We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fabulous Place to Stay!”
BASSETS ACRE HAS JUST 6 FAB 1-3 BEDROOM APAR
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BASSETS ACRE HAS JUST 6 FAB 1-3 BEDROOM APAR
OUR NEW POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE IS AN OASIS, ENJOY A SWIMM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER.  Relax and Induldge youself in our Hot Tub / Spa after a good swim, what could be better.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
BASSETS ACRE HAS JUST 6 FAB 1-3 BEDROOM APAR
OUR NEW POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE IS AN OASIS, ENJOY A SWIMM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER.
Relax and Induldge youself in our Hot Tub / Spa after a good swim, what could be better.
The stylish new kitchen/ dining area looks out over the garden
Badgers Watch, The balcony is an ideal place to watch wildlife overlooking the back garden
The classic double bedroom has loads of character with cumfy victorian style double bed .
The childrens bedroom has pine  2ft 6in x6ft bunk beds, not suitable for adults,
THE RED ARROW SHOWS OUR LOCATION IN PORTREATH VILLAGE WHICH IS SURROUNDED BY NATIONAL TRUST COUNTRY
Richard and Pamela Christ, Resident owners of Bassets Acre since 1978.
 40 YEARS  WOW !
Bassets acre, Holiday apartments, Portreath, Built in 1827 by Lord de Dunstanville Basset.
OUR GAMES ROOM HAS SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE PLUS A DVD AND BOOK LIBRUARY
Our childrens adventure play area has a sand pit & table tennis
RELAX AND ENJOY OUR LIVELY GARDEN WITH GAS BARBECUE
Table tennis and adventure play area.
Our one acre of sub tropical gardens, A real oasis of tranquility
Rear view of house in an acre of sub tropical gardens
PORTREATH BAY AND HARBOUR LOOKING STUNNING
We are just a short stroll to Portreaths beautiful sandy Beach , Harbour, Shops and great Pubs.
Portreath ,The pepper pot on the cliff, Used for observation, The start of many fantastic cliff walk
Spend happy hours in the rock pools and explore the Portreath caves.
One of many amazing sunsets taken from the deck, Only seen on the north coast.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue Y
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fabulous Place to Stay!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a fabulous holiday at Bassets Acre. As soon as we arrived, the place had a lovely feel about it. Pam and Richard are very welcoming and so easy to get on with.

There were 4 of us in the Badgers Watch apartment (myself, husband and 2 boys aged 14 and 12). It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Having the balcony overlooking the gardens was lovely as well as our own staircase to the apartment.

The gardens are fabulous and so tranquil. With the weather being so hot and sunny all week, we were able to have breakfast in the garden in the morning, with only the sound of the water from the stream and birds singing. Bliss!

In the evening we tended to have a BBQ up in the watch tower, which has very comfortable chairs and tables and overlooks the whole bay. We were fortunate to see the most fabulous sunsets from there every evening.

The swimming pool and hot tub were great and often, we had them to ourselves. There is also a games room, which the boys liked and played pool. There are also other games, books and DVDs in there.

All in all, it was a lovely, relaxing week. Pam and Richard have created a wonderful, relaxing environment that will leave you completely chilled at the end of your holiday.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gardens, watch tower, situation of apartment, Pam & Richard being such lovely people
Liked least: There wasn't anything I didn't like
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday , it means a lot to us to know all of our hard work is not in vain & a joy to meet such lovely like minded people.
Best wishes
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee J
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything about Bassets is as stated”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My partner and I stayed in June and the facilities are very good,the apartment is lovely and very clean but the bathroom could probably do with a little updating. The only other minor problem is the space either side of the bed very narrow. Pam and Rich are lovely people and very helpful nothing is to much trouble.We would definitely go back again hopefully this year. Portreath is a lovely little village and an ideal base for visiting most places in Cornwall.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2013
Thanks you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review ,
Having spent so much time completely redisigning the apartment we were
realy happy you liked it so much.
Best wishes
Pamela & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Facilities, and excellent accomodation”
Reviewed September 20, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We booked a week at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments, Great welcome by Pam and Richard a great place to explore both coasts and visit St ives, Falmouth and Marizon. Hot tub was a great addition after day surfing at the beach. Covered pool keeps the tempreture bearable in our typical summers. would not hesitate to reccomend these apartments to anyone. Thank you for making us welcome...

Date of stay: July 2011
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub and covered pool
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustardNa...
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our second visit, and we'll keep going back”
Reviewed September 4, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We've stayed in two separate apartments in this property and have found them both well equipped and very comfortable. Usefully there are different sizes of property depending on the size/age of your family.

Pam and Richard are always friendly and make every effort to ensure that their guests holiday needs are met as much as possible.

The grounds are superb, the hot tub is great fun. And it's always nice to jump into a heated swimming pool when coming back from the beach. We BBQ'd every night, particularly enjoying the sunset views from the deck house at the rear of the property.

We would thoroughly recommend Bassets Acre to anyone. We're glad we've stumbled across this little gem and we will keep going back.

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great hosts
Liked least: Wi-fi coverage was patchy in some areas
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmkempste...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 7, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

My family love Bassets Acre, Pam and Richard are so hospitable, we especially loved our apartment this year Badgers Watch with the balcony. The apartments are very spacious with all the equipment you need. The swimming pool is great very clean and the hot tub newly fitted this year a great hit. The gardens are beautiful with lots of relaxing places to sit and admire the views of the bay. The games room is great fun too the boys loved the pool and football table and the outside table tennis, there is also a children play area although my children are too old for that. It is great that it is only a 5 minute stroll to the beautiful beach which is great as you do not need to take the car. We had a really brilliant week and as last year very sorry to leave.

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing