket which I'd forgotten about. I felt that they deserved to keep the cash as a reward!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelJWHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a lovley time here... shame it closed so early made to feel unwelcome after 9pm with no bar towels out, lights turned off and nozzels off beer pumps and closed before 10pm! Its a shame really because we visited a few months back and it was great, we were thinking of bringing freinds as we were all stopping in a b&b in the nearby hinderwell (the pub in hinderwell was not our cup of tea) I hope they get it sorted as its a lovely little Yorkshire village pub.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellerby
1.1 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
535 reviews
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,080 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
3.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,061 reviews
13.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerby Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerby Country Inn

Address: 12/14 Ryeland Lane | Runswick Bay, Saltburn-By-The-Sea, Ellerby TS13 5LP, England (Formerly Ellerby Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ellerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ellerby
Price Range: $112 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerby Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a quiet country setting eight miles from Whitby, The Ellerby is within easy access of some of the country's most spectacular coastline, and just minutes away from the glorious North Yorkshire Moors. Heartbeat country and The North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway are also close by. The Ellerby has an excellent reputation for its food using fresh local produce and lamb from our own farm. We have 10-bedrooms, they are all beautifully furnished and all have en-suite facilities. Three of the bedrooms are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ellerby Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ellerby Residential Country Hotel Ellerby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing