We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellerby Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ellerby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights in one of the hotel's dog friendly rooms. The room was spacious and very well furnished with a good sized shower. Breakfast was very good and as the hotel do not allow dogs in their bar and restaurant they set up tables and served us in their conservatory.

The hotel is situated in a quiet lane and we didnt hear any noise from the bar which shuts at 11 so we slept well.

All the staff we met were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerby H, Owner at Ellerby Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are so pleased you had a nice visit. Thank you again for booking with us and we hope to see you and your pets again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We returned to The Ellerby several years after a previous pleasant stay - and were not disappointed. Our room was lovely: spacious, spotlessly clean, and a roomy shower/toilet. Nice touches included home-made shortbread biscuits, a good-sized flat-screen TV, nice toiletries and a sofa (a rarity in most B & B's). The garden was beautiful with pretty sheltered tables surrounded by flowers and trees.
We decided to eat at The Ellerby and enjoyed an excellent meal - nicely served, well-cooked with good quality ingredients. The steak pie was as tasty as we'd remembered and the roast dinner was extremely good with perfectly cooked vegetables and a proper home-made Yorkshire pudding. Very reasonably priced for the standard and setting. (And we were impressed to see that a Vegan menu was also available.)
Throughout our stay our dog was made very welcome.

Room Tip: Our "dog-friendly" room was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel and was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinerWeisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love the atmosphere at The Ellerby. When holidaying on the coast nearby I always make a beeline for the lovely restaurant there. The food is good value, especially if you choose the smaller portions menu - perfectly adequate size of meal for most. On my most recent visit I chose the lamb casserole dish which was one of the tastiest I have experienced. The good quality and variety of veg comes on a separate dish, so you can have as much or as little as you wish. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful. They are honest too - I once left a light jacket there by mistake, not realising until I'd returned home some distance away. When I collected it on my next holiday some months later, I discovered money in the pocket which I'd forgotten about. I felt that they deserved to keep the cash as a reward!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelJWHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a lovley time here... shame it closed so early made to feel unwelcome after 9pm with no bar towels out, lights turned off and nozzels off beer pumps and closed before 10pm! Its a shame really because we visited a few months back and it was great, we were thinking of bringing freinds as we were all stopping in a b&b in the nearby hinderwell (the pub in hinderwell was not our cup of tea) I hope they get it sorted as its a lovely little Yorkshire village pub.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions during the last 15 years. This time it was for three nights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was terrific and the accommodation was excellent. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 170Paul983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at The Ellerby and I enjoyed it once again. The hotel is rustic and welcoming, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much for them. There are toys, games and books to keep the kids entertained in the conservatory and a grassed and a garden area outback for them to run around in or enjoy an al fresco drink/meal. My kids were made to feel welcome by the staff and we were not made to feel unwelcome when they decided to have a bit of a tantrum - which is a bonus. The food in the restaurant is delicious - only suggestion would be to update the menu with a few new dishes as been the same for the last couple of times we visited. I am looking forward to the next time we stay! Overall, a really enjoyable short break.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children, family room three has extra beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay celebrating our wedding anniversary. This was our 4th visit. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent accomodation and food. Great value for money. We shall be back

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 have a balcony with a table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellerby
1.1 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
547 reviews
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,161 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
893 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
650 reviews
10.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerby Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerby Country Inn

Address: 12/14 Ryeland Lane | Runswick Bay, Saltburn-By-The-Sea, Ellerby TS13 5LP, England (Formerly Ellerby Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ellerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ellerby
Price Range: $123 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerby Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a quiet country setting eight miles from Whitby, The Ellerby is within easy access of some of the country's most spectacular coastline, and just minutes away from the glorious North Yorkshire Moors. Heartbeat country and The North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway are also close by. The Ellerby has an excellent reputation for its food using fresh local produce and lamb from our own farm. We have 10-bedrooms, they are all beautifully furnished and all have en-suite facilities. Three of the bedrooms are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ellerby Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ellerby Residential Country Hotel Ellerby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing