We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2018 Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gulls Cry

View from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
View from the garden
En suite
Main bedroom with en-suite
Steps up to Bungalow on the left and House on the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim J
1 review
“2018 Holiday ”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Well, what can I say. We love this place. The area and views are stunning. The beach is fabulous and only a very very short walk. Janet & James are fabulous! Couldn’t ask for a better place to stay! Brilliant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2018
Thanks for your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copey1975
1 review
“Great holiday”
Reviewed August 9, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed in the main house for 2 weeks, the house was very spacious and just a stones throw from the beautiful beach.The owners were very welcoming and answered any questions we had. We had an amazing holiday and have rebooked for next year. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Glad you had such a good time and we shall look forward to seeing you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosslife
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful accommodation, fantastic location and lovely owners”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We have just got back from a wonderful weeks holiday. The accommodation is literally a 1 minute walk to the beach, if even that! Often places say they are near the beach but this really is. It is also tucked at the quiet and peaceful end of Portreath beach and so even in July we found this end had plenty of space. The rockpools and caves were greatly explored by our children.
The accommodation itself is very spacious and has views across the beach from the lounge. The master room is a really good size, with comfortable king size bed and good sized en-suite. The kitchen is a great size with big table in the middle and the separate bathroom is enormous.
The owners are lovely and are next door should any problems arise, whilst not intruding at all.
There was tea, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits in the kitchen waiting for us after a long drive which were much appreciated.
This is a wonderful place and we would definitely recommend it :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2018
Thank you. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 23, 2018
Thank you - glad you had such a good time. We are sorry about the problem with the slats. Always hard to please everyone with hard/soft beds. In the light of both comments we are replacing the slatted beds with new divans which are arriving on Friday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
7Rohan
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
“Great location!”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Right on the beach, and loads of smugglers caves to explore. Rustic but very functional, and felt like a home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you - always great to have such a lovely family here. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pathfinde...
1 review
“No clock watching here!”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely family holiday spent at Gulls Cry. Bungalow is a stones throw from the beautiful beach which made it so much easier to walk there and back in our wet suits! (We noticed that the beach did not allow dogs there between 7am and 7pm). Gorgeous coastal walks actually on the doorstep. There were 6 of us holidaying together and we didn't get under each others feet at all. Our main bedroom had an en suite which was perfect for my husband and I. The 4 younger adults had a huge bathroom to themselves. Having a separate kitchen and lounge was perfect too. The boys would sometimes stay up late watching films and stay on the sofa bed in there. Everything was very clean. Lovely comfortable beds. Washing machine and dryer were handy for us too. James the owner, lives next door and he welcomed us the first day making sure we were happy with everything. It was nice to know we could call on him at anytime should we need anything. The lane to the property is quite narrow but not a problem as there are areas allocated for vehicles to pass each other There are two smallish parking spaces provided with the property. We brought 3 cars with us and kept one of ours just a short walk from the bungalow on the main street through Portreath. We would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you - glad you enjoyed your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing