We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and homely!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glenfeadon Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frances26...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely and homely! ”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great stay at Glenfeadon Villa. It is a lovely homely place to stay, only a few minutes walk from the beautiful Portreath beach. It is very well equipped for different eventualities and the friendly owner is on the end of the phone if needed. The 2 double bedrooms are a good size and very comfortable for a two week stay. Plenty of leaflets/information are provided to help you explore the surrounding area. Would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkerpop...
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a good location.”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Glenfeadon Villa and found it spacious and very well equipped for a family holiday. My grandson loved sleeping in the top bunk in his room, and we were very pleased with our double rooms, lots of storage space and comfortable beds. My family used the upstairs shower room and I used the downstairs bathroom, lovely hot showers in both and again both are spacious. The kitchen had all the cooking utensils needed and a very good microwave and cooker. We cooked every evening and my reservations about the electricity meter were unfounded. Never had the need to use the wall heaters but did have the wood burner lit once, so cosy. We had one small problem and after a text to the owner it was rectified very promptly, impressively, within a few hours. The location is ideal, quiet road and a few minutes to the beautiful beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vf82
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Had a fantastic holiday staying in this cottage. It has been done to a very high standard and was very roomy. Walking distance to the beach and local shops, so perfect for little ones.
I will certainly look to stay here again.
Electricity is on a meter that you have to top up in the local shop, we found that it cost quite a lot to get the house warmed up initially, but then evened out a bit for the rest of the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Spent a lovely weekend here. The cottage is well located near the harbour and beach. It is well presented and very comfortable, the log burner made the evenings very cosy and atmospheric. Keith, the owner, was very helpful and informative. We all thought the cottage very good value and would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy G
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great house in a great location. Just down the road from the beach and round the corner from the shops. Very sweet house with everything you need to make you feel at home - the log burner is amazing on colder evenings! We had a fab week staying at Glenfeadon Villa and hope to return next year (and hopefully we will be as lucky with the weather)!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy_St...
Stratford Upon Avon
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was a very well finished house, with good quality furnishings, close to woodland walks, sandy beach with rock pools and caves. It was near to perfect apart from the weather.

The property itself was great. I got the impression the owner really cared about us during our stay to the extent of having fresh flowers in a vase and fresh milk in the fridge on our arrival. Everything was easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanxair
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really nice house let down by the dreadful state of the property next door and their dogs”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Liked the house which is pretty well equipped and the village. Easy walk to the beach. Unfortunatelly the house next door is very run down and littered with rubbish on the front yard - ranging from a slowly rotting VW beetle to animal cages and more recent carrier bags of rubbish which contained nappies. Flies were plentiful. Also the couple next door have dogs which they sometimes chain up in the shared alleyway and the dogs are loosed down there to use it as somewhere to pee and pooh. The resultant stench made the back yard ususabe as the dogs seemed to pee against the door into our yard. Attempted a barbecue once in the two weeks but gave up with the smell. Have dogs at home so not unused to them but they are walked on open land not peeing outside he back door.
Photos attached of view of next door from the upstairs of Glenfeadon and some dog pee seeping into the back yard.
Very sad as would definitey would use the house again but for this unhygenic and unpleasant situation next door which incidentally is not evident on the latest Google street view from 2009.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Portreath
Liked least: Dreadful dump next door
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2015
Unfortunately this review was accurate at the time .Fortunately however these tenants have now vacated the property and the place has been thoroughly cleaned and you will see from previous reviews that there has never been a problem in the past. Regards Keith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing