We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Gwel an Mor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwel an Mor
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful peaceful break,spent a lovely half term there with son,great walks to the country park and the beach,accommodation 1st class,clubhouse clean and inviting,staff very friendly and helpful,restaurant onsight a bit pricey for what it is but apart from that no complaints.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cloverina1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Cloverina,

"fantastic"

Thanks for taking the time, and your really nice thoughts about us, cleanliness is one of our sacrosanct aims, aims, our housekeeping team are excellent and love to hear from our guests when they notice their hard work.

Come back soon.

Bill Haslam
(owner)

And I'm from Southampton as well! and we beat Crystal Palace 1-0 today so a good day all round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    98
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
444
116
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just had a lovely mid week break with my husband and two sons (3 and 5). The resort was everything it claimed to be and more.

The pool was lovely, the log burner and hot tubs were nice little extras, the kitchen was very well equipped and the rooms were very comfortable. We were able to check in early and were made to feel very welcome by extremely friendly staff. The lodge was also very very clean!

We were provided with lots of tourist information in the form of a flyer pack and by the helpful staff. Gwel an Mor provided the perfect spot to explore Cornwall.

We had a lovely meal at the restaurant where again we were made to feel very welcome. Looking forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmorgans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
The Morgans,

Fantastic words, thank you so much for taking the time to write, school holidays are always busy times for us we were full again so to hear that you had such a great stay and that we were everything we thought we would be is great to hear.

Your positive comments about the Spa, restaurant and cleanliness will be passed on to all our team, and the best thing of all you will be coming back!!

Thats what we always aim for!

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Three of us stayed in the Jago lodge, which I think is listed on the resort website as one of the Tregea VIP Lodges (sleeps 6)
.
Postives of Lodge:
Very spacious, clean, well equipped kitchen, good appliances, good quality furniture, good storage, good sized tv, good views from upstairs open plan sitting room and kitchen diner, comfy beds, good sized wooden sun terrace, nice balcony, great clean hot tub with changing coloured lights!, designated parking for 2 cars.
Negatives of Lodge:
Decor a bit 1990's!, stairs a bit steep, beds could be bigger, hot tub at the front of lodge so all neighbouring lodges can see you!, sun terrace only at front of lodge so no privacy, views of countryside but view of sea very obscured by lodges below, not all bedrooms have ensuite.

Postives of Spa:
Really well designed, very spacious changing area, very clean, well maintained, lovely views of sea from pool, good jacuzzi, good sauna/steam room, great atmospheric lighting at night.
Negatives of Spa:
The pool is only big enough for about 4 adults to do lengths, really needs separate pool for children.

Positives of Resort Site:
Well laid out site, lots of well maintained landscaping, unusual plants and flowers in communal gardens, Good food in restaurant, Secluded location, lots of countryside to explore, good maps of planned walks, stunning beach, access to petting farm, staff helpful and friendly.
Negatives of Resort Site:
Severe speed bumps on drive into site, remote location, Portreath beach beautiful but steep long walk back up to site, Portreath village not very attractive, poor range in restaurants/cafes.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge with an unobscured view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lotti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Lotti,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

Great to hear how nice you thought the Spa was and how "clean" as we focus strongly on our cleaning of lodges and public areas.

The lodge decors are certainly not 90s, the oldest lodge is only 8 years old, and most of those have been refurbished in part already, but we all have different tastes, and our lodges are not all the same, so maybe next time you will get something different.

If you really like contemporary then try our "Residence" lodges they are cutting edge in terms of interiors and technology, have a look on our website and see for yourself.

Portreath itself is certainly not a Padstow but it does have an amazing beach, three good pubs that do food and a great bakery! The harbour itself is pretty as well, and there are some great walks around it.

Hope you will come back soon and try one of our other lodges, they all have sea views the best ones generally being our VIP or Deluxe VIP lodges.

Bill Haslam
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for a second time, Feb half term. Top accommodation. Great location and setting. Great Pool & spa. Lots to do whatever the weather. Would highly recommend. The spa/ treatments are very good. Good sauna and steam room. Would highly recommend the Nature Walks and Feadon Farm activities. Didn't use the on site restaurant this time, wasn't that impressed with it on our first stay. WiFi could be better in the accommodation. Other than these things, think it is a great place and is an easy 5 stars to give.

Room Tip: All the accommodation lodges are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
JF,

Thanks for your positive thoughts about us, I would like to comment on a couple of points you made, the broadband speed has been an issue when we are busy, and we appreciate these days how important this is.

This is Due to our location in Cornwall and the sheer growth of peoples devices, last week with 50 + properties we had over 450 devices attached at one point, that over 4 for each lodge!

The good news is we have just got our first "Superfast" broadband supply and have five more coming over the next couple of weeks, so when you come back again the internet should be cosmic!

As for our Terrace restaurant we have a new executive head chef and team in residence and I think we now have some of the best food on offer in Cornwall, our new menu launches this week and it is awesome.

Can't wait for you to come back and see for yourself!

I will pass on all of your comments to our SPA team who are always pleased when their work is recognised and thank you so much for taking the time to write.

Bill Haslam
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Came for half term. Fabulous accommodation, lovely views of the sea, nice pool. The lodges are very spacious & nicely done. The log burner & hot tub make it a treat. Keep an eye out for their special offers which would make a school holiday trip v good value. We visited some of the local beaches & also enjoyed the walks you can do straight from the resort. Feadon farm & The Terrace Restaurant are well worth a visit whilst you're here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had an enjoyable week staying at Gwen an Mor a fortnight ago. The lodge was spotless, well equipped, spacious warm and provided a great view of the sea. The car parking space directly outside the lodge was much appreciated (particularly given the amount of rain). The resort pool was wonderful, very warm and the children had a great time. The jacuzzi and sauna were also very relaxing (there was also a steam room but I did not use it). The onsite restaurant could not have been more helpful and we particularly enjoyed being able to take out meals to the lodge.

My only minor comment would be that I think it is unfortunate that the resort has a rental charge for cots and a £10 per week charge per high chair.. As a family friendly resort I think this is unfortunate, I would not object to paying either a deposit or smaller amount but this did seem a bit harsh.

Overall a great place from which to explore Cornwall. The lodges are amongst the best we have seen and the onsite staff can not do enough for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X5793GBmarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

At last I can write my review! We stayed here between Christmas and the 4th of Jan for New Year, however because I had written a review for our stay in October 2013, Tripadvisor wouldn't let me write a review for 3 months...grrrr!

Anyway, after being so impressed with our first stay in October 2013, we booked again for New Year. Once again I really can't fault anything. The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful across the board. The lodges are the perfect home from home with everything thought of, we even had a christmas tree :)

We really have fallen in love with Gwel an Mor and believe it will feature in our holiday plans for many years to come. I have recommended it to so many people and on both visits we have brought different sets of friends with us to enjoy all that Gwel an Mor has to offer and they loved it as much as we do.

Looking forward to a return visit later in 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara75O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Zara,

Glad you got to write this in the end! and to hear your in love with us is even better, and that you are still impressed with us.

We do try and make the lodges as cosy and "home from home" as possible, there is nothing quite like warming up in front of the log fire or gazing up at the stars from your hot tub.

We also hope we are part of your holiday plans for years to come, thats certainly what we aim to do, and why all our team here are genuine in their service, they really do care, and I will pass on your kind words about them.

Look forward to seeing you back soon,

Bill Haslam
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,223 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
856 reviews
8.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
3.0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
14.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Property: Gwel an Mor
Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gwel an Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing