We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portreath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Portreath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wardsboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Cliff House for two nights. Would stay longer if we could. The room was very comfortable, quiet, clean and had all the amenities. All the linens were pressed... that's the best! The shower was a little small and it was hard to adjust the hot water for me, but not my husband. Simon greeted us warmly when we arrived. There was a little mixup on the payment of the room, but it was resolved straight away with kind words from Simon when we discovered it was our mistake. The breakfast was spectacular, especially the bacon, which I had the joy of having for the first time. The ocean/beach decorations gave you a feeling of being in a seaside resort/ cottage..very nice. Plenty of information about the area sights. WiFi connection was weak. Simon was very helpful in suggesting a restaurant in the area. We recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    34
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
75
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mousehole
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pleased we chose this B&B for our night in Portreath, The rooms are lovely, bright and clean - with a fab on-suite bathroom and comfy bed. The owners made us feel very welcome and the cooked breakfast in the morning was top notch! Would definately reccommend to others and would most definately stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very clean. Just a little dust here and there. Breakfast was nice, I like how you can choose what you want so nothing goes to waste. Room was rather average size with the bathroom was modern and nice. Plus the 2 staff I met we're easy to talk to and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikertommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August 2012. I found it online and was taken back to being 15 again when I last stayed in Porteath. The B&B was very clean and tidy. The bedroom was very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was well designed and clean. The B&B was a stone's thrown from the beach and the Altantic cafe (also a lovely place to go on the seafront for food or a coffee). The owners were so helpful and the breakfasts were gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My sister and I stayed here this week just gone and were greeted straight away and although we arrived early, our room was ready. It was clean, large with comfy beds and a nice shower. The tv was a bonus too. 5 minutes walk, if that, to the beach and across the road from corner shop and bakery. Breakfast was yum and never any problems. Couple that run it are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area as well as friendly. So yes, would book again and had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EKonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Cliff House the night before a week at the Minack Theatre and again the night after. We couldn't have been more delighted with our choice. We were given a very warm welcome, slept comfortably in very attrractive rooms and enjoyed delicious breakfasts. Cliff House is wonderfully convenient for shops, beach and restaurants, as well as a great variety of walks, so the car was abandoned with great relief. Simon and Viv are perfect hosts and I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were trying to book a couple of nights in St Ives at short notice, but to be honest, I'm glad we couldn't find anything there because we probably got a bit of real Cornwall instead. This little B&B in Portreath was perfect for our needs. We had the room on the side of the main building which left us with total independance and as much privacy as we wanted, and it was immaculately presented. Simon and Viv couldn't do enough to help us when we went in for breakfast each morning, and all the local information was laid out to help plan the day

Room Tip: Room 6 on side of house has its own front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
5.5 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
3.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
5.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cliff House Cliff Terrace, Portreath TR16 4LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Portreath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff House is located directly on The South West Coast Path. Being just a few steps from Portreath's historic working harbour and a 2 or 3 minute level walk from Portreath's sandy beach, Cliff House is ideally located for walkers of the South West Coast Path, to have a relaxing beach holiday or to travel around Cornwall. Parking is available on site or there is a local bus service which stops about 50 metres away so no problems getting about. One night stays are acceptable and a downstairs en-suite room caters for those guests who do not like stairs. Well behaved pets are welcome by prior arrangement and packed lunches can be provided if requested in advance(please ask for a quote). All in all it is the intention to make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing