We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portreath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Portreath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip. I needed a dog friendly place and wanted to be near the beach. It was clean, tidy, the owners were friendly and helpful, good value, great for the dog. Just what I needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruncher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    34
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
77
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a lovely long weekend, the room was comfortable, warm and cosy. ( downstairs room with own front door) simon and Viv were so welcoming we now feel like we've known them for years. They gave us Loads of information on places to visit. Portreath is a brilliant base for visiting all of Cornwall. We Cant wait to visit Cliff House again it's got to be the best bed and breakfast in the village . (Breakfast was so yummy).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights to walk part of the South West Costal Path. Great place, spotlessly clean and owners very welcoming. And the weather was good too!
Beds were very comfortable and bathroom fitted out to a high standard. The owners clearly put a lot of effort into their B&B and it shows.
Had a couple of great meals at the Bassett Arms (think that was the name..) in Portreath so can recommend that too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,703 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 878 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of day 3 of 4 walking a part of the SWCP from Padstow to St. Ives. Viv was very welcoming; the room, albeit on the small side, was spotless with a very comfy bed; and the breakfast was excellent.
Highly recommended to fellow walkers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed in late August/early September on a golf/surfing trip. B&B was excellent, good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, clean room. Portreath itself is ok, not as picturesque as some other coastal villages but if you are going to go... Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My son and I stayed here for a night whilst walking the Coastal Path. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was great (large shower) and the breakfast was the best we had in a week's walking! There are lots of nice touches - DVD player plus DVDs in our room, nice pictures on the wall etc. The owners are very friendly and helpful - they recommended a great pub in Portreath for a meal. All round an excellent B&B!

Room Tip: We had the self-contained room like a small annex with its own outside door. This is an excellent ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here in early August whilst starting another section of the South West Coast Path. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful - they were helpful with recommendations for evening meals, weather, local transport, nothing was too much trouble.

This bed and breakfast was undoubtedly one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in - everything was spotless. Breakfast was superb. Thank you for welcoming us and our dog Harvey and making the start of our holiday very comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
5.5 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
3.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,182 reviews
5.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
22.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cliff House Cliff Terrace, Portreath TR16 4LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Portreath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff House is located directly on The South West Coast Path. Being just a few steps from Portreath's historic working harbour and a 2 or 3 minute level walk from Portreath's sandy beach, Cliff House is ideally located for walkers of the South West Coast Path, to have a relaxing beach holiday or to travel around Cornwall. Parking is available on site or there is a local bus service which stops about 50 metres away so no problems getting about. One night stays are acceptable and a downstairs en-suite room caters for those guests who do not like stairs. Well behaved pets are welcome by prior arrangement and packed lunches can be provided if requested in advance(please ask for a quote). All in all it is the intention to make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing