We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Portreath Arms(Portreath)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tyacks Hotel(Camborne)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Francis Basset Hotel(Camborne)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lowenac Hotel(Camborne)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Agnes Hotel(St Agnes)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
164
46
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
46
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe south west coast pathpub restaurant next doorwalking the swcpday's walkcomfortable nightb and bone nighttwin roomfriendly welcomegreat accommodationlocal pubpleasant stayrooms were spotlessfeel very welcomethe main housebank holidaygreat position
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 216 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had a single overlooking the pub next door with a shared bathroom across the hall. The room was small but well appointed with a rack and hangers instead of a wardrobe - perfect for walkers. The bathroom was really good - larger than the bedroom with new-looking fixtures and fittings. The location of Cliff House meant that I could leave the window open without disturbance from the pub next door or the pungent smell of the harbour. The hosts were helpful and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our walk on the SW Coast Path. When we arrived we were made welcome in a very friendly way by the landlords. We had two rooms, one rather small room with an ensuite bathroom in the main house, and a room in the annexe. Both were impeccably clean, the bathrooms large and the beds comfortable. The landlord directed us to a nice restaurant for our evening meal. Breakfast was served in a nicely decorated room and left nothing to be asked for. The hosts were friendly and knowledgeable (we learnt quite a bit about Portreath history!). I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Portreath.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrixieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Friendly hosts, beautiful home, stopped in a single room with shared bathroom which would not look out of place in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast room reflects the whole place, clean, fresh and bright with a lot of small design touches which show the pride and effort that must go into running this place and a great breakfast to boot!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nobby_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for the review, we are so glad to hear that your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one. We do try our hardest to make our home feel welcoming, Hope your other stops are as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The enthusiasm Simon and Viv show in making sure you enjoy your visit is obvious from arrival to departure. Their friendly personalities make Cliff House special. The rooms are spotlessly clean and there's an excellent choice for breakfast. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stelvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We try to make everyone feel at home and if we can offer help in any way we do/will. We very much look forward to you visiting us at Cliff House in the not to distant furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked through LateRooms.com and I have never been made to feel so unwelcome! We had indicated that we hoped to arrive at 4pm but the site clearly said check-in was between 4pm and 7pm, so imagine my dismay when (having arrived at 7pm),we received a long lecture about how late we were and how we had spoilt their night. Well it spoilt MY night - and I had to pay £75 for the experience! I still don't understand what I did that was so bad. It was a relief to get out of Portreath. This is one place that I will never return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We are sorry that you felt your experience of Portreath was not a good one, you have clearly shown your disappointment!
We should point out that actually you arrived at 7.40pm (we know that as we had just cancelled a booking we had for 7.30pm!) We do ask that guests if possible check in between 4-7pm (unless otherwise arranged) and you did state on your booking 4pm arrival.

Actually initially we were rather concerned for your welfare as it was 3.5 hours after your expected arrival time and we thought that maybe you were walking the South West Coast Path as so many of our guests do. It was your comment and I quote "actually, we couldn't be bothered to get in the car" that was a bit upsetting for us! Most guests give us a courtesy call to say they will be arriving late. it is such a shame that didn't cross your mind to do that as we could have made arrangements for your arrival. especially as unlike a hotel most B&B's do not have the benefit of a 24hr reception for check in which maybe more suitable for your future needs.

We sincerely hope that potential future guests will judge us by the numerous satisfied customers that have left us true and factual reviews here and on other sites. (We have just been awarded a 2013 certificate of excellence (which includes our breakfasts).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews