We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position and very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Paulita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Paulita
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Puigcerda
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great position and very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked at last minute for 1 night stay while touring. Chosen because of number of stars and value. The room lived up to its' star rating, exceptionally comfortable with a large bed and super bathroom. The situation of the hotel is superb at the top of the town, next to the lake and a short walk to the main square and restaurants. Our night was room only so we had breakfast at a local cafe, which was throbbing with life on a Monday morning, great ambience. Reception was very helpful. Parking secure and underground was an extra 17Euros for the night and we could have left the car in the street fro free but were concerned about all our sports equipment left in the car. Overall a lovely place to stay and would certainly return there if in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAmericantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    132
    62
    30
    13
See reviews for
47
248
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Superb location by a lake. Firework display viewed from hotel garden on first night. Classy rooms with indoor pool and sauna. Breakfast good but something of a cheek to charge extra for hot items when basic price is already 15 Euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The more stars a hotel gets, the more I look at the details to see if they are living up to the standard, like - for example - mould and limescale around the shower enclosure...
Hospes Villa Paulita is in a delightful part of the world and is a charming old house converted into a Hospes Hotel. The location is ideal for a road trip, a great pre-Pyrenees stop-off between Spain and France. Underground parking is available at a price, but worth it. Our deluxe room was in the main building, under the eaves, and was tastefully decorated with a lovely turret feature where we could sit, sip wine and look aout at the views across the small lake next to the hotel. There is a line of modern rooms in the grounds which we didn't get a chance to look at. The service was outstanding, pleasant and courteous, just what we needed after a long drive. We ate in the restaurant where again nothing was too much trouble, the set menu including wine under €40 a head, and delicious.
So why only four out of five? As I said at the beginning, it's the details that count. Having a Nespresso machine at breakfast may be good for the hotel, but it's a pain in the rear for guests who have to line up, and then - like me - try three times before the machine works. Where's the good old-fashioned pot of steaming coffee?
On the plus side, free wifi in every room. At last. A top class hotel that does not scam its customers with silly prices for wifi!
And the mould? yes, unfortunately the room cleaning in this vitally important area wasn't up to scratch, the handbasin area was stained, and - you guessed it - there were those black tell-tale signs round the edges.
I like this hotel and will be back. They just need to up their game a bit and get those details polished and perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Another very good hotel from one of my favourite chains: Hospes.
The location is very nice, by the lake, rooms are cozy and very well appointed as usual and service is very atentive specially at checkin.
Compared to wonderful Hospes Palacio del Balio, breakfast here doesn't meet the high stadards of that one. My advice: take that as a role model as it is one of the best hotels in the world in my opinion.
There is parking underground and a nice garden, at least in summer. We stayed at a room located in another bulding. In summer it' fine. I don' t know if that fact is inconvenient in winter.
Anyway i reomend it strongly

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Room was small . Nice design but tired looking . All paint work needs to be re done . Bathrooms needs attention
. Shower area showing unacceptable wear and tear .
Disgrace to pay for car parking . Internet not working properly . Constantly had to re log in . Long no and most annoying .
All areas and hallway need re painting . Need better front of house . No warmth or service . Restaurant for dinner huge disapointment . Like a canteen and no atmosphere . Bad lighting and terrible piped music . No atmosphere and no attentive service . Food adequate .
Gardens need to be set out nicer to relax . Bar would be a good idea . All in all lacking in atmosphere and too expensive for what is provided . Felt like a motel stopover .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjjfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent our anniversary with Villa Paulita recently and was great. Staff were very friendly and we had a room in the historic part of the hotel--unreal. Stunning views of the mountains and lake--room had a fabulous sitting area and all the amenities you could ask for. For a romantic break we would also recommend the spa and wellness center. The indoor pool along with an obligatory massage are well worth it. Breakfast had everything you´d want from famous local sausages and cheese to more continental options--all good stuff and hats off to Villa Paulita.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel and I will repeat. This hotel is clean, confortable and well-located. Perhaps its weaker feature is its breakfast, too poor for an hotel of such a category

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BallPunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puigcerda
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parada Puigcerda
Hotel Parada Puigcerda
#1 of 9 in Puigcerda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#6 of 9 in Puigcerda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Prado
Hotel del Prado
#5 of 9 in Puigcerda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chalet del Golf
Chalet del Golf
#4 of 9 in Puigcerda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Puigcerda
Park Hotel Puigcerda
#7 of 9 in Puigcerda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Torre Del Remei
Torre Del Remei
#1 of 1 in Bolvir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paulita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paulita

Property: Hotel Villa Paulita
Address: Av Pons i Gasch 15, 17520 Puigcerda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Puigcerda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Puigcerda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Paulita 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a family-owned summer residence, Hospes Villa Paulita has been transformed into a relaxing getaway located in the heart of Puigcerdà, on the shores of its emblematic lake and surrounded by the Schierbeck Park. The hotel combines nature with nurture in three elegant buildings of 38 rooms: An original 19Th century villa complete with French neo-classical elements and two newly built annexes. The effect is an artful composition of historic and contemporary design, a creative reflection of imagination, and an authentic look to the city of Puigcerdà. The best cuisine in Cerdanya can be enjoyed at the Senzone L’Estany, the hotel’s gourmet restaurant with the best views to the lake; which offers a variety of local dishes, a balanced cuisine between sophistication and tradition. And don’t forget the Bodyna Spa, an experience of pure revitalization for body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Paulita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Hotel Paulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing