We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”
Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2010

It was a first time here & what a truly magical resort this is. The lodge was fantastic and the surroundings beautiful. It was the best holiday I've had in the UK. Meeting the wildlife is a great added extra and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Is a short walk into Portreath with local amenities and the is stunning beach here. The restaurant on-site serves fantastic food and even offers a takeaway service. Lodges have all modern amenities including also a dishwasher and a washer/dryer-great for families or large groups. Each lodge has a parking space right outside too which makes like easy and makes it a great base to explore Cornwall from.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyPothecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 725 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed with my hubby and my 6 yr girl and 2yr boy. We were in three bed vip deluxe lodge. I hadn't stayed in lodges only at center parcs which i didn't like. These were gorgeous. Very clean spotless excellent kitchen log burner and hot tub. Beautiful! the gym good small but good same as pool.
We visited loads places but loved
Crealy adventure park. Great massage with Eva. Nico gave me some good running routes. Brilliant place would go again

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniecharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We just had a week at Gwel An Mor, Portreath, in August, and as most other reviews we cannot fault the place at all. We stayed in a Lowena Lodge, one double bedroom and one twin. These are certainly 5 star as claimed.
We dined in the Terrace restaurant three times and found the service, and food first class.
It’s not cheap to stay here, but you get what you pay for.

Also out of about six different bakers we visited, Portreath bakery shop sells the best pasties for miles.

3  Thank northessexboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We spent a week at Gwel an Mor in July and despite the weather not being perfect we still had a wonderful holiday.

The lodges are super clean and ideal for young children to charge about in. We ate at the restaurant, the food was delicous and we had to get a doggy bag as the portions were pretty big. I thought the pool was just right for young children as it wasn't too big and was warm. We had a great morning rock pooling with Gary, he made even the tinest rock pool seem like a treasure trove, although I think I was concentrating a bit more than my small person was! All the Gwel an More staff were helpful and friendly and the mid-week maid service was a major bonus.

We spent time down on Portreath beach and also travelled to Perranporth, St Ives (not pushchair friendly!) and Newquay. It was about an hour to The Eden Project where we had a great day out.

We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We booked a week at Gwel an Mor five star resort to follow five days in Bude where we stayed in hostel type accommodation whilst on an adventure holiday. We had a Tregea VIP lodge, three bedrooms (two twin and one double) and a hot tub on the deck. When we arrived the lodge was very clean, sparklingly so and very well decorated, none of that don't put anything decent in the place in case it gets stolen business. It felt comfortable not like the usual rental places.
We had chosen the VIP lodge for the hot tub and we really enjoyed this little treat. The bedrooms were an excellent size and the whole lodge seemed huge with just the four of us in it (especially after our bunk room the week before).
The pool was clean but small, children under 16 had to be accompanied by an adult, there are no lifeguards, it was an adequate pool but didn't really suit us, we like our children, 9 and 11, to be able to go ahead to the pool and join them ten minutes later, not possible though.
We didn't use the gym but we did have a look, it was very small with about six machines. It was much smaller than I thought it would be, but no one was using it so if you are keen on keeping up with your exercise regime you'd probably have your pick of the equipment.
We ate in the restaurant twice, once for lunch where the service was almost non existent (there were only three families in the whole place) and once for dinner which was excellent all round, including the service! The one thing it really fell down on was atmosphere, there was none.
We had a great holiday visiting local attractions using the lodge as our base. Although we enjoyed the excellent standard of the lodge and were very comfortable we really felt we could have rented a cottage in complete isolation and met as many people, none, during our stay. It is extremely private and a just a little bit too Stepford for our family, virtually all the visitors owned a car three years old or less, BMWs, Audis, Volvos, (including us) reminded me of a smart housing development in an affluent commuter town.
I think it would be excellent for people with younger children who have no choice but to be with their children every minute of the day, or those who'd love to have some privacy, I can also imagine that staying here out of season would be lovely especially with the woood burner going. We, however, like some holiday atmosphere and for the children to make friends and have a little independence, this wasn't the ideal place for us, it was lovely but dull.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yumscrumdiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

What can I say, these guests didn’t get the holiday they wanted although we provided in their own words Sparklingly clean, spacious, well decorated and safe accommodation! And a restaurant that they also say was excellent all round.

Considering we were fully occupied, we still provided peace and quiet, which was judged as dull! Of course they could have joined any of the wildlife and nature activities on our farm; there are several every day. Walked or cycled to the beach, where they can swim safely, surf, and kayak, or explore the 26 miles of mineral tramways routes directly from Gwel an Mor. Our holidays we believe give people the option to do as much or as little as they want, but whatever they decide they are staying in excellent, clean and safe accommodation with staff that will always try and help, that’s us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is the third time we have been to Gwel an Mor and we would really recommend it. We thought it was fab last time, but lots of things have got even better... The restaurant is brilliant - we can recommend the fish and the desserts are yummy. The gym is also great for working off the extra pounds!!!!!

We went on a wildlife walk this time and the 5 year old we were with particularly enjoyed seeing the foxes and flying the birds.

The lodges are still very clean and well equipped with everything you need. We also had a hot tub, which was a relaxing treat.

We travelled around a bit more this time and found that the lodge was an excellent base for seeing lots of Cornwall. We would also recommend the Minnack theatre - such a great setting. The staff were also very helpful and suggested places to go.

Also remember to visit the spa on site - I had an excellent manicure and pedicure - my nails still look great!

Another great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leatherhead12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed in a VIP Lodge with a toddler and baby. Layout and facilities in the lodge were great and the extras like the travel cot and high chair were clean and easy to use. The hot tub was a welcome treat in the evenings. The resort is small and very clean, ideal for a family with young children. I would recommend having a spa treatment (I had a massage and it was fab).
Location is good for many of Cornwall's popular attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pybba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
3 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,301 reviews
18.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.5 mi away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
1,055 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 5 in Mawgan Porth
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing